No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
9-12 Priestgate , Darlington, DL11NW
The newly refurbished Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel is superbly located on the edges of Teesside & County Durham. The hotel serves as a perfect base from which to conduct business within Newton Aycliffe, Stockton & North Yorkshire. Situated in the heart of the historic market town with excellent links to Durham Tees Valley Airport, Darlington station, A1 and A66. Newcastle is only 30mins away. Whether your visit is for business or a short break, the hotel boasts 83 sleek bedrooms, free Wi-Fi, 2 restaurants & bars plus purpose built conference & event space to cater for up to 300 delegates.
Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booking
Hi hotel was great for what I wanted. ONly drawback was I had to produce my credit card 3 x which seemed a bit too much as when I booked on line I thought I had paid, then had to produce when we checked in and then again when I checked out. bit of overkill I thought.
Otherwise enjoyed the stay.

Reviewed by
Suzanne Cartwright

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location.
Immaculately clean and friendly hotel. Rooms very modern and some of the frluffiest towels ive ever had. Free parking was available and a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Night porter was a extremely pleasnat chap.

Reviewed by
Ian Rand

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Upon arrival we were allocated a twin room
After we booked a standard double. However after returning to reception to point out there error , within 10 min we had been up graded to a different room. No further complaints after that. Staff very friendly & apologetic.

Reviewed by
N Puplett

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money.
Needed a hotel last minute for a wedding in Yarm. Picked the Mercure as it was reasonably priced. Taxi over to Yarm was arranged by the hotel receptionist for £16 which isn't that bad. The hotel is smack in the centre of Darlington and there's a wetherspoons bar just around the corner where we had a cheap drink and a spot of lunch. There is free parking but it is limited. We were lucky and managed to get a space.
All in all, if you ever need to be near Darlington you can do a lot worse for your money. Providing you can get a parking space you shouldn't have any worries about this hotel. We paid £54 which at today's rates we considered reasonable value for money.

Reviewed by
John J

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good central location, problems parking if hotel car park is full otherwise enjoyable.
4

Reviewed by
G Mullin

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
The hotel is vey clean and up to date in its presentation.
Its right in the centre of Darlington so great for that.
The car park is a little tight and does not have many spaces.
Other than that it offers a very good value for money stay!

Reviewed by
Brett R

From Retford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice centrally placed
Good to get free car parking, nice modern place

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bank holiday saturday stay
The hotel is in a perfect location and done out to a very high standard. Found the staff to be very helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. Hotel has carpark underneath. We were in Room 411 which is rather complicated to get to, especially when you have had a few drinks, you have to take a lift to the 2nd floor then take various corridors, take another lift to the 4th floor. Our room backed onto a flat roof with what appeared to be air coditioning units or fans, they were so noisy I hardly slept. On top of that the room was so warm through the night I had to open the window to get some air in which made the noise even worse. However when we checked out the guy on reception apologised and said if we were to stay again to request a room at the front of the building which is useful advice. Despite the noise of the fans and the heat we wouldnt be put off to stay here again as it is a lovely hotel. We would just request quiter rooms.

Reviewed by
J Tate

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nothing to write home about

Reviewed by
A Luke

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very welcome addition to Darlington!
Excellent in every way, staff and room.

Reviewed by
Marc K

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next