No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
9-12 Priestgate , Darlington, DL11NW
The newly refurbished Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel is superbly located on the edges of Teesside & County Durham. The hotel serves as a perfect base from which to conduct business within Newton Aycliffe, Stockton & North Yorkshire. Situated in the heart of the historic market town with excellent links to Durham Tees Valley Airport, Darlington station, A1 and A66. Newcastle is only 30mins away. Whether your visit is for business or a short break, the hotel boasts 83 sleek bedrooms, free Wi-Fi, 2 restaurants & bars plus purpose built conference & event space to cater for up to 300 delegates.
Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay-again!
Our room was spacious and modern. We were on the 4th floor, so didn't experience any noise from the street outside. Free parking in the basement is a bonus.

Reviewed by
Robert B

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

outstanding
From the moment myself and my partner arrived at the hotel we were made extremely welcome and at ease. The staff were extremely friendly and incredibly helpful. No tadk was to large or to small always willing to help with a smile. The food was outstanding, I am a ceoliac and find it difficult to eat out in most places however the hotel and staff were very accommodating, making our stay much more pleasurable. The standers of the rooms and cleanliness was exemplary. We booked at the last minute on late rooms but did not feel as if we had the cheapest of rooms the value of theroom was very satisfactory indeed.

Reviewed by
kelvin Hutton

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality hotel - right in the centre of Darlington
We have stayed in this hotel several times now because it is in such a good location. It is a very good hotel, although the actual rooms are a bit basic - not much in the way of shelves or drawers - but okay if you are just staying a night or two. Really good location and the staff are very helpful and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Sheila W

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not enough staff to cope with breakfast

Reviewed by
David L

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a great time at the hotel. The location makes it great to experience the local town.

Reviewed by
Robert T

From Catterick Garrison, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent in town location
We had booked a meal at ochis the Caribbean resturant so we are over the moon we could just walk round the corner then all the pubs on the way back we were lucky to get a space In the underground car park I think there was about ten room small but did not matter really ordered room service about three times came very quick but a charge of five pound was added every time will use this hotel again

Reviewed by
lynne C

From Houghton le Spring, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, couldn't fault it.
Thoroughly enjoyed staying here - quality room and furnishings with a comfy bed and excellent power shower.

Reviewed by
Clare W

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wont be going again
Asked for quiet room, football players outside banging balls against walls late at night,then after that noise from others leaving pubs.Complained on desk to guy and he did not seem interested or bothered.Overpriced rooms which were too hot although clean.Wont be returning to this hotel again.

Reviewed by
shirley d

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab hotel and good value
Just an overnight stay with a friend for a social event; the third visit for us. Very friendly but professional staff, lovely room, if a bit small, but fine for one night. Very comfy bed and we'll equipped shower room. Excellent breakfast. They don't mind if you leave your car in the basement car park for a couple of hours after checking out; brilliant as it's so convenient for the shops.

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Shildon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent central hotel
pleasant hotel with excellent central location

Reviewed by
Robert H

From France
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next