No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stanleyview Hotel and Guesthouse

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
226 228, Stanley Road , Wakefield, WF1 4AE
Julie invites you to stay at her family run popular city centre Bed & Breakfast hotel. AA 3 Stars with friendly service at competitive rates.

Rooms with ensuite facilities & Satellite TV

Residents Bar

Evening meals (available upon request)

Car Park for residents use

Good transport links to M1 and M62. You can also reach us by rail or air.
Trinity Walk is Wakefield's stunning new shopping centre. The Stanley View Guest House and Hotel is perfectly placed to visit this local attraction. With over 60 new shops including all the leading high street fashion brands, a fabulous Debenhams department store and the largest Sainsbury's superstore in the area, it's a fantastic day out for everyone of all ages. Whether you'd like to spend hours shopping, stop by to snap up a quick purchase or simply relax and enjoy some food or a drink at one of the shopping centre's great restaurants, cafés and eateries - there is certainly something for everyone at Trinity Walk.

We are only a short walk away from Hepworth Wakefield which is "One of the finest contemporary art museums in Europe" according to the Independant.

If you are a racing fan we are handy for access to Pontefract Wetherby, Ripon, York & Doncaster Racecourses. And for golfers there are over 20 courses locally.

We are nearby all local amenities including theatres, cinema, and a variety of restaurants. So, whether you are visiting family, wedding or on a shopping trip to Leeds sightseeing in York or the Dales, we are sure your stay will be pleasant.
Picture of Stanleyview Hotel and Guesthouse, Wakefield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Typically Yorkshire.
Friendly and helpful staff. Typical for Yorkshire. Homely anf functional.

Reviewed by
Graham B

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like a home from home
The staff in the Stanley View were really friendly and helpful and it was very accommodating to our Siberian Husky.

Reviewed by
Becky G

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expectations met
Stanley view hotel and guesthouse was very clean and modern. Although I paid for a single room, I was given a family bedroom. Could not argue value for money. The only thing missing was soap/shampoo in the bathroom and hooks to hang up clothes.
Otherwise, really good. Would highly recommend to others.

Reviewed by
C Leung

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
Felt very welcome from the start, the lady who runs the place very helpful and sorted our taxi to leeds, very clean, spacious and tidy.
Great value for money would defo stay again.

Reviewed by
michelle b

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High quality accommodation
A very warm welcome, helpfully and friendly staff, high quality rooms, service and food for a very good price.

Reviewed by
gary mcduff

From cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but could do better
They have the basics right: the room was clean, with enough space, the bed comfortable, hot water supply was good & the double-glazing ensured that the road noise was unobtrusive.
But the devil being in the detail, this was where they came up short: no toilet roll holder, no shelf or hook in the shower to place things on and a barely-filled hand-wash dispenser to cover both sink & shower use - no soap at all, no shower gel, no shampoo sachets...(in 2013 these things are surely expected at an establishment that isn't in the budget category). The back toilet wall was clearly suffering from damp outside brickwork - a simple coat of darker paint would cover the obvious (there was no damp smell & it isn't a serious problem but it was noticeable).
Lastly, the breakfast was alright - though the coffee was weak - but if I order tomatoes, then I expect (and get) grilled tomato(es) not tinned, chopped tomatoes barely warmed in a pan - this is not really acceptable, and should not be offered to guests.
Sadly the experience reminded me of the description of the regime change at the Savoy: where the management changed from people who had worked out how much they could give clients in return for their money, to those who considered how little they could get away with.
Again, the room was rather pleasant and I wouldn't rule out staying again - it's just that customer expectations have risen over the years and B&Bs have largely adapted - this one just needs to up its game a bit.

Reviewed by
N Meddemmen

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
A good location to stay near central Wakefield which is within easy walking distance.

Reviewed by
Emma B

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very welcoming place...
I really enjoyed my stay at the Stanleyview Hotel and Guesthouse, especially the staff who were very welcoming. My room was much larger than i was expecting, it was at the front of the house and i was slightly concerned about the road noise but actually had no problems with it. The breakfast was great.

Reviewed by
Helena R

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2