No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
9 - 12 Priestgate, DARLINGTON, DL1 1NW
The hotel is centrally located in this historic market town yet close to the A1 and A66. An ideal base for conducting business in Newton Aycliffe, Stockton, Teeside, County Durham and North Yorkshire and only 30 minutes from Newcastle. The impressive Victorian facade looks out over the Pease statue and shopping area. An outdoor fee paying Car park can be found within a 5 minute walk off St Cuthberts Way
Picture of Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, DARLINGTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional Refurbished Comfortable Hotel in the Town Centre
We booked this accommodation, because it is a traditional Hotel which has recently been refurbished. The double room we had was well decorated, had all the facilities you expect including the simple things that aren't always present like plentiful hot water and being warm when we arrived. The only minor gripes were the lack of fitted towel rails and a toilet roll holder in the bathroom. As we stayed on Christmas Eve and Christmas Night the Hotel was quiet, which meant we could park in the Basement Car Park giving us additional peace of mind for the security of the Christmas presents in our car. The Hotel Staff at Reception and in the Bar, were welcoming, polite and helpful.

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st class hotel & staff

Reviewed by
Terry Horne

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay-again!
Our room was spacious and modern. We were on the 4th floor, so didn't experience any noise from the street outside. Free parking in the basement is a bonus.

Reviewed by
Robert B

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

outstanding
From the moment myself and my partner arrived at the hotel we were made extremely welcome and at ease. The staff were extremely friendly and incredibly helpful. No tadk was to large or to small always willing to help with a smile. The food was outstanding, I am a ceoliac and find it difficult to eat out in most places however the hotel and staff were very accommodating, making our stay much more pleasurable. The standers of the rooms and cleanliness was exemplary. We booked at the last minute on late rooms but did not feel as if we had the cheapest of rooms the value of theroom was very satisfactory indeed.

Reviewed by
kelvin Hutton

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality hotel - right in the centre of Darlington
We have stayed in this hotel several times now because it is in such a good location. It is a very good hotel, although the actual rooms are a bit basic - not much in the way of shelves or drawers - but okay if you are just staying a night or two. Really good location and the staff are very helpful and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Sheila W

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not enough staff to cope with breakfast

Reviewed by
David L

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a great time at the hotel. The location makes it great to experience the local town.

Reviewed by
Robert T

From Catterick Garrison, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent in town location
We had booked a meal at ochis the Caribbean resturant so we are over the moon we could just walk round the corner then all the pubs on the way back we were lucky to get a space In the underground car park I think there was about ten room small but did not matter really ordered room service about three times came very quick but a charge of five pound was added every time will use this hotel again

Reviewed by
lynne C

From Houghton le Spring, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, couldn't fault it.
Thoroughly enjoyed staying here - quality room and furnishings with a comfy bed and excellent power shower.

Reviewed by
Clare W

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wont be going again
Asked for quiet room, football players outside banging balls against walls late at night,then after that noise from others leaving pubs.Complained on desk to guy and he did not seem interested or bothered.Overpriced rooms which were too hot although clean.Wont be returning to this hotel again.

Reviewed by
shirley d

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next