No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Live and Let Live

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Pegsdon Way, , , Hitchin, SG5 3JX
The newly refurbished Live and Let Live Pub, Restaurant and B&B is located at the foot of Pegsdon Hills on the Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire Borders. Come and enjoy fine fresh food, cooked daily by our team of experienced chefs using locally sourced ingredients. Completely refurbished with a country and wildlife theme, our restaurant and bar have stunning views overlooking Pegsdon Hills. The pub is a free house serving fine ales and an extensive list of world wines. Our Bed and Breakfast Accommodation has also been renovated and redesigned with new bathrooms, showers, furnishings, fixtures and fittings. Stay at our warm and friendly Bed and Breakfast, leave your car with us and we will provide a complimentary shuttle service to, and from, Luton Airport.Share our passion for everything countryside and soak up the winter season by our wood burner in our cosy pub and restaurant. New refurbished en suite rooms; either twin or double. We are happy to provide a cot (with or without linen) and several of our rooms are large enough to accommodate an extra bed for family rooms if required. The breakfast selection consists of a range of cereals, toast, continental or full English breakfast, plus tea and coffee. The full English consists of sausage, eggs, bacon, black pudding, tomatoes, mushrooms and toast. The rooms are very well-appointed to suit business or leisure guests and weddings etc with new beds and an en-suite shower room. There is a hospitality tray located in each room with coffee and a selection of teas. Our rooms boast flat screen 32” televisions with freeview channels. We also provide free WiFi access which is also available in the bar and restaurant. There are plenty of books and magazines, plus a range of leaflets and information about the local and surrounding areas. Inside the restaurant we have a wonderful bar area adjoining the dining vicinity with the pleasure of our beautiful, open, wood burning fires, for your comfort and pleasure.
Picture of The Live and Let Live, Hitchin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lucky find - warm welcome, lovely, clean room & great food
We booked a room at The Live & Let Live Inn at the last minute and received a really warm welcome about an hour later. The staff couldn't have been nicer, the food was great (so was the wine, I'd recommend the Merlot!), we enjoyed being serenaded by the pianist in the bar, and our room was immaculate and well-equipped. The Inn was a really lucky find - we had a great stay and we'll definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Sally M

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country inn
I really liked the litte touches to this inn, friendly owners and always there to help if I needed anything. Room was slightly cold on arrival but soon warmed up, really comfy beds and a great breakfast, perfect poached eggs.

Reviewed by
R Weir

From Hessle, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Completely satisfied guest
Booked on the last minute, but what a find. Excellent accommodation and the most welcoming reception I have ever received. A most enjoyable evening spent here whilst on business, cannot recommend this place enough. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Clifton Davis

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The restaurant, pub and room were presented well and clean. The staff were great! AMAZING FOOD!
Martin was great a really nice bloke, if you are working away and travelling by yourself this has a nice warm family feel to it. The breakfast was the best i have ever had. i intend on using this as my regular place to stay when away on business.

Reviewed by
Nicholas Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff. Made us feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Barry Mealing

From Sandy, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, friendly staff, great restaurant

Reviewed by
clare d

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfection
Everything was perfect about this stay .. Martin the owner ... The room was modern clean and the little touches like real milk and water in the fridge ! The bed was soooo comfortable and big .. The walk and scenery on your doorstep beautiful and the food and wine was lovely and if things couldn't get better James Jnr on the piano Saturday night was the best !! And the breakfast was one of my best ever ... Can't wait to return

Reviewed by
Loraine H

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing and so friendly
Stayed one night, as soon as I got to reception, I was checked in and everything after that was first name basis made me feel at home and relaxed just friendly atmosphere and people,enjoyed a lovely meal, the bar is cosy with great restaurant, breakfast was amazing and I don't usually eat breakfast,the rooms are so modern and bright it didn’t even feel like a hotel great outdoor views and I want to say a thank you to everyone who made our stay so pleasurable,faultless perfection in its finest form highly recommended and I'll see you guys soon for my next stay

Reviewed by
Dave B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No early breakfasts for business people
A very good quality room, very modern. Would have liked a bath.food not advertised on late rooms so missed evening meal. No cooked breakfast available until 8am? The lady did provide a cold breakfast in advance which was ok.

Reviewed by
R Slater

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxed feel to this hotel. Really nice, friendly welcome. Food was great and the waiter gets a special mention - he was charming, helpful and extremely professional. Room was clean and reasonably spacious. Bed - dead comfy! Will definitely stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
ANNE Q

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next