Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

4

9 - 12 Priestgate, DARLINGTON, DL1 1NW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (43)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Iain G

  • September 2013

Nice but noisy

I got no sleep here.

Firstly a loud wedding reception disco lasted that past 1am, ok I thought, I'll watch the TV. Turn it on, and it won;t get any channel info. No problem I thought, I'll use the wifi on my smartphone to check on-line, tried but it connects for about 5 seconds in every hour. Useless. But the big issue was a large multifan heat exchanger right outside the window and the window didn't seal properly, it was like trying to sleep next to a jumbo jet on takeoff.. Further to this the door seal and peep hole let in the bright halogen light from the hallway so the room was like daylight. Reception didn't care.

  • B Gamble

  • September 2013

one night stay

Very nice hotel once inside, value for money but no where to park had to leave car at a wedding venue and get a Taxi as hotel only had about 10 spaces

  • Suzanne Cartwright

  • September 2013

Booking

Hi hotel was great for what I wanted.

ONly drawback was I had to produce my credit card 3 x which seemed a bit too much as when I booked on line I thought I had paid, then had to produce when we checked in and then again when I checked out. bit of overkill I thought. Otherwise enjoyed the stay.

  • Ian Rand

  • August 2013

Ideal location.

Immaculately clean and friendly hotel.

Rooms very modern and some of the frluffiest towels ive ever had. Free parking was available and a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Night porter was a extremely pleasnat chap.

  • N Puplett

  • August 2013

Upon arrival we were allocated a twin room After we booked a standard double.

However after returning to reception to point out there error , within 10 min we had been up graded to a different room. No further complaints after that. Staff very friendly & apologetic.

  • Stephen M

  • July 2013

Nice centrally placed

Good to get free car parking, nice modern place

  • John J

  • July 2013

Value for money.

Needed a hotel last minute for a wedding in Yarm.

Picked the Mercure as it was reasonably priced. Taxi over to Yarm was arranged by the hotel receptionist for £16 which isn't that bad. The hotel is smack in the centre of Darlington and there's a wetherspoons bar just around the corner where we had a cheap drink and a spot of lunch. There is free parking but it is limited. We were lucky and managed to get a space.

All in all, if you ever need to be near Darlington you can do a lot worse for your money. Providing you can get a parking space you shouldn't have any worries about this hotel. We paid £54 which at today's rates we considered reasonable value for money.

  • G Mullin

  • July 2013

good central location, problems parking if hotel car park is full otherwise enjoyable.

4

  • Brett R

  • July 2013

Pleasant Stay

The hotel is vey clean and up to date in its presentation.

Its right in the centre of Darlington so great for that. The car park is a little tight and does not have many spaces. Other than that it offers a very good value for money stay!

  • Marc K

  • May 2013

A very welcome addition to Darlington!

Excellent in every way, staff and room.