No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kensington Studios

3Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
83, Holland Road , London, W148HL
We are a small independent hotel in classical Victorian Kensington, opened in September 2012 , we take pride in our comfortable, affordable and modern accommodation. Whatever the purpose of your visit, you will find the easy access to central London, the beautiful Holland park, the shopping and leisure experience at Westfield's and the bustling, cosmopolitan High Street Kensington on your doorstep. The Kensington Studios offers 19 rooms, from lower ground to third floor, accessible by elevator. Each studio comprises en suite facilities, a kitchenette for self catering and a daily Maid Service. The modern premises provide underfloor heating and dual air conditioning to ensure your comfort. We can accommodate all room requirements from single to twin, triple, double and family room. We hope you enjoy your stay!

The reception is available every day from 10am and 6pm. Check-in is from 2pm and if a guest arrives after 6pm they can check-in at our sister premises just around the corner at 9 Russell Road W14 8JA which has a 24 hour receptionist. The latest check out is 12 midday.
Picture of The Kensington Studios, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place
Wanted somewhere affordable but decent to stay over the weekend while I was up in Manchester. The accommodation met all my expectations of it being a great place to stay. Location wise its only a few minutes away from the nearest overground stop. The room itself is somewhat of a self-contained flat but all in one room. The room I stayed in had a built in kitchen-esq wardrobe which was nice. All in all a decent place to stay over the weekend.

Reviewed by
B Mach

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Positive despite initial issues
My wife and I had a really enjoyable stay at the Kensington Studios and found it to be a great base to explore west London from.
Our initial room was on the ground floor at the front of the building as was very noisy; very hot and also had an issue with blocked drains. Staff were very quick to assist and offered us a choice of 2 other rooms which were far more suitable.
The accomodation was immaculately clean and certainly represented good value for money. I would recommend Kensington studios but not room GO1!

Reviewed by
Dan Harris

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Review
Our short stay at the Kensington Studios was very enjoyable, Room was modern and very clean, Traffic noise not a problem , was surprised how quiet it was, Had all the things you need if you wanted to self cater, Good location too,

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Wymondham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality room
The room was nice, I would definitely stay here again. The fan in the bathroom was broken when we arrived but they fixed it straight away. Good location. It would have been nice to have a small table and maybe an extra chair in the room as you get kitchen facilities but not really anwhere to eat!

Reviewed by
Katie O

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room comfortable, clean. Staff were very good, friendly and helpful.
Minor repairs were needed to bathroom area. Shower was difficult to get from hot to warm water.
Kitchen was short of cutlery.
Room was ground level but road very noisy with busy traffic - could do with soundproof window.

Reviewed by
M L F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for females travelling alone
When I arrived I was told I had been given a room on the lower ground floor, a complete no-no for women travelling alone, I was then allocated a higher floor room but was told that lift wasn't working and I had heavy bags. The important thing to note is that there are no staff on site after 6pm so this is effectively a house of studio's. The main door is locked so if you have problems you have to call a number as the staff are based elsewhere. On the morning of check-out, I tried to call to get a hand down with my bags - but the phone in the room didn;t work - a further security risk. On walking down to reception there was nobody there (they don't arrive until 10pm) so i had to drag my bag down two flights of stairs, I couldn't check out etc etc. On top of that the hairdryer burned my head (the heat setting was broken) and the room smelled of drains - definitely won't ever stay there again.

Reviewed by
C Pearson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for the olympia, did not dissapoint!
Went to comic con at the olympia, which is literally 2 mins and 2 streets over, so ideal location. Hotel was in a nice area, easy to find. The hotel itself was lovely, the room was excellent, comfy beds, small kitchen utility (since eating out costs a kidney in london) and the shower was brilliant. The comments about street noise are moot. Theres 2 layers of windows so the only time you'd hear anything is if you left both open all night, which you dont need to ad theres air conditioning in the room which kept the whole place at a perfect temperature. The maid even makes swans and flowers out of your towels ( just like the pics. I would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
D Simpson

From Wales, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than a premier inn,more than we expected and value for money for the location.
It was a great room whilst staying over for a conference. Room was a good size for 3 adults, comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. Only thing that was annoying the light outside the entrance door kept flashing through the blind all night, would be good if it was a controlled light or if they had a black out blind. It wasn't clear until we arrived at the studios that we had to check in at a sister hotel as we had missed the reception time at the studios.

Reviewed by
Sam H

From London, England
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for business stay
It was hard to find as there is no sign outside, but once in, the room was good. Not a very large room but good value for money to get your head down.

Reviewed by
C Perry

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth a stay.
Good establishment, clean, tidy and easy to find.

Reviewed by
S Watts

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next