No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stanleyview Hotel and Guesthouse

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
226 228, Stanley Road , Wakefield, WF1 4AE
Julie invites you to stay at her family run popular city centre Bed & Breakfast hotel. AA 3 Stars with friendly service at competitive rates.

Rooms with ensuite facilities & Satellite TV

Residents Bar

Evening meals (available upon request)

Car Park for residents use

Good transport links to M1 and M62. You can also reach us by rail or air.
Trinity Walk is Wakefield's stunning new shopping centre. The Stanley View Guest House and Hotel is perfectly placed to visit this local attraction. With over 60 new shops including all the leading high street fashion brands, a fabulous Debenhams department store and the largest Sainsbury's superstore in the area, it's a fantastic day out for everyone of all ages. Whether you'd like to spend hours shopping, stop by to snap up a quick purchase or simply relax and enjoy some food or a drink at one of the shopping centre's great restaurants, cafés and eateries - there is certainly something for everyone at Trinity Walk.

We are only a short walk away from Hepworth Wakefield which is "One of the finest contemporary art museums in Europe" according to the Independant.

If you are a racing fan we are handy for access to Pontefract Wetherby, Ripon, York & Doncaster Racecourses. And for golfers there are over 20 courses locally.

We are nearby all local amenities including theatres, cinema, and a variety of restaurants. So, whether you are visiting family, wedding or on a shopping trip to Leeds sightseeing in York or the Dales, we are sure your stay will be pleasant.
Picture of Stanleyview Hotel and Guesthouse, Wakefield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very reasonably priced accommodation
Clean rooms, good breakfast very good price. Three of us travelled wanting separate beds so booked two rooms. The two sharing were accommodated in a flat which had a kitchen area, two family rooms and a twin room, but sharing one en-suite shower. We were offered the chance to just use share this accommodation no doubt for a reduced price. A large family group or similar would find it worth while asking about this. Convenient for town centre.

Reviewed by
Michael F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Nice people, good service, basic b&b, just what we needed.

Reviewed by
Mark R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick pit stop visit
Bedroom was massive with a an en-suite shower. Basic furnishings within the bedroom - though all of good standard and the room was spotless.
Standard breakfast - though no menu provided.
Ideal location for town centre - taxi cost £3.50. PInderfields hospital directly over the road.
Just a couple of steps to negotiate when entering the hotel from the car park which were not mentioned anywhere before I booked. Staff were professional and obliging.
Enjoyed the stay and will use again - very good value for money.

Reviewed by
CAROL F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay in Wakefield
The hotel was clean with fresh towels every day and the beds were comfortable. We were the only holidaymakers staying at the hotel on a room only basis so we can't comment on the food. The rest of the guests were work contractors. We were asked to enter the hotel through a back door which led directly into a small tidy bar which was constantly filled at night with contractors still in their work gear so the bar wasn't inviting to go down for a leisurely drink. There was no reception area and when we arrived with our luggage we had to go backwards and forwards through the bar as we transferred our belongings from the car to our room. Apparently, the front door is never used.

Reviewed by
John M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ticked all the boxes
Hotel was very clean and recently decorated, staff very helpfull, 10 minute walk to town centre. Would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
D Wright

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Limited
Large cold room, very small TV struggled to read the menu (I have no sight impairments that I know of) accommodation bore the signs of previous residents whom presumably worked with concrete. No option for breakfast beyond a fry up or bread. I was hoping for a piece of fruit, at least. The man who came down to breakfast, ate four rounds of toast, left the room to vomit and then returned to eat the full fry up, put me off my food a little. Staff seemed to enjoy banter with some residents, i guess they are regulars as I wasn't chatted to despite travelling alone. Generally friendly basic place.

Reviewed by
J Grace

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable, quiet place to stay in Wakefield
This was an entirely satisfactory B&B -- warm, quiet, comfortable, good breakfast, convenient to the centre of town.

Reviewed by
Catherine Demetriadi

From Salisbury SP2 8FA, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent costomer service
I have always enjoyed staying in B&B's as compared to hotel chains. I was not disappointed this time. The people were great and the extra effort they went to provide for my comfort says that they are dedicated to customer service. Keep up the good job.

Reviewed by
Avinash Krishnappa

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldnt do enough , fantastic service

Reviewed by
clare t

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
We stayed over New Year whilst visiting family. The room was small and there was not much floor space to put anything down. That said we did have a large cupboard wardrobe which my husband was able to put his golf clubs into so it was not too much of an issue but would still have preferred the room to have been a tad larger.
The room and facilities were very clean and the bed was very comfy. It was good to have a car park availble and overall we thought the guesthouse offered good value. I just knocked a point off because of the room size and also because the shower angle meant that you flooded the floor with water when you opened the shower door. We had to keep repositioning it facing away from us before turning it on.

Reviewed by
Julie C

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next