No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Live and Let Live

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Pegsdon Way, , , Hitchin, SG5 3JX
The newly refurbished Live and Let Live Pub, Restaurant and B&B is located at the foot of Pegsdon Hills on the Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire Borders. Come and enjoy fine fresh food, cooked daily by our team of experienced chefs using locally sourced ingredients. Completely refurbished with a country and wildlife theme, our restaurant and bar have stunning views overlooking Pegsdon Hills. The pub is a free house serving fine ales and an extensive list of world wines. Our Bed and Breakfast Accommodation has also been renovated and redesigned with new bathrooms, showers, furnishings, fixtures and fittings. Stay at our warm and friendly Bed and Breakfast, leave your car with us and we will provide a complimentary shuttle service to, and from, Luton Airport.Share our passion for everything countryside and soak up the winter season by our wood burner in our cosy pub and restaurant. New refurbished en suite rooms; either twin or double. We are happy to provide a cot (with or without linen) and several of our rooms are large enough to accommodate an extra bed for family rooms if required. The breakfast selection consists of a range of cereals, toast, continental or full English breakfast, plus tea and coffee. The full English consists of sausage, eggs, bacon, black pudding, tomatoes, mushrooms and toast. The rooms are very well-appointed to suit business or leisure guests and weddings etc with new beds and an en-suite shower room. There is a hospitality tray located in each room with coffee and a selection of teas. Our rooms boast flat screen 32” televisions with freeview channels. We also provide free WiFi access which is also available in the bar and restaurant. There are plenty of books and magazines, plus a range of leaflets and information about the local and surrounding areas. Inside the restaurant we have a wonderful bar area adjoining the dining vicinity with the pleasure of our beautiful, open, wood burning fires, for your comfort and pleasure.
Picture of The Live and Let Live, Hitchin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfection
Everything was perfect about this stay .. Martin the owner ... The room was modern clean and the little touches like real milk and water in the fridge ! The bed was soooo comfortable and big .. The walk and scenery on your doorstep beautiful and the food and wine was lovely and if things couldn't get better James Jnr on the piano Saturday night was the best !! And the breakfast was one of my best ever ... Can't wait to return

Reviewed by
Loraine H

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing and so friendly
Stayed one night, as soon as I got to reception, I was checked in and everything after that was first name basis made me feel at home and relaxed just friendly atmosphere and people,enjoyed a lovely meal, the bar is cosy with great restaurant, breakfast was amazing and I don't usually eat breakfast,the rooms are so modern and bright it didn’t even feel like a hotel great outdoor views and I want to say a thank you to everyone who made our stay so pleasurable,faultless perfection in its finest form highly recommended and I'll see you guys soon for my next stay

Reviewed by
Dave B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No early breakfasts for business people
A very good quality room, very modern. Would have liked a bath.food not advertised on late rooms so missed evening meal. No cooked breakfast available until 8am? The lady did provide a cold breakfast in advance which was ok.

Reviewed by
R Slater

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxed feel to this hotel. Really nice, friendly welcome. Food was great and the waiter gets a special mention - he was charming, helpful and extremely professional. Room was clean and reasonably spacious. Bed - dead comfy! Will definitely stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
ANNE Q

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service, accomodation and quality of food.
Only one very, very small point is the food menu could be a little more varied.

Reviewed by
Carl Evans

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jem of a find.
Excellent hotel with a price that doesn't give it justice. The rooms are spotless and well equipped, you even get a fridge with a jug of real milk for your tea or coffee.
The bar and restaurant has a friendly feel with both locals and residents mixing. Great selection of outstanding food on the menu, don't waste your time trying to find better food elsewhere. you wont.
Highly recommend.

Reviewed by
W Heafield

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth as visit
Needed a stopover and found this gem - very pleasantly surprised. Had intended to have a snack in the bar but the menu was so tempting decided on the 3 course sunday lunch which was very good. Martin was very welcoming and we would not hesitate to book again if in the area. Great walk outside the inn - all dog friendly.

Reviewed by
Sarah Strange

From Burry Port, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly different ...
Location and chalet-style accommodation are key differentiators. Rooms are spacious and well decorated and furnished. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Lynne H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very disappointed!!
We booked one night, it was a Sunday. On arrival, we were told that there was no meals available that evening, plus the bar area shuts around 7!! The owner? told us they shut early because it was quiet on a Sunday, no problem with that other than someone should have told us that, or should have been stated somewhere surely, had we known we would not have opted to stay there. Although 'The Raven' is a short drive away, and was open for food etc. it still meant a drive, hence our one relaxing evening was ruined? Breakfast was OK but nothing special, to be fair, tea and coffee were plentiful.
To completely spoil an already forgettable day, the owner? had the audacity to phone us while on the way home, to tell us he had no record of us paying!!!!! He was the one that took our payment the second we arrived. Rather sums up the whole experience really, suffice to say, I will be checking my credit card bill when it arrives!

Reviewed by
john mitchelson

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place just outside Hitchin
Lovely little place outside Hitchin, amongst the nice scenic views of Barton Le Clay. Rooms were very clean and tidy and customers service was brilliant, felt more like staying in a family home. Very nice food served too.

Reviewed by
B N

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next