No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Plough

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
24 Bondgate Without, , , Alnwick, NE66 1PN
The Plough is an exclusive boutique hotel & restaurant located in the heart of the Northumbrian market town of Alnwick. Alnwick is home to Alnwick Castle, made famous by the Harry Potter movies, it is just a short walk from The Plough. The delightful Alnwick Gardens are also nearby. Alnwick is an ideal base for exploring Northumberland. Lindisfarne is nearby, as is the seaside at Alnmouth. Slightly further afield is the marked town of Berwick upon Tweed. Furnished and decorated in a contemporary style with an eye for detail, we strive to make the ambience as special as our food. The food served in the restaurant is of the highest quality and ensures a dining experience to be savoured. The accommodation enjoys individually designed rooms, each one appointed to the very highest of standards make The Plough Alnwick the ideal place to unwind after a fine meal or as a luxurious base from which to explore this dramatic part of the world.
Picture of The Plough, Alnwick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely Brilliant
Credit where credits due, one word,....just brilliant! : staff very polite, room, excellent. Overall for a small hotel, top notch.

Reviewed by
T Johnson

From Lydney, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Plough - Brilliant!
Stayed here with husband and young son for one night. The place is really great and I would definitely stay again. Room was lovely, spacious, well appointed and great bathroom. A nice touch was the heart-shaped slate with a chalked welcome message on it and some freshly baked chocolate cookies. Had dinner in the bistro and thought the meal was superb. Bar and bistro had a lovely ambience with loads of candles in storm lanterns. Drinks were good including tasty prosecco on tap. Full English next morning was cooked to order and there were lots of choices eg full English, eggs benedict, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon plus other versions of breakfast. I cannot fault this place at all and staff were so friendly and attentive.

Reviewed by
Alison J

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Plough, Alnwick
Last minute booking very central for castle and gardens. Lovely room, nice touch with warm cookies on arrival. Staff very approachable and helpful. Breakfast was spot on excellent.

Reviewed by
D Greenhill

From Dalkeith, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overprice accommodation
The room we were put in was far below par for the price. We were unable to get any ventilation through the room they put us in because, a: the windows were sealed shut, b: the bathroom ventilation fan was not working. The hotel had no staff on call to make good these issues therefore we had to put up with the stale air and the smells from the bathroom.

Reviewed by
M O'Hara

From Selby, England
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed
Disappointed in the food and service. This is a town centre pub glossed up

Reviewed by
Robert B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay
I was very impressed with the service I received, from the time I checked in to the time I checked out. The room was very clean and the en suite facilities were perfect. The food in the bistro was very good with generous portions. The staff were very friendly and courteous. All in all one of the best little hotels I have stayed in.

Reviewed by
C Bull

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel shame about the bedroom.
Nicely furnished hotel with nice dining room and a good English breakfast.
Bedroom whilst nicely furnished was extremely small with no facility for storing clothes. Room for only a single chair in a double room. Bedroom had no window with only a small velux window located on the sloping roof about 7ft high. Hence no view of surrounding area only the sky. Window could not be fully opened hence room was a little dark and was very warm - we stayed mid summer.
Would stay again but only if we had a bigger room.

Reviewed by
A Gosling

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good example of a small hotel
Staff very friendly and helpful. A nice buffet continental breakfast, also choice full English or Craster kippers freshly cooked. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening so cannot comment on the restaurant meals.

Reviewed by
Catherine R

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and staff, comfy bed, good shower and good choice of veggie food not your usual frozen lasagne! Good value for money, will stay again.

Reviewed by
amanda b

From Bonnybridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be back
Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Room was spacious comfy and warm. Breakfast was perfect.

Reviewed by
R Black

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next