No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Plas Gwyn

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Cader Road, , Snowdonia, Dolgellau, LL40 1RH
Plas Gwyn is a Georgian Grade II* listed town house with many period features through out including the fire places, the locally famous Oak Staircase as well as the being built traditionally from local Welsh stone c1730. We are located in Dolgellau which has the most dramatic scenery in Wales, adrenalin fueled activities and world heritage attractions. Barmouth Beach is a 15 minute drive away through a wonderful scenic route. Dolgellau is set in the southern part of The Snowdonia National Park, at the foot of the Cader Idris (Cadair Idris) mountain range with three main routes to the summit. The town is a great base for touring Snowdonia with many popular walks only two or three miles from the town centre. There’s also a long coastline of sandy beaches, spectacular cliffs and glorious estuaries, which along the Llyn Peninsula is a protected Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Snowdonia has a large number of beautiful villages and towns waiting to be explored, all full of character and wonderful little shops, cafes and restaurants. Here are Plas Gwyn B&B and Plas Gwyn Cottage we understand our guests expect the best possible experience during their holiday and that the little details really do make a difference ! Below you can see many of the facilities and services we offer to all our guests. Large Car Park Secure Bicycle Storage Bicycle workshop Pressure Washing Facilities Early check in and late check out by arrangement Candle lit dinners by request All guests are more than welcome to relax in our lovely garden Bedrooms are fully equipped with all modern facilities including; En-suite shower rooms Luxurious Egyptian Cotton Linen High quality 2000 pocket sprung mattresses Excellent choice of pillows Hot beverages facilities Totally silent mini bar fridge Ipod Dock Alarm Clock and Radio Free Wi-Fi Internet Hairdryer Satellite TV See you soon!
Picture of Plas Gwyn, Dolgellau at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely bed and breakfast in a period house
I loved the features of this hotel with period details restored. The owners were friendly without being in your face but they never gave their names. Our twin room was compact but enough space for me and my teenage daughter, the bathroom was amazing. would love to come back some day.

Reviewed by
v sykes

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay
Our group used a few b and bs in Dolgellau and I think this was the nicest. Lots of character and a lovely big bathroom!

Reviewed by
G Burton

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous accommodatioon
I would recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting to stay in Dolgellau or the surrounding area. We had a room described as compact twin and thought we would be in a tiny box room. Not the case, we still had room for all our luggage and the bathroom was wonderful. The Plas Gwyn has been lovingly restored and is immaculately clean, time has been taken to research the history of the house and detailed in a folder which also gives local information.

Reviewed by
S Wright

From Rhyl, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top quality good value for money
We stayed here for one night after having spent 4 nights nearby in a yurt which was magical in itself so thought a night in a b&b might be a bit mundane following this but Plas Gwyn complemented it perfectly. The place itself was an amazing blend between the character of the building but with all the modern day touches to make it a totally relaxing experience from the fresh milk in the silent fridge, the welsh cakes, the beautifully furnished room and the lovely shower (it was tempting to whizz up cader idris all over again just for an excuse to have another one!). Breakfast was delicious and we got the over all impression that nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Location was perfect being just off the dizzying one way system in Dollgellau, quiet but with good eateries being a few minutes walk away.

Reviewed by
Catherine C

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Lovely B and B with very high spec bathroom (wife wanted to take it home!). Very comfortable, very welcoming hosts. Breakfast excellent, really liked the list of places to eat. Very interesting house and the history bit in the folder in the room was good.
Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Tim W

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont' think twice!
A warm welcome, attention to detail, stylish and nothing but good to say and think. All the reviews to date are richly deserved, and thanks go to Stuart and his partner - See you again as soon as we get back to Mid Wales!

Reviewed by
Alan J

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely b and b
Stunning accommodation in a beautiful part of the world. Facilities were immaculate. Service was impeccable. Good choice of restaurants within easy walking distance.

Reviewed by
P Crane

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B would recommend to anyone who was planning a visit to DOLGELLAU Very welcoming .Good Food . Met all our requirements. Brilliant.100% will go there again..

Reviewed by
R Preece

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting, friendly accommodation.
We were made very welcome at Plas Gwyn. The owners have worked tirelessly over the last few months to turn this wonderful building into their dream B&B and they deserve to do very well. The decor and furnishings make this an interesting little place to stay. There is parking for one car per room which is a rare thing in Dolgellau! Breakfast was plentiful and well laid out. It would be even better if the owners developed their breakfast offerings to promote organic, local produce as I think this would round off the whole experience at Plas Gwyn. Good luck to them both!

Reviewed by
Tina P

From Llanwrtyd Wells, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming little cottage
We stayed in the cottage which had just been refurbished. There was everything you could need and everything was spotless. We could have quite easily extended our stay. Stuart (the owner) was helpful and told us where everything was and explained how things worked. Will stay longer next time.

Reviewed by
p howard

From Warrington, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.