Reviews - The Sun Inn


Welshampton, Ellesmere, sy120ph

Price From 148.12 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (17)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • June 2015

A Pleasant Last Minute Find

Nice pub and lovely beer garden.

Good food. Room was very nice, plenty of drawer space. Lovely big fluffy towels, comfortable bed, great breakfast. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again if I was in this part of the country.

  • Chris Hawkett

  • March 2015

Big breakfast

Comfortable room although a little tight for space (we stayed in the "Pig" room).

Great range of ales, busy restaurant and a huge tasty breakfast, with both food and ale locally sourced.

Local countryside is beautiful and only an hour or so from Snowdonia. There is a big car park alongside so no parking issues.

  • Andrew S

  • March 2015

Excellent Friendly Pub with accommodation

A very friendly and well run pub with top quality accommodation and great food.

No hesitation in recommending this as one of the best in the area.

  • D Appleby

  • December 2014

Very nice play to stay

We stayed only one day as we were passing through,would have liked to stay longer.

The room was clean,bed comfortable,excellent. The food in the evening was very good,the full English was excellent plentiful and very good locally sourced. The atmosphere in the pub was very welcoming, friendly and very nice. The beer was well kept and plenty of choice of real ales - all good. overall a very pleasant stay and excellent service, food and ale. excellent friendly staff.

Thank you.


  • December 2014

excellent find !!

For a one night stay over this accommodation and pub was an excellent find.

Friendly, helpful staff that made us feel relaxed and welcome. Our room exceeded our expectation. Our only issue was that the bed was a little low but that is reflective of personal choice rather than a criticism. The food in the pub was superb and not over priced with an excellent array of real ales. We had to eat in the bar as all the tables in the lounge / restaurant were either full or had reserved signs on so it did feel a little isolated and 'out of it'. The breakfast again exceeded our expectations and the ladies were as friendly and helpful as the guys had been the previous evening. We would not hesitate to either recommend or return when back in the area

  • D Brown

  • November 2014

Long weekend

Room was clean and tidy and with good facilities.

Shower was great and there was plenty of room. Breakfast was fantastic, with big portions and everything you could want. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Nigel Reynolds

  • October 2014

Excellent in every respect......clean tidy well equipped room,...very friendly staff...superb dinner and wine and FANTASTIC breakfast...Highly recommended.

  • Michael P

  • October 2014

Good value overnight stay with good food

We liked the big bath.

Excellent breakfast, beer & dinner - though watch out for the huge portions mentioned on other reviews. Personally we found the bed too hard, and rather hot due to the protective mattress cover. There was quite a bit of road traffic (we live in a very quiet village!). The staff and general atmosphere were very relaxed and friendly. The local area was very pleasant to explore (by bike).

  • lisa M

  • September 2014

great value for money

Lovely village pub/b&b loved the finishing touches in the room, kilner jars galore very cute having farmyard animal themed rooms, the bathroom was modern, all areas were spotless, thenstaff were friendly, and the breakfast was the best we have had, being vegetarian the choice was amazing all cooked fresh, wished we booked for longer, definitely would recommend staying here.

  • Ann S

  • August 2014

Short Break

Good Food, Comfortable room, friendly service.