No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hilton House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
New Road , , , Windermere, LA23 2EE
Built in 1902 as a gentleman’s private vacation residence by builders Pattinsons of Windermere, in the Arts and Crafts style, our Edwardian guesthouse retains many of its original features, including a solid oak staircase, stained glass windows, deep architraves, a beautiful wooden carved fireplace in one of the bedrooms and wood panelling in the dining room. Hilton House is a must for the discerning guest looking for stylish, quality Bowness and Windermere bed and breakfast accommodation with that extra special ambience. Our Lake District guesthouse is conveniently situated between the villages of Windermere and Bowness. It is within a short walking distance (5-15mins) of Lake Windermere and both tourist centres offer an extensive range of pubs, restaurants, shops and entertainments. The guesthouse stands within its own grounds with ample off-street parking. The Brookside, a cosy and friendly traditional pub, nestles behind woods and a stream to the rear of the property. Scenic strolls, woodlands and Lake Windermere are all within easy reach and there are bus and train services within 5-10 minutes walk of our Windermere guesthouse. We hope you will come and stay with us in Windermere and make Hilton House Guesthouse the base from which to explore and enjoy the many varied attractions of the English Lake District. Please note that a Cancellation Policy does apply to rooms booked at our guesthouse. Please check with the proprietor when making the booking. Thank you.
Picture of Hilton House, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two lovely nights in a great hotel!
Me and my wife booked two nights in the Hilton hotel for a two day break.when we arrived we were very pleasantly supprised by the accommodation.a lovely four poster bed in our spacious room was a bonus that we weren't expecting! A great nights sleep was followed by a fantastic cooked breakfast in the spotless,well decorated breakfast room.ample free parking is available.all in all this hotel is fantastic and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone!!

Reviewed by
David Hayes

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super stay at Hilton House
A lovely stay here at the Hilton House. We both would've liked a bigger room only due to the fact of how the other rooms looked on their website, and after emailing them and requesting certain rooms. But it was clean and pleasant. The breakfast was lovely on both mornings, the couple did a great job of serving and cooking. The only complaint we had was there were no sausages or beans with the breakfasts. Overall though, we both had a fantastic time and would stay again. Thank you!

Reviewed by
Gemma Atherton

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent !! Very clean and cozy.
Myself and my partner arrived at hilton house and was welcomed by th.e owner who w very pleasant
He showed us to our room to which was very clean and beautifully decorated with stylish edwardian style furniture and a beautifull for poster.we felt very cozy and homely.breakfast was a wide variety and the cooked breakfast was nice and tasty.waiter was very pleasant and cheerfull.
Highly recommend a stay at hilton house,better than some mainstream hotels.

Reviewed by
p mattox

From wolverhampton, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent location between Windermere and Bowness which were both within walking distance. Hotel was in great condition, clearly very well maintained despite its age. Breakfast was very good and staff were friendly. Room we had was a little small but there are bigger rooms. Overall very good stay and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Steven Greig

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I only scored a 5 for quality has our room was lovely but very small

Reviewed by
E Hughes

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of character
We had a really lovely stay here in August 14 for a birthday celebration. Perfect location with some fabulous walks straight on the doorstep. Wonderful friendly staff. We would stay here again đź‘Ť

Reviewed by
K Collins

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The perfect stay.
Stayed in a spacious, luxurious room with a gorgeous four poster bed. Ideally situated between Windermere and Bowness. Warm and friendly service, excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
J Walsh

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel is in the middle between train station and lakeside.

Reviewed by
c wu

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic little guesthouse :)
Just returned from a 2 night stay in the hilton house guesthouse. The room was fantastic, amazing decor and 4 poster bed, lovely clean bathroom, with everything we needed! Breakfast was lovely and staff were friendly, chatty and helpful. The guesthouse was a 5 minute walk into windermere and about 20 to bowness, although there's a bus stop just up the road which we used.
Would definitely return to the hilton house if we are to visit windermere again! Highly recommended!

Reviewed by
Stacey W

From Wheldrake, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Almost excellent
Overall very enjoyable stay in an attractive building with pleasant staff let down by a few minor and one fairly major issue.
Positives first, good location with easy access to both Windermere and Bowness, adequate parking on site. Nicely welcomed by the owner and shown to room etc. Nicely decorated, feels warm and welcoming. Room nicely furnished, bed comfortable. Breakfast nicely cooked and presented in a nice dining room.
The negatives - firstly the shower. The grouting is in urgent need of replacement it is really poor above the shower tray to the point of being off putting, really lets down an otherwise very clean bathroom. Less importantly the Wifi does not work in the bedrooms although it is fine in the hall area, the room needs a wardrobe as the hanging arrangement fixed to the wall is not brilliant.
Overall good and with attention to the above would be excellent.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next