No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Estate House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Ford, , , Berwick-upon-tweed, TD15 2PX
The Estate House is a 4* AA rated licensed bed and breakfast establishment in the picturesque village of Ford, in the heart of Northumberland, and we welcome our guests to our large detached Edwardian house, situated in an acre of landscaped private gardens. We welcome assistance dogs at all times and other pets by prior arrangement. Accommodation comprises of 4 spacious bedrooms (3 doubles or 3 twins offering immaculate en suite bath and shower facilities and 1 family Room with its own dedicated private bathroom and shower facilities). All bedrooms are tastefully decorated throughout to a high standard and include Freeview TV, free Wi-Fi, hospitality tray, and hairdryer as well as fresh linen and towels. The bedrooms boast large windows with original wooden shutters that overlook the gardens and Ford village. We have a cosy residents lounge where you can relax and unwind, watch SKY TV or read the selection of tourist information guides that are available to help you plan your sightseeing trips; we also provide free Wi-Fi and a selection of newspapers books and board games. The beautiful Edwardian dining room overlooks the garden and you can indulge in a hearty home-cooked English breakfast, prepared using fresh locally sourced ingredients, or opt for a lighter alternative with a range of cereals, toast and fresh fruits. All dietary requirements can be catered for and guests may request a packed lunch or an evening meal by prior arrangement. Ford and Etal Estate, owned by the Joicey family, offers a range of tourist attractions including Ford Castle, Lady Waterford Hall, Heatherslaw Visitors Centre, with it's Light Steam Railway, and Fishing on the world famous river Till. The area in and around Northumberland and its magnificent coast with it's renowned sandy beaches offers a wealth of outdoor pursuits and attractions including fishing, walking, cycling, gliding and horse riding and of course Holy Island (Lindisfarne) & Alnwick Castle - home of Harry Potter.
Picture of The Estate House, Berwick-upon-tweed at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Estate House, Ford
We had a very pleasant three night stay. Ford is a lovely place to visit and if you are there for a longer stay, then take your walking boots as area around Ford is lovely. The house is very homely and the breakfast kept us going for most of the day. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
David Richards

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend
We had a great time at the estate house bill and debs were great made us very welcome,food was I great our room was nice we had great time .

Reviewed by
Allan Davidson

From Cowdenbeath, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Accommodation
A warm and friendly welcome in a beautiful setting, The Estate House provided a perfect night's stay. The picturesque village of Ford is very quiet allowing a peaceful night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent. I am hoping to return again soon, for pleasure rather than business.

Reviewed by
Michaela S

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful and relaxing
One of the best B&B's we have stayed in. We were made to feel very welcome by Sam even though she was running the tea room and B&B single handed the afternoon that we arrived. Our room (Heron) was very comfortable and well equipped. We even found a trouser press in one of the wardrobes and a personal safe. There was a great choice at breakfast, although I am not a big breakfast fan I enjoyed scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, and my husband had the "Full Monty". Wow!!. The Estate house is set in the most beautiful and peaceful area. The only thing that you could hear was the sound of the birds in the surrounding trees. We recommend the Blue Bell Inn at Crookham for a good evening meal as recommended by Sam and her Dad. If you want a peaceful retreat for a few night you couldn'd do better than The Estate House. We will be back.

Reviewed by
Diane Clegg

From Heywood, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hosts
We have just returned home after a nice two day break at the Estate House B&B, which we found very welcoming, clean and comfy. The breakfast were varied and plentiful, and cooked superbly. We hope to return again very soon.

Reviewed by
K Connon

From Helensburgh, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
our stay was lovely the accommodation was excellent. staff were friendly and extremely helpful. beautiful hotel and grounds thoroughly enjoyed our stay . we have booked to go back.

Reviewed by
linda buttress

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, quiet and comfortable. Lovely surroundings, good food, friendly but not overbearing hosts.

Reviewed by
Rosalyn Swandale

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Place very clean food very good had a very nice stay will go back

Reviewed by
david fox

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hosts, nice big room, lovely setting.

Reviewed by
Fiona M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super stay
Debs & Bill were very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The bed was huge and comfortable.
We were their only guests so we had the run of the place. It was truly lovely! They even cooked special breakfasts for my picky children. Well done & thank you!

Reviewed by
Trudy N

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next