No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
9-12 Priestgate , Darlington, DL11NW
The newly refurbished Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel is superbly located on the edges of Teesside & County Durham. The hotel serves as a perfect base from which to conduct business within Newton Aycliffe, Stockton & North Yorkshire. Situated in the heart of the historic market town with excellent links to Durham Tees Valley Airport, Darlington station, A1 and A66. Newcastle is only 30mins away. Whether your visit is for business or a short break, the hotel boasts 83 sleek bedrooms, free Wi-Fi, 2 restaurants & bars plus purpose built conference & event space to cater for up to 300 delegates.
Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a great time at the hotel. The location makes it great to experience the local town.

Reviewed by
Robert T

From Catterick Garrison, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent in town location
We had booked a meal at ochis the Caribbean resturant so we are over the moon we could just walk round the corner then all the pubs on the way back we were lucky to get a space In the underground car park I think there was about ten room small but did not matter really ordered room service about three times came very quick but a charge of five pound was added every time will use this hotel again

Reviewed by
lynne C

From Houghton le Spring, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, couldn't fault it.
Thoroughly enjoyed staying here - quality room and furnishings with a comfy bed and excellent power shower.

Reviewed by
Clare W

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wont be going again
Asked for quiet room, football players outside banging balls against walls late at night,then after that noise from others leaving pubs.Complained on desk to guy and he did not seem interested or bothered.Overpriced rooms which were too hot although clean.Wont be returning to this hotel again.

Reviewed by
shirley d

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab hotel and good value
Just an overnight stay with a friend for a social event; the third visit for us. Very friendly but professional staff, lovely room, if a bit small, but fine for one night. Very comfy bed and we'll equipped shower room. Excellent breakfast. They don't mind if you leave your car in the basement car park for a couple of hours after checking out; brilliant as it's so convenient for the shops.

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Shildon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent central hotel
pleasant hotel with excellent central location

Reviewed by
Robert H

From France
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay, close to shopping centre clean and we had meals both nights we stayed we enjoyed the food and the breakfast was very good too.

Reviewed by
M Croff

From Peterhead, Scotland
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Overall we were very pleased with the staff, service, food and drinks but the room was very small.

Reviewed by
A Morrison

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average hotel
Based on my experience, I think giving this hotel a 4* is slightly overestimating. Check-in was slightly below average; the staff were friendly but I could have done with more information (e.g. gaining access late at night, better instructions on finding my room and the restaraunt and accessing the wi-fi). When I finally found my room, it was still being cleaned and the domestic staff were equally surprised that I had been checked in before the room was ready. As a result it felt like the room was cleaned in a rush.
It was difficult to have restful sleep because the rooms seem to have poor sound proof, as I could pretty much hear people outside (my room was on the town centre side) and in the adjacent room speaking (and I don't think my neighbours were particularly noisy). The Wi-Fi also had very poor signal (1-bar only) so I also could not access it from my room. I informed the member of staff when checking out about the Wi-Fi and she was very friendly and apologetic. Honestly, if I paid more than I did for the room I would be a very unhappy customer. Given what is around and city centre location it is an OK hotel, but definitely not 4*!

Reviewed by
Elton C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
M Andrew

From Abingdon-on-Thames, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next