No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Aubrey Park Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hemel Hempstead Road , Redbourn, AL3 7AF
A quiet woodland backdrop in 9 acres of rolling English countryside sets the scene for a stay that's well and truly relaxing whether you're on business or just taking a break; and whilst our heritage stretches back to 1287, we've been brought bang up to date with fresh, contemporary interiors including our light, airy Brasserie serving great seasonal food and all-time favourites too.

What’s more as an independent hotel we’re able to be completely flexible, so whatever your hotel needs in and around St Albans and Hemel Hempstead may be, we’re at your service! Come and try us out.
Our rooms are decorated in a soothing classic contemporary style with big welcoming beds, soft duvets and fresh white linen, all designed to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Whether you fancy a simple burger, a fresh salad or one of our signature dishes such as the Whole Roasted Partridge, you'll find our light, bright Brasserie is perfect for relaxing over a long, lazy lunch, grabbing a speedy bite to eat or settling in for the evening to celebrate a special occasion with friends and family.
A friendly, laid back atmosphere - just right for getting together with friends and colleagues for a few drinks or a light meal. From fresh coffee in the morning to late cocktails and snacks before heading off to bed, we're completely flexible.

Not to be missed is Afternoon Tea at Aubrey Park. Freshly made scones and homemade cakes are just a couple of the delights on the menu at the moment, perfect for a little indulgence any day of the week whether it's in the Bar & Lounge itself or outside on the terrace.
Picture of The Aubrey Park Hotel, Redbourn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 120 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent job of refurbishment so far, keep up the good work! Surprised how large the hotel was, but that's not a bad thing. Only critism - slighly remote and a little difficult to find.

Reviewed by
Philip P

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved It
We were just looking for somewhere cheap to get away from the ratrace for an evening. This was perfect. Chose a Superior room. The welcome was friendly and efficient, the room clean and very comfortable. The bed was firm, and my only quibble, the pillows too soft. Food was very good. We really enjoyed our stay! Would recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay, business or pleasure. :)

Reviewed by
j watts

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very handy location just off the M1. Beautiful setting, excellent customer service, great food.
This is a lovely hotel and just what I needed having been on the road for 10 hours. Staff were friendly and welcoming, rooms were well appointed, very clean and comfortable. Had a very good bar meal in a relaxed setting. Breakfast was excellent with good quick service. Can't fault it!

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, not great!
The staff could not have been more helpful but on check-in make sure your get exact directions to your room. Signage is not great and it can be a very long walk back when you go wrong. Standard rooms are basic but clean and functional. Evening bar and dining room menu expensive. Breakfast can be sad if you happen to arrive after the morning rush but staff (to be fair) are happy to replenish.For light sleepers on warm evenings, ask for a room facing away from the traffic noise of the M1.

Reviewed by
Stuart T

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but perfect
Modern and recently refurbished hotel not far from the M1.Room and on-suite clean and fully fitted although the room was a little small. Lay-out of accommodation buildings on split levels and the exterior of buildings looks rather 1960`s style.

Reviewed by
M Abbey

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor service from unresponsive staff.
Breakfast was served as a buffet, which was the exact same for duration of my stay. Very dull. Waiting staff think it's ok to place cutlery that had been dropped on the floor on the dining tables. Milk left in jugs on your table was off. Inquired about ketchup was told by means of a nod of the head, 'its' over there'. No suggestion of the waiter getting it for me. Very poorly trained or supervised younger members of staff. Bar staff never behind the bar. My room was so hot, with no means of cooling it down. Bed linen was soiled from previous occupier and was reluctantly changed. Shower water pressure, non-existent. No cold water from basin to clean my teeth. Asked everyday for this to be fixed and was completely ignored.
Overall, a really expensive mistake booking a 5 night stay in this hotel. And to add insult to injury, the receptionist tried to charge me twice the quoted rate as per my booking..!
Buy a tent and stay on a round-about, somewhere near a busy main road, rather than waste your money here.

Reviewed by
G Kelly

From Muscat, Oman., Oman
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay 21/7/13
the Hotel was a lovely surprise the room was very clean and the quality of the interior and comfort of the room was very high. if i had to add a negative would be that the walk to the room was quite a distance from the reception. the breakfast was the best i have ever eaten, and i have had a few.

Reviewed by
B Barrett

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel for price

Reviewed by
e holmes

From Henlow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was perfect for what I wanted - somewhere to sleep and get breakfast. The room was good, and the breakfast huge.
My only gripe was that the taxi ordered for me (i hope) failed to arrive and I had to chase this up instead of the hotel staff.
The hotel is very close to the M1 which may disturb some people, but didn't bother me.

Reviewed by
Richard Mayne

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room. Newly refurbished and very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Irene King

From Mansfield, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next