No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
9-12 Priestgate , Darlington, DL11NW
The newly refurbished Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel is superbly located on the edges of Teesside & County Durham. The hotel serves as a perfect base from which to conduct business within Newton Aycliffe, Stockton & North Yorkshire. Situated in the heart of the historic market town with excellent links to Durham Tees Valley Airport, Darlington station, A1 and A66. Newcastle is only 30mins away. Whether your visit is for business or a short break, the hotel boasts 83 sleek bedrooms, free Wi-Fi, 2 restaurants & bars plus purpose built conference & event space to cater for up to 300 delegates.
Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel!
This was my first time at this particular hotel but I was hugely impressed. Staff were very keen to help and the accommodation was more then fine- my only gripe was that at the restaurant you are not 'allowed' enter the dining room until 5 minutes before your food is ready to be served.........

Reviewed by
Bryan Matthew

From Princes Risborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
a great hotel

Reviewed by
Paul T

From West Mids, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden gem
Outstanding value - the Chef needs to be kept hold of as the quality was excellent and choice / combinations on the menu made it difficult to choose. I went for the mussels and chrizo in cream with shallots which was supurb ! Breakfast excellent too and good value.
One dowside of the stay was the extract fans outside were nisy and noticable first thing in the morning.

Reviewed by
S Hurst

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I really liked the hotel and the location. The room we had was quite small and warm. We had bath in the bathroom but I was expecting a shower. I would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Senthooran R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
This hotel has been refurbished to an extremely high standard.

Reviewed by
L Lowe

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seeing is believing.......
A truly remarkable hotel, full of character and history, EXCELLENT customer service and after an £8 million pound makeover, thoroughly designer at non-designer prices :-)

Reviewed by
Robert Burgess

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice place...staff need to wake up
I really liked the accommodation,and the central location is excellent and if your lucky you can get one of the parking spaces.getting between the floors is a bit quirky....but this added to the adventure. the restoration is to a very high standard. Waiting in an empty bar area to be served was bad enough...and then waiting 30 minutes for a sandwich to arrive was even worse. Then waking up looking forward to breakfast...or should i say waiting for breakfast , only to wait 15 minutes to be noticed.......and then down hill again....i gave up.

Reviewed by
ann d

From luton, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay @ Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Excellent value for money.
All the staff at the hotel I encountered were extremely helpful. Quality of the room for the price paid was excellent. On-site car-park in the town centre was another hige bonus.
The room itself was well furnished and modern. The location in the centre of Darlington was good as there are a fair few restaurants / pub in the vicinity.
Would recommend the hotel and I'd stay again.

Reviewed by
D Roberts

From Knutsford, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Hotel for Food! and the refurbished rooms are just the ticket.
Small issue with the sink tap spraying everywhere but liveable. Wifi not as strong as would have liked. The restaurant and food was a1.
a great stay.

Reviewed by
stuart c

From Basildon, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value
I have used this hotel twice and would definitely go back. The rooms and bathrooms are lovely, with nice modern fittings. The hotel is bang in the centre of Darlington, with a lovely shopping centre right across the road, and lots of nice eating places to choose from nearby. The bar area is lovely, and staff were nice and friendly. Great city centre hotel at a fantastic price

Reviewed by
Jackie Q

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in November 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next