No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
9-12 Priestgate , Darlington, DL11NW
The newly refurbished Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel is superbly located on the edges of Teesside & County Durham. The hotel serves as a perfect base from which to conduct business within Newton Aycliffe, Stockton & North Yorkshire. Situated in the heart of the historic market town with excellent links to Durham Tees Valley Airport, Darlington station, A1 and A66. Newcastle is only 30mins away. Whether your visit is for business or a short break, the hotel boasts 83 sleek bedrooms, free Wi-Fi, 2 restaurants & bars plus purpose built conference & event space to cater for up to 300 delegates.
Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money.
Needed a hotel last minute for a wedding in Yarm. Picked the Mercure as it was reasonably priced. Taxi over to Yarm was arranged by the hotel receptionist for £16 which isn't that bad. The hotel is smack in the centre of Darlington and there's a wetherspoons bar just around the corner where we had a cheap drink and a spot of lunch. There is free parking but it is limited. We were lucky and managed to get a space.
All in all, if you ever need to be near Darlington you can do a lot worse for your money. Providing you can get a parking space you shouldn't have any worries about this hotel. We paid £54 which at today's rates we considered reasonable value for money.

Reviewed by
John J

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good central location, problems parking if hotel car park is full otherwise enjoyable.
4

Reviewed by
G Mullin

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
The hotel is vey clean and up to date in its presentation.
Its right in the centre of Darlington so great for that.
The car park is a little tight and does not have many spaces.
Other than that it offers a very good value for money stay!

Reviewed by
Brett R

From Retford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice centrally placed
Good to get free car parking, nice modern place

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bank holiday saturday stay
The hotel is in a perfect location and done out to a very high standard. Found the staff to be very helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. Hotel has carpark underneath. We were in Room 411 which is rather complicated to get to, especially when you have had a few drinks, you have to take a lift to the 2nd floor then take various corridors, take another lift to the 4th floor. Our room backed onto a flat roof with what appeared to be air coditioning units or fans, they were so noisy I hardly slept. On top of that the room was so warm through the night I had to open the window to get some air in which made the noise even worse. However when we checked out the guy on reception apologised and said if we were to stay again to request a room at the front of the building which is useful advice. Despite the noise of the fans and the heat we wouldnt be put off to stay here again as it is a lovely hotel. We would just request quiter rooms.

Reviewed by
J Tate

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nothing to write home about

Reviewed by
A Luke

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very welcome addition to Darlington!
Excellent in every way, staff and room.

Reviewed by
Marc K

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Good standard of service , The only suggestion for improvement would be a greater choice of breakfast.
Paying £13.99 a head when you only want a boiled egg is crazy.

Reviewed by
JOHN WAGSTAFF

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and location perfect, however not happy with how the night porter treated us. Was made to feel like children. After having a lovely evening in Darlington returned to have coffee, was asked to keep noise down after 5mins ( even though we were sat talking ) he then stayed outside for a good 20 mins, ringing us and watching our room. We were not teenagers we were 47, 38 yr old couple out away with their 25 yr old daughter and her 26 yr old boyfriend. We were not back in our room long enough to cause upset. As we came home a very young teenage drunk, whom did not know what from he stayed in or what name it was booked under had caused problems and we bore the brunt of this. it is a city centre hotel ideal location for people away for a night out and they should expect this .

Reviewed by
Michelle G

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel noisy on a sunday morning
The quality of the room was good if a little small even for the deluxe version, really nice refurbishment. The side we were on meant that the road/market place cleaning machine was making a very loud noise from around 5.30-7am on Sunday morning so no lazy Sunday for us and coupled with the church bells every hour meant we didn't get to take advantage of the late check out time and went home really tired (despite a few birthday drinks!)

Reviewed by
lisa d

From England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next