Reviews - Chelmsford Place Guest House


85 Fulford Road, ,, York, YO10 4BD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (28)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • K Nash

  • August 2015

A home from home in York

This was a lovely place to stay for my short break in York.

Very conveniently located - a riverside stroll into the city centre took around 20 minutes. Breakfast was excellent, with high quality food served. A friendly welcome from the hosts and a nicely presented room.

  • P Quinn

  • July 2015

2 night stay

The Chelmsford Guest House is lovely, clean and only a 10 minute walk into town.

It's a traditional guest house and a family run business. Both Janice and Steve are very helpful and are willing to offer advice. The breakfast sets you up for the day with an excellent choice of menu.

  • N Campion

  • July 2015

Chelmsford Place Guest House

We had a great stay, Janine was very friendly, helpful and looked after us .

The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of space for hanging clothes. A good hearty breakfast was provided as well

as free parking. Great location, only 10 min walk into the city. We would definitely stay here again.

  • ian thompson

  • April 2015

absolutely fantastic service. extremely friendly

  • Janet M

  • February 2015

Chelmsford Place Guest House

lovely accommodation, will visit again.

  • M McConnell

  • December 2014

A warm welcome and lovely place to stay

Easy to find on the No 7 bus, or by car, or even a 25 minute walk from the train station.

A warm welcome awaited us and we we given great directions on how to make the most of our day by the hosts. Really handy for the city centre. Several restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast is highly recommended. The room has everything and we slept well. A lovely place to base yourself in York and lovely people there to look after you.

  • Susan Collett

  • December 2014

Weekend Break

Had a lovely welcome off Janine and Steve.

Nice clean cosy room with everything we needed including en suite. Beautiful cooked breakfast with plenty of toast, tea and coffee and cereals, fruit and yoghurt were available too. Good location just 10 minute walk from the centre and we always took the walk along the river route to all the shops and attractions. Parking available on the street with a parking permit which you are given on arrival. Good value for money and if I were to come back to York again would not hesitate in staying here again. Susan and Chris Collett.


  • November 2014


We enjoyed a lovely break staying in this very friendly family run bed and breakfast.

Our room was a very cosy clean attic bedroom with plenty tea and coffee making facilities. The cooked breakfast in the morning didn't disappoint either. York centre is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • john hanlon

  • October 2014

very homely hotel

good food clean rooms nice owers very polite

  • Andrew Mazur

  • October 2014

Lovely guest house

A clean comfortable guest house, close to the centre of York.

Scrumptious breakfast. We would stop there again on a return visit.