No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chippenham Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
207 Shirland Road, Maida Hill, London, Maida Vale, W9 2EX
Mango & Silvana have been owners of The Chippenham since September, 2005. Mango is a full member of the BII, the British Institute of Innkeeping. This is the professional body for all within the licensed trade. Not all landlords or hoteliers are members as certain criteria must be met before you can become a member. In that time we have managed to turn it around from being a not so welcoming place to a London Tourism approved Inn. We cater for the local community and visitors alike. Our motto is “There are no strangers here, only friends that haven’t met!” All our rooms are en-suite with digital TV, DVD, Ipod docks, hairdryers & tea/coffee facilities. All prices include a light breakfast which consists of cereal, croissants, juice, toast & tea/coffee. The Chipp is well served by public transport. There is Bakerloo and Hammersmith&City underground lines, the Overground line & Main line railway stations nearby. not to mention the numerous bus routes that go past our front door, We have free Wi-fi in both the bar and rooms so you can surf the web at your leisure to help plan your dy's adventure or if on business, stay connected to the office. In the bar we host various events from Poker to Quiz to Movies. We also have LIVE music every Friday. On Saturdays we have an "Open Mic" night showcasing many local & upcoming bands.
Picture of The Chippenham Hotel, Maida Vale at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just the job.
Only a 10 minute walk from Royal Oak tube station, so pretty handy for getting about. Decent sized room for four of us with our own toilet and shower. The room was at the front of the hotel so we got a bit of noise coming from the street below but that tended to dissipate around 10/11ish. Pretty decent breakfast in the morning with nice pastries. All in all, a pleasant stay and ideal for our visit.

Reviewed by
T Parker

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheaper but not cheerful
This hotel is just poor rooms over a pub, basic facilities I can cope with but hair in your shower and basic cleanliness still needs to be done, sign in lobby states undergoing refurbishment in which decade was it posted ?
Ashtrays in room when was smoking banned ?
Used late rooms to book, problems with booking should maybe have heeded a warning sign
Hotel itself wouldn't take card machine as Internet broken told to go cash machine outside of pub then we're not willing to provide receipt.

Reviewed by
felicity f

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfortable beds, but pub downstairs very noisy. No hot water, shower broken, no kitchen staff
Basically a pub with accommodation. Noisy area, noisy pub. Went to order our evening meal and the barman ran out of the pub! They actually go to the cafe next door but one and fetch what you have ordered. They have no actual kitchen staff. The Monday evening when we stayed, the cafe was closed! We also had a hole in the ceiling. The place needs refurbishing throughout, including the staff!

Reviewed by
Margaret c

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

na
Na

Reviewed by
A Cervi

From Italy
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Cheap and cheerful

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, convenient for buses
Light airy room with plenty of space (3 beds) and the hotel is very convenient for public transport. Breakfast is a bit basic but it is included. The only issue was the toilet, which was a bit temperamental but, in fact, managed to work throughout my stay.

Reviewed by
David N

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Cheap and cheerful

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dont stay here
The room although spacious had a strong smell of drains/putrid water. Shower was a trickle and effectively unusable. The heating wasn't working and after asking for it to be switched on the barman (the only staff member there) said he would look into it 'when he had time' - the bar wasn't exactly busy, so I don't know why he couldn't attend to this immediately. It was a cold day. I was eventually given an electric space heater. To justify their breakfast description there were 2 croissants available each day so if you were not there first - hard luck. Location is ok if you know the buses but apart from low grade takeaways there is nothing foodwise in the area. This is a fairly rough local pub which seems to be falling apart.

Reviewed by
mark s

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2nd visit , will come again
Basic , cheap , good location , absolutely no complaints

Reviewed by
R Newman

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Pub Rooms
I stayed on a Friday night which is one of the nights when they had a live band. Good entertainment value and finished promptly at 11 as promised. Nice clean bar and en suite room on the first floor accessed by a staircase. Breakfast of cereal, fruit juice and pastries with fresh coffee served up by the staff.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next