No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Brook House B&B

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Station Road , Broadway, WR12 7DE
Brook House is a detached Victorian style house(1910) with large, tastefully decorated rooms. There are five bedrooms-3 en suite. Each room has thermostatically controlled central heating, each with a hospitality tray with tea, coffee and biscuits. 'All bedrooms have an LCD TV with freeview - two with DVDs built in.' We can offer free WIFI. Hair dryers are also provided. Full English breakfast is provided with a superb choice of menu. Vegetarians can also be catered for or a continental breakfast offered if preferred.

Brook House is situated in the beautiful Cotswold Village of Broadway and is an ideal centre to visit so many places of interest. Chipping Campden, Stow on the Wold, Bourton on the Water, Moreton in the Marsh, Evesham, Snowshill and Winchcombe.

The towns of Stratford Upon Avon (14 miles), Cheltenham (16 miles), Gloucester (23 miles), Worcester (22 miles) are also easily reached.

There are beautiful gardens to visit Hidcote Manor, Kiftsgate, Sezincote and the Arboretum at Bourton on the Hill with its Falconery and Garden Centre. Various National Trust properties are to hand-the nearest being Snowshill Manor. There are plenty of lovely walks- Broadway is on the Cotswold Way (Chipping Campden to Bath). We are happy to help you plan a route to get the best out of your stay.
Picture of Brook House B&B, Broadway at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff.
I didn't realise there wasn't an en-suite and that you couldn't pay by credit or debit card which may have been my fault for not reading conditions fully.

ManagementResponse

We pride ourselves and receive many comments about the cleanliness so I was shocked to hear of the cotton buds and will speak to the member concerned who cleaned the room that day. It should not have happened. Whatever was the previous guest doing to have put his/her used cotton buds back into the basket. For payment I take cash, sterling cheques, paypal and BACS and this seems to cover most situations. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. Maybe this is one of those days when the teacher might have written on the report ' Could have done better' but why did you not tell us on the day? What more can I say.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming B and B
Made very welcome and found everyone to be most helpful. Lovely to have ample parking on site, and a wonderful view from room. Torrential rain, as we were about to leave, and were made welcome to stay for a further 40 minutes, while it went off. We would have been drenched just going a few yards to the car!

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for your comments. We try very hard to make people welcome. It certainly did rain and I would not have expected you to leave. We hope to see you again. Marianne, Lisa and Georgia

Reviewed by
Gill Williams

From Bangor on Dee, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hostess but shower not working for our room. Rooms clean but a little dated

ManagementResponse

I apologised about the shower being unsafe to use and offered to let them use the shower in the main bathroom. I know it is not the same but what else can I do until the required part arrives? Co-ordinating an electrician and a part has been an horrendous experience. Do you think I am happy about this? Magnolia walls and beige carpet with a floral bedspread may not be to everyones taste but it seems to blend with the Victorian house. However, once again, I apologise if it spoilt you night in Broadway. Many thanks for the personal comment and for the other ratings. Regards, Marianne

Reviewed by
Naomi W

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
A very tired house with rotting window frames, drab wallpaper, some of which has been painted over in the breakfast room, dirty carpet on the stairs and landing. The house badly needs updating with plenty of TLC. The bedroom was nicely furnished but really needed painting and decorating. The double glazed windows were full of condensation on the insides. The room was full of instructions on sticky labels for the blinds, the windows, the shower, with a tray for you to put your shoes on! There was a power cut on Sunday morning when something caused the fuse board to trip out. The landlady seemed to think it was something we'd caused in our rooms rather than apologising for the inconvenience for the non-working of the electric showers. Breakfast had to be ordered by 6pm the previous evening, including what time we wanted breakfast. Cooked breakfast was not great and was served on small tea plates. Definitely wouldn't recommend it and definitely won't be going again.

ManagementResponse

I take your point about one wall in the dining room. This was caused by water seepage during the winter and needs to be done. I had obtained quotes for the work but we had excessive rain up to a short while ago to prevent the external work being carried out and since then prevented by my recent health scare. The windows in one of the rooms occupied are also part of that quotation. There is one label which provides instructions on how to operate the blind securely. There is a tray standing on the floor, reared up against the wall behind a chair in the bedroom. If people want to put their boots or shoes on it, this can be laid flat on the floor. However, for people who have been walking with dirty boots, we invite them to leave them in the hall so that we do not have mud trailed up the stairs. Since opening full time in 1996 we have had two previous complaints about breakfast but many, many compliments. The full English breakfast fills what the china manufacturer calls ‘breakfast plates’. I am so sorry that you felt it was below standard. Both in quality and quantity ( Two slices of bacon, two sausages, tomato, mushrooms, hash brown, beans and egg) All the electrical equipment was working up to early evening on Saturday. In fact the problem occurred at 00.07am (early Sunday morning). I knew this when I tried to turn on the oven at 7.15am and had to re set the time. When you came down for breakfast I asked if a light bulb had blown in either room or whether you had been using any other equipment that may have triggered the trip switch - in fact you did identify the problem. - Water was dripping through the electric shower unit when you turned it on. It was not doing that when it had been cleaned. I was not accusing you - just trying to identify the problem so that it could be rectified. I had telephoned the electrician before you left the premises without any complaint. In any household a problem can occur at any time - the larger the premises the higher the risk of some equipment becoming faulty - one minute fine the next not... I am so sorry that it happened and that I did not clearly explain my reason for asking. I wrongly assumed you would realise. If I seemed to be accusing you it was because I was upset, not only about the problem but one of my grandsons was lying in a coma in Nottingham Hospital following a dreadful accident.

Reviewed by
A Hale

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good B&B to stay at
Great value for money.
The owners were very friendly and flexible with our early arrival and that we wanted to leave the bag after check-out (they left the key for us to get into the house - how nice and much appreciated).
The room was very spacious, clean, had everything we needed incl. coffee/tea making facilities and even bathroom toiletries, good on-suite, bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was good & amble and we were asked several times if we want more.
Although situated at a road (our room was facing the road), it was very quite.
Easy 5min walk into Broadway, which has all amenities and a good selection of restaurants.

Reviewed by
N Richter

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at Brook House
Marianne, who owns and runs Brook House, is very polite, friendly and helpful. The B&B is very clean and we'll maintained, however there was no en-suite (cannot remember the last time I had to walk along the landing and back for the toilet and / or shower!) and there were a lot of loose floor boards throughout the floor on which I stayed which were particularly noisy when stood on. (This may have been due to shoddy workmanship by engineers who had recently been working on the central heating).

ManagementResponse

Sorry about the floorboards - yes you are quite correct - a succession of electricians and heating engineers have left floorboards and carpets below standard on the landing. My battle with SSE Home Services started on 5th June with a new boiler totally inadequate for the house. I had to fight for 4 months to get them to put in one large enough to cope - a good job it was summer and a mild start to the autumn. Until I feel that everything is alright there is no point in getting someone in to make a better job of them. I had the radiators balanced on Thursday 31st October so I have my fingers crossed.

Reviewed by
D Rowlands

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at broadway
We had a lovely weekend with Marianne and she made us feel very welcome. Brook house is an ideal location as its only a 5 minute walk into broadway.
I will definitely use again when I visit broadway.
Thanks Marianne & family

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to send a review. We all enjoyed having your company here.

Reviewed by
Antony Parsons

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.