No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Live and Let Live

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Pegsdon Way, , , Hitchin, SG5 3JX
The newly refurbished Live and Let Live Pub, Restaurant and B&B is located at the foot of Pegsdon Hills on the Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire Borders. Come and enjoy fine fresh food, cooked daily by our team of experienced chefs using locally sourced ingredients. Completely refurbished with a country and wildlife theme, our restaurant and bar have stunning views overlooking Pegsdon Hills. The pub is a free house serving fine ales and an extensive list of world wines. Our Bed and Breakfast Accommodation has also been renovated and redesigned with new bathrooms, showers, furnishings, fixtures and fittings. Stay at our warm and friendly Bed and Breakfast, leave your car with us and we will provide a complimentary shuttle service to, and from, Luton Airport.Share our passion for everything countryside and soak up the winter season by our wood burner in our cosy pub and restaurant. New refurbished en suite rooms; either twin or double. We are happy to provide a cot (with or without linen) and several of our rooms are large enough to accommodate an extra bed for family rooms if required. The breakfast selection consists of a range of cereals, toast, continental or full English breakfast, plus tea and coffee. The full English consists of sausage, eggs, bacon, black pudding, tomatoes, mushrooms and toast. The rooms are very well-appointed to suit business or leisure guests and weddings etc with new beds and an en-suite shower room. There is a hospitality tray located in each room with coffee and a selection of teas. Our rooms boast flat screen 32” televisions with freeview channels. We also provide free WiFi access which is also available in the bar and restaurant. There are plenty of books and magazines, plus a range of leaflets and information about the local and surrounding areas. Inside the restaurant we have a wonderful bar area adjoining the dining vicinity with the pleasure of our beautiful, open, wood burning fires, for your comfort and pleasure.
Picture of The Live and Let Live, Hitchin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good standard of accommodation
Something a bit different given that this is a pub/restaurant and my room was located just off the main building as one of a series of smaller chalet type rooms. The rooms although a little basic were very clean and tidy and the beds very comfortable . Road noise was a little noticeable but noticed this more in the morning and not a major issue . The staff were all very helpful and the breakfast which was freshly prepared was excellent . Nice location and a place I would consider again

Reviewed by
J HUGHES

From Wirral, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bets In Hertforshire
Beautiful views, fantastic rooms, lovely warm people. Thank you for a lovely stay x

Reviewed by
Natalia Wall

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a gem!
You can easily mistake this place for a normal pub with accommodation. However, the rooms have a great quality feel about them, and are quite unique in the area. The staff are very welcoming and relaxed in their approach.

Reviewed by
R Jones

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A celebration

Reviewed by
Danny E

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room but no hair dryer

Reviewed by
jill kirby

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable stay
Stayed one night at Live and Let Live after attending a birthday party nearby.
The hotel has modern, clean and comfortable rooms. The full English breakfast was excellent.
Small issue was that I booked a twin room through LateRooms.com but found on arrival that we had been allocated a double room. Fortunately the owner of the hotel provided a portable bed for the room. This was fine and we were impressed at the good customer service provided in rectifying the problem.

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful and charming accommodation coupled with superb cuisine
I booked this purely based on location and price and was bowled over by the beautiful area, restaurant and room!! My friend and I wanted a relaxing couple of days away from the Hubbies and kids and we felt we had found a little oasis ...... I would thoroughly recommend the Live and let live for it's accommodation and magnificent menu! .......already planning another weekend :)

Reviewed by
DEBORAH C

From HURSTPIERPOINT, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a great evening , and overnight stay here,met familly had a great meal & breakfast was great.
Only problem was Martin ,the owner had'nt been informed by laterooms that we had booked his hotel/pub .We arrived at 4pm its a good job he was'nt full otherwise we would'nt have had a room. if it had been the next night we would have had to find somewhere else . this booking was made 2days before!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Diane Latham

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

super place to stay
room to very high spec shower nice and clean food great and breakfast too would stay again

Reviewed by
David H

From Newbury, England
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Live and Let Live, really does Live Up to it's name!
Fantastic, accomodation, lovely welcome, good food.
Great for Walkers, Dog owners, and anyother accidental tourist.
Will deffo use again

Reviewed by
R Shadbolt

From Rochford, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next