Reviews - The Estate House


Ford, ,, Berwick-upon-tweed, TD15 2PX

Price From 146.24 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (9)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • r paton

  • July 2015

I LOVED the Estate House!

My friend and I spent three nights at the Estate House and we loved every minute of it.

We couldn't have had a warmer welcome or a more comfortable stay. Debbie, Sam and Bill were really lovely - so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was a spacious twin which was immaculately clean. The cost of the room came with a wonderful breakfast each morning (cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, full English - just DELICIOUS!) which really set us up for the day. (I can't speak highly enough of Bill's scrambled eggs!)

The B&B itself is in a beautiful little village with its own castle, a lovely, interesting little church and other fascinating places. It's also just a stone's throw from many tourist attractions (eg. Flodden Field) and in the wonderful setting of the Northumberland countryside. It was an easy drive to Berwick, Lindisfarne, Bamburgh, and Alnwick - and, if you really can’t do without a bit of retail therapy, Newcastle and Gateshead are within reach as well - either by car, bus or train from Berwick.

The only negative I can think of is the mobile phone and internet reception. It's definitely not the best and we found ourselves roaming round the house several times looking for 'hot spots'. However, a fibre optic cable has already been installed so the situation should improve dramatically quite soon.

If you're looking for a gentle, relaxing time in a beautiful setting, you can't go wrong settling for the Estate House. We just didn't want to leave.

  • Lesley Rainford

  • July 2015

Our mid week break

House warm and welcoming and in beautiful setting.

Hosting was spot on. Need to sort an opening window in the Joicey room, but didn't spoil anything for us. Only complaint regarding breakfast was from my husband who only likes plain pork sausage (but that's his problem!) and the fact that, although asked for, his fried egg didn't arrive on fried bread or toast (these both came separately afterwards). Beautiful garden and lovely dogs.

  • A Lawton

  • September 2014

Idyllic setting for a wonderful stay!

Such a beautiful and grand house in a remote historic village.

We were greets and treated extremely well throughout the stay. Peaceful accomodation and comfortable beds. The breakfast was amazing and there was far too much of it. Would happily recommend.

  • David Richards

  • August 2014

Estate House, Ford

We had a very pleasant three night stay.

Ford is a lovely place to visit and if you are there for a longer stay, then take your walking boots as area around Ford is lovely. The house is very homely and the breakfast kept us going for most of the day. Highly recommended.

  • Allan Davidson

  • August 2014


We had a great time at the estate house bill and debs were great made us very welcome,food was I great our room was nice we had great time .

  • Michaela S

  • June 2014

Excellent Accommodation

A warm and friendly welcome in a beautiful setting, The Estate House provided a perfect night's stay.

The picturesque village of Ford is very quiet allowing a peaceful night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent. I am hoping to return again soon, for pleasure rather than business.

  • Diane Clegg

  • June 2014

Peaceful and relaxing

One of the best B&B's we have stayed in.

We were made to feel very welcome by Sam even though she was running the tea room and B&B single handed the afternoon that we arrived. Our room (Heron) was very comfortable and well equipped. We even found a trouser press in one of the wardrobes and a personal safe. There was a great choice at breakfast, although I am not a big breakfast fan I enjoyed scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, and my husband had the "Full Monty". Wow!!. The Estate house is set in the most beautiful and peaceful area. The only thing that you could hear was the sound of the birds in the surrounding trees. We recommend the Blue Bell Inn at Crookham for a good evening meal as recommended by Sam and her Dad. If you want a peaceful retreat for a few night you couldn'd do better than The Estate House. We will be back.

  • linda buttress

  • April 2014

excellent hotel

our stay was lovely the accommodation was excellent.

staff were friendly and extremely helpful. beautiful hotel and grounds thoroughly enjoyed our stay . we have booked to go back.

  • K Connon

  • April 2014

Lovely Hosts

We have just returned home after a nice two day break at the Estate House B&B, which we found very welcoming, clean and comfy.

The breakfast were varied and plentiful, and cooked superbly. We hope to return again very soon.