No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Live and Let Live

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Pegsdon Way, , , Hitchin, SG5 3JX
The newly refurbished Live and Let Live Pub, Restaurant and B&B is located at the foot of Pegsdon Hills on the Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire Borders. Come and enjoy fine fresh food, cooked daily by our team of experienced chefs using locally sourced ingredients. Completely refurbished with a country and wildlife theme, our restaurant and bar have stunning views overlooking Pegsdon Hills. The pub is a free house serving fine ales and an extensive list of world wines. Our Bed and Breakfast Accommodation has also been renovated and redesigned with new bathrooms, showers, furnishings, fixtures and fittings. Stay at our warm and friendly Bed and Breakfast, leave your car with us and we will provide a complimentary shuttle service to, and from, Luton Airport.Share our passion for everything countryside and soak up the winter season by our wood burner in our cosy pub and restaurant. New refurbished en suite rooms; either twin or double. We are happy to provide a cot (with or without linen) and several of our rooms are large enough to accommodate an extra bed for family rooms if required. The breakfast selection consists of a range of cereals, toast, continental or full English breakfast, plus tea and coffee. The full English consists of sausage, eggs, bacon, black pudding, tomatoes, mushrooms and toast. The rooms are very well-appointed to suit business or leisure guests and weddings etc with new beds and an en-suite shower room. There is a hospitality tray located in each room with coffee and a selection of teas. Our rooms boast flat screen 32” televisions with freeview channels. We also provide free WiFi access which is also available in the bar and restaurant. There are plenty of books and magazines, plus a range of leaflets and information about the local and surrounding areas. Inside the restaurant we have a wonderful bar area adjoining the dining vicinity with the pleasure of our beautiful, open, wood burning fires, for your comfort and pleasure.
Picture of The Live and Let Live, Hitchin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Live and Let Live, really does Live Up to it's name!
Fantastic, accomodation, lovely welcome, good food.
Great for Walkers, Dog owners, and anyother accidental tourist.
Will deffo use again

Reviewed by
R Shadbolt

From Rochford, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late rooms review

Reviewed by
Jane R

From Thirsk, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Furnishings bright and contemporary, restaurant is lovely. Food great. Friendly service.
Only complaint is that the room was not insulated and all the traffic noise came through the windows which were not sealed sufficiently and through the thin wooden door which had gaps around it as it is bowed. Having curtains might help dull the noise. If the room was double glazed with no gaps around it, then it would be a fantastic place to have a weekend.

Reviewed by
Graham F

From Bognor Regis, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suitable for an overnight stay
Much improved in all aspects following change of ownership.

Reviewed by
R Davies

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On a cold and snowy evening, a very warm welcome fom the beginning, a bright modern accommodation with good beer in the bar and real milk in the rooms ( no realy from cows!!). A nice breakfast continental style with local produce ( hot breakfast served after 9am). Only when I left for work in the morning did I see the lovely countryside. If I was being picky ( which of course I never am !!) a rug by the bed would be better, but next time i pass i would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
COLIN T

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay in Hitchin
Log fire, great food, great wine and great service, well recommended.

Reviewed by
Susan s

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic experience all round!
This place makes travelling alone on business a really nice experience. Acommodation is excellent, food delicious and the owners can't do enough for you. I will be going back again!

Reviewed by
J Salvidge

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
I booked this accommodation to be close to a client for a meeting the following morning. The live and let live is best described as a Foody pub with rooms. These are situated in an adjoining building and well appointed. Food was excellent although the bar area is much smaller than a normal pub which of course this isn't. Down side for me was thT a cooked breakfast was not available before 9.15.....although the owner provided an excellent Continental breakfast in it's place. Would love to stay there in the summer as the terrace would be a great place to eat out.

Reviewed by
j horton

From bury st edmunds, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
Absolutely fabulous, staff warm and friendly couldn't have asked for better
Nothing was too much trouble
This was the second time I have stayed here and will do so again

Reviewed by
philip b

From Market Drayton, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home
Absolutely lovely bed and breakfast, very welcoming, lovely hosts, fab food and accommodation. It made being away on business alone a pleasure!

Reviewed by
Debbie Lymbery

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next