No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - La Casa de Emilia

VIA LAYETANA 41, BARCELONA, 08003
Welcome to the HOUSE OF EMILIA! We are located near attractions such as Palau de la Música Catalana, Barcelona Cathedral, Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. Arc de Triomf and Liceu Theatre are also within walking distance. Disponiemos Internet connection Wi-Fi. Staff are available to provide tour support ticket. There is an Internet access point available.
Picture of La Casa de Emilia, BARCELONA at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
33% recommended this accommodation to a friend 33% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never stay here ever
What a dump my wife and i are seasoned travellers and i have never stayed in such a hovel no hot water in our apartment no heating very cold nights in barcelona what i would class as a slum dont do this hotel . The only shining light in this whole dark episode was ABA the cleaner what a diamond in a large pile of Dung thank you ABA hope i spelt your name right

Reviewed by
paul andrews

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Great location, simple but functional rooms, kitchenette... excellent for low budget traveler wanting to stay close to center. Coffee was available, but not so many cups. Stay would depend on other guests, as there's not much sound isolation, but it was quiet now.

Reviewed by
Anna S

From Tarragona, Spain
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, small room
Good service, staff ready to help you.
Accident in France delayed my arrival, room got canceled so watch out for your arrival time.
Staff found me another room tho, so they get a big plus there.
This is a hostel with good location.

Reviewed by
F Atlason

From Vopnafjordur, Iceland
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice stay
We had a great ecperience. We booked a room at casa de emilia, but the owner transfered us to another place, the house of a very nice older woman. It was very central, she was allways helpful and we had a great time!

Reviewed by
sara w

From Norway
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best for those who hardly spend any time in a hotel during their holiday
I have been to Barcelona few times so before i was booking I already knew more or less where i would like my hotel to be located. most of the hotels in that area are very expensive, this one was a bargain. Now, if location and good price are your main criteria, search no further! But if you like to be pampered a bit, if you like your room to be nice or have a nice view or at least small touch of holiday luxury i definitely cannot recommend you to book this hotel. Our room looked a bit more like a prison cell at the first glance. even though we did like it, as we were too busy outside the room and as i said, the location was perfect. The lounge, kitchen and bathrooms are again very basic, but clean and nice. All of them are common areas, no en-suites!

Reviewed by
Veronika V

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recommended at all!!
I booked to stay here for three nights with my boyfriend as part of our holiday. When i booked the room i booked a double bed room with a balcony. What we got was a room with four bunkbeds and no balcony. The bed linen wasnt clean. There was alot of grubby marks and hairs on the pillowss and on the sheets and also inside the bed. There was also a funny smell in the roon. the toilet wasnt very clean and the bathroom was falling apart. I have stayed in a few hostal but none have been as bad as this one. It was so unwelcoming we only stayed one night. I would not go back again. Unless you really dont care where you stay i would not recommend it.

Reviewed by
Briony I

From wareham, Spain
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
Fantastic ocation right in the middle of via laietana, in the centre of the old town. very basic accommodation. I suppose you get what you pay for but the plugs were falling off the walls, no one at the apartment spoke english, the lift broke twice (once at night and no one came for ages) and no indication that the hostal even exists so when we arrived we weren't sure if we'd come to the right place until we went up two fights of stairs in the dark and it looks a bit creepy! Despite this, it's safe, clean and very close to the beach, metro and a brilliant irish bar, italian restaurant, tabaco store, piano bar and co-op type shop just across the road! Oh and it's quiet after 10 which, depending on who you are, is either a great thing or an annoying thing!

Reviewed by
Evie P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but not exactly cheerful.
Very cheap and clean but security is a bit of a question. On a main road and the doors are frequently left unlocked. Main road is very noisy in the day times but the building itself is quiet. The staff aren't exactly the friendliest, though we had no cause to speak to them beyond checking in and out. Shower facilities are clean and modern but the shower head bracket was broken in both cubicles for the whole six days of our stay.

Reviewed by
Christopher M

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

En suite was not really an en-suite, it was shared with other people.

Reviewed by
J Devaney

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In centro posizione ottima, peccato che molto rumoroso
Appena arrivati non ci hanno fatto pagare con carta credito (detto che non funzionava) ma in contanti. Aria condizionata non funzionante (ma a noi questo non importava, odiando l'aria condizionata).Posizione ottima di fronte alla cattedrale di La Seu, peccato che la Via Laietana sia una via di grande passaggio di macchine e moto a tutte le ore, quindi estremamente rumoroso, la mattina impossibile dormire.

Reviewed by
Stefano R

From gorizia, Italy
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next