No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grandwood House

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Watergate, West Marden, , Chichester, PO18 9EG
Set in the South Downs close to Chichester, surrounded by historic places such as Uppark and Adsdean House, Lordington Manor, Racton Ruins, Goodwood and slightly further afield Petworth House, Arundel Castle, Portsmouth Docks with the Spinnaker Tower.

Built in 1907 Grandwood House was originally a lodge house belonging to Watergate House which was accidentally burnt down by troops during the 2nd World War. Set in the heart of the South Downs it is only a short walk away from the local pub in nearby Walderton which serves lunches and evening meals. Large security gates leading on to a tarmac driveway ensures secure parking at all times.

All rooms are en suite with some being double aspect. All are centrally heated and can be either twin or double occupancy with views to either the garden, open farmland or both. All rooms are non-smoking and have tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms have TV with DVD player and wireless internet connection.
Picture of Grandwood House, Chichester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our two day break in Sussex
We were initially disapointed with our accomodation which was in seperate chalets in the grounds. It was reasonably clean but somewhat basic. We were also supprised when going for our breakfast to find that there was one table for all the guests to sit at. I must say the cooked breakfast was superb and the proprietor (Chris) was a very pleasant chap, which went a long way to make up for the very basic accommodation. It certainlly is in a beautiful part of the country.

Reviewed by
Douglas R

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short holiday
Very peaceful in a quiet location

Reviewed by
DENNIS ORCHERTON

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good value for money
We were greeted on arrival by the owner who offered the choice of two rooms .We decided on a chalet in the grounds which was perfect. Breakfast was better than a top London hotel ! We were very happy.

Reviewed by
R Braiden

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place. Well equipped. Clean, nice cooked breakfast.
A little further away from local pubs than we thought. Probably wouldn't want to walk it.
We enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
Rebecca S

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay
Very personal service and quaint location in the middle of the country.
Owner very accommodating and welcoming.

Reviewed by
richard m

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning location
Chris is a very genial host and his cooked breakfasts are wonderful. The rooms are clean and the bed was comfortable. It was however a little damp.... The weather was however humid but the room could do perhaps with better ventilation.

Reviewed by
Patricia M

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quiet venue
Very pleasantly situated B & B. Bed comfortable, bathroom very cramped but lots of hot water. TV very small screen high up on wall. Host very amenable and chatty at breakfast.

Reviewed by
Ian G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly place to stay
Stayed here for one night to get away from London. We were welcomed and shown to our room, which was clean and tidy. The garden was well kept and very pretty. The local area has a lovely country pub called the barley mow run by a South African, recommend a meal there.
Breakfast was good and we enjoyed meeting Chris, he made us feel very welcome and was a great host. Would recommend for a quiet escape .

Reviewed by
Lauren Jackman

From Morden, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An unfortunate event.
The B&B was easy to find and when showed the accommodation, Room 4, which would have benefited from a little TLC.
Everything was fine until after we had departed then there was a downturn due to a misunderstanding when I inadvertently thought, like other bookings we'd made over the web, once the Credit Card details had been given the accommodation was paid for.
However in this instance, this was not the case and unfortunately, we were not immediately contactable. The owner therefore sent a curt e-mail to my daughter, who lives the other side of the world, who, due to contact problems, had to contact my other daughter, also overseas, to get me to urgently contact the owner otherwise he told her action would be taken.
It would have been useful to have had a notice in the room drawing the guests attention to the payment arrangements sooner than it cause a problem after leaving.
Moreover, having since spoken with my daughters, who treated us to the special treat they also found Mr Palmer less than responsive to their e-mails and telephone calls.
An excellent weekend at the races which was marred by unnecessary stress.

Reviewed by
Howard M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute overnight stay
Very friendly stop over. Didn't realise the room wasn't attached to the main property, but set away from it which was fine, though no wifi reception and hence had to go into main building to us, but again it wasn't an issue as the weather was fine (wouldn't have been so good if it were Winter and poor weather).
Breakfast was fab and large central kitchen table lent to a friendly atmosphere.
Closest pubs/ restaurante were a drive, but there were several to chose from.

Reviewed by
J Figueira

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next