No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sun Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Welshampton , Ellesmere, sy120ph
The Sun Inn, Welshampton was completely refurbished in 2012 by Sircar builders of Whitchurch after 4 years of closure. The pub was radically changed inside and out and is operated by Sketchydog ltd, AKA Dave and Fletch.

We pride ourselves on using locally source produce whenever possible and always have several of the best local ales on tap as well as the best wines from all over the world

.Our food is best described as 'modern British' in style (although don't be surprised to see influences from other regions!) and we serve quality food and drink all day, every day.

We aim to give you the best and friendliest service possible, the highest quality food and drink, but in a comfortable, affordable and relaxed environment.

We also have 3 en-suite double bedrooms which are an ideal base to explore the locality - Beautiful Ellesmere, Historic Shrewsbury or the market town of Oswestry to name but a few. Tariff is £60 including a delicious full cooked breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Picture of The Sun Inn, Ellesmere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for money
Lovely village pub/b&b loved the finishing touches in the room, kilner jars galore very cute having farmyard animal themed rooms, the bathroom was modern, all areas were spotless, thenstaff were friendly, and the breakfast was the best we have had, being vegetarian the choice was amazing all cooked fresh, wished we booked for longer, definitely would recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
lisa M

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Good Food, Comfortable room, friendly service.

Reviewed by
Ann S

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awesome place to stay
Very friendly staff, great room and excellent food. The only small down side was the noisey road on a Monday ( but you can't blame the hotel for that)

Reviewed by
A Bartlett

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at sun inn
had a good time accomodation very nice room was a bit small but adequate for a short stay .very clean and well kept staff where lovely would stay again.

Reviewed by
IAN R

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room with friendly bar staff, very warm room however it was 30c outside
Disappointed by a rude chef who was unhappy to serve early breakfast which was within the times stated

Reviewed by
Sam C

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place. Certainly value for money. Excellent breakfast great beer garden.will be back

Reviewed by
n leighton-davies

From wallasey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and friendly
Had an enjoyable overnight stay. The quality of the food for dinner was excellent, and would highly recommend it. Was looking forward to the breakfast after reading previous reviews. Sadly we had a very long wait, and when it finally arrived it was very overcooked, with some parts burnt . Would have given quality of food full marks if not for this. Think the chef must have had an off morning! The only other criticism was the noise from the door below slamming shut when customers were leaving - had to resort to ear plugs. The room was very clean and newly renovated. Loved the animal themes - great pictures!

Reviewed by
Rosemary B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
I can't fault in anyway the recent stay we had at the Sun Inn. From the word go the customer service was excellent, the room was clean and being a smaller hotel not too crowded. The pub itself had a high number of reservations for food on the evening we stayed which is a good indication to the quality of the food being served. The breakfast was amazing. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
L Green

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Night Away
We can't say enough about this place. It is so relaxing to stay here and the staff can't do enough for you. You are well looked after from the moment you arrive till the moment you leave. The bar is well kept with a fine selection of beers and ciders, and the food was once again excellent. Pig Room was very comfortable, but I do prefer Cow with its bath, and all this for a reasonable price. Keep up the good work and we'll be back soon.

Reviewed by
craig smith

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Excellent accommodation. Very friendly staff. Very good food. Recently refurbished and all conveniences exeptional. Rooms a little on small side but well wquipped. A very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Michael N

From Par, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next