Reviews - Stanleyview Hotel and Guesthouse


226 228, Stanley Road, Wakefield, WF1 4AE

Price From 94 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (20)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • August 2014

Quick pit stop visit

Bedroom was massive with a an en-suite shower.

Basic furnishings within the bedroom - though all of good standard and the room was spotless. Standard breakfast - though no menu provided.

Ideal location for town centre - taxi cost £3.50. PInderfields hospital directly over the road. Just a couple of steps to negotiate when entering the hotel from the car park which were not mentioned anywhere before I booked. Staff were professional and obliging. Enjoyed the stay and will use again - very good value for money.

  • John M

  • August 2014

Our stay in Wakefield

The hotel was clean with fresh towels every day and the beds were comfortable.

We were the only holidaymakers staying at the hotel on a room only basis so we can't comment on the food. The rest of the guests were work contractors. We were asked to enter the hotel through a back door which led directly into a small tidy bar which was constantly filled at night with contractors still in their work gear so the bar wasn't inviting to go down for a leisurely drink. There was no reception area and when we arrived with our luggage we had to go backwards and forwards through the bar as we transferred our belongings from the car to our room. Apparently, the front door is never used.

  • D Wright

  • April 2014

Ticked all the boxes

Hotel was very clean and recently decorated, staff very helpfull, 10 minute walk to town centre.

Would definitely stay again

  • J Grace

  • March 2014


Large cold room, very small TV struggled to read the menu (I have no sight impairments that I know of) accommodation bore the signs of previous residents whom presumably worked with concrete.

No option for breakfast beyond a fry up or bread. I was hoping for a piece of fruit, at least. The man who came down to breakfast, ate four rounds of toast, left the room to vomit and then returned to eat the full fry up, put me off my food a little. Staff seemed to enjoy banter with some residents, i guess they are regulars as I wasn't chatted to despite travelling alone. Generally friendly basic place.

  • Catherine Demetriadi

  • March 2014

A comfortable, quiet place to stay in Wakefield

This was an entirely satisfactory B&B -- warm, quiet, comfortable, good breakfast, convenient to the centre of town.

  • Avinash Krishnappa

  • March 2014

Excellent costomer service

I have always enjoyed staying in B&B's as compared to hotel chains.

I was not disappointed this time. The people were great and the extra effort they went to provide for my comfort says that they are dedicated to customer service. Keep up the good job.

  • clare t

  • February 2014

Couldnt do enough , fantastic service

  • Julie C

  • January 2014

A pleasant stay

We stayed over New Year whilst visiting family.

The room was small and there was not much floor space to put anything down. That said we did have a large cupboard wardrobe which my husband was able to put his golf clubs into so it was not too much of an issue but would still have preferred the room to have been a tad larger. The room and facilities were very clean and the bed was very comfy. It was good to have a car park availble and overall we thought the guesthouse offered good value. I just knocked a point off because of the room size and also because the shower angle meant that you flooded the floor with water when you opened the shower door. We had to keep repositioning it facing away from us before turning it on.


  • December 2013

We stayed from Friday night to Monday morning so we could visit the local greyhound track.

Booking in was easy and we were escorted to our room which turned out to be the ground floor family room. It had two single beds with a big double bed along with an en-suite shower / toilet. We found the beds to be very comfortable, the shower was very good you had total control of the heat and power of the shower as you used it. The hotel also had a small bar which sold mainly bottled and canned drinks which was ok to cap the night off. The breakfast although not massive was enough to see you through to lunch, but if you asked for more there was no problem in the staff bringing you more. All in all a five star stay for a very affordable price!!

  • Graham B

  • November 2013

Typically Yorkshire.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Typical for Yorkshire. Homely anf functional.