No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - River Garth Guest House

5AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
River Garth , Penrith, CA10 2BH
River Garth is ideally situated on the banks of the River Eamont, enjoying the perfect country location, yet only a short walk from the historic market town of Penrith.

River Garth is owned and run by Irene and Brian Nixon. Their aim is simple - to provide a relaxing and enjoyable stay for their guests in luxurious and comfortable surroundings. River Garth has three letting rooms: two spacious double bedrooms, both with a balcony overlooking the river, king-size beds, luxurious en-suite facilities and flat screen TVs with Freeview, as well as tea/coffee hospitality trays, hair-dryers etc.

There is also a family room which as well as offering all of the amenities of the other two rooms (except balcony) can be set up as either a super king size bedroom, twin bed or family room.

The whole house was refurbished and redecorated in 2011 to ensure that we always offer the highest levels of comfort, fittings and service to all of our guests. After an inspection and overnight stay by the AA Assessors in 2012 we are very proud to have received the highest rating possible of 5 stars.

Irene's renowned full English breakfast is not to be missed but for those who prefer a 'lighter' breakfast, or for vegetarians, they offer a variety of equally delicious alternatives all prepared with fresh local produce wherever possible.

Picture of River Garth Guest House, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay
Excellent accomodation and very clean. The tea and biscuits on arrival were very welcome. Breakfast very good and ione of the best cooked breakfasts we have had. No hesitation in recommending a stay here.

Reviewed by
Douglas McLellan

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great

Reviewed by
pat s

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Wonderful hosts in a very comfortable house

Reviewed by
michael johnson

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you want the best... Stay ! Enjoy luxury and genuine care
after 50+years of touring....river garth and hospitality, are second to none. Read the reviews , all true.........enjoy......

Reviewed by
denis griffiths

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply the best!!
If you are looking for 'the best, better than all the rest' this is it!!! Irene could not have done more if she was my mother. It is obvious why this is 5star. We enjoyed the best breakfast we we have ever had during our 50years of holidaying. The room and the view made you wish you could move in to live!! We will be back on our next visit to the lakes, as will our children.

Reviewed by
Richard Garth Cawood

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hard to Find Better
Our three night stay was a very happy experience and there was nothing that could be faulted.
Irene was the perfect hostess - friendly, efficient and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a lovely choice of freshly prepared fruits,cereals etc. and whatever choices you had made from the breakfast menu. Our fellow guests were just as delighted with River Garth as we were. The little touches like the beds being turned back each night, tea and shortbread when we first arrived and the offer to share the main lounge to watch TV all go to make the place special. We would not wish to stay
anywhere else if we returned to the area.

Reviewed by
Pam Hall

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accommodation and very friendly hosts.

Reviewed by
Anne T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accomodation was excellent and the hostess, Irene, charming. Have told our friends " this is a must visit place"

Reviewed by
Peter Appleton

From Lee on The Solent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely view
The room we stayed in was lovely overlooking the river very relaxing ;-)

Reviewed by
K Hodgett

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing, friendly, high quality accommodation, food and service.
We had a lovely stay at River Garth Guest House. The room was spacious and watching the swallows flying over the river, whilst sat on the balcony, was delightful. Irene could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Every detail has been thought of and it was the perfect place to spend a special birthday weekend.

Reviewed by
Jennifer Riding

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next