No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clarence Hotel

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
9, Clarence Road , Windsor, SL4 5AE
Characterful and recently renovated Hotel guest house located in Windsor town centre , within a few minutes walk of restaurants, shops, Windsor Castle, River Thames, Windsor Theatre and Eton College.

The Hotel has a Licensed Bar, large screen cable TV and Steam-Sauna . Free guest internet facility & Wi-Fi. All rooms en-suite and with tv, beverage facilities, hairdryer & radio alarm. Conveniently situated for Heathrow Airport, Legoland, Thorpe Park & direct trains to London.
Picture of Clarence Hotel, Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 250 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Windsor weekend
We spent three nights at the Clarence Hotel. The welcome we received was splendid and we felt like royalty in the Albert Suite! The staff were very friendly and approachable and even supplied a breakfast on the Sunday pre normal opening time as I was singing at St. George's Chapel and needed to be away up to the castle by 8.15. The bed was very very comfortable and the room was at exactly the correct temperature. There was a plentiful supply of tea/coffee/milk and cream. Sometimes in hotels these are very limited but here there was a generous amount. My only negative was that the bathroom supplies were in Polish!! My wife could not decide which was the bath gel and which was the shampoo! However, this in no way spoilt our stay and we will certainly be back to the Clarence and will recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
K Noakes

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired but clean and comfortable
On our first night we had rain coming through the bathroom ceiling. I went down to reception and told them. I was then given a key to another room and told to change rooms. No offer of help at all.

Reviewed by
Kenneth W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best value in Windsor.
Could not fault my stay at the Clarence. Did exactly what it said on the tin! With a few neat extras!

Reviewed by
Darren L

From Watford , UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value for Money
Although our room was small it had everything in it and was stylish and beautifully warm (it was minus one degrees outside). The receptionist was welcoming and efficient. The breakfast and service were exemplary. The close proximity to town was ideal and yet the hotel is in a quiet area. Perfect.

Reviewed by
Christina Hood

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
Idealy located for visits to Windsor castle and town centre. Castle is approx 5--10 minutes walk.
Room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast very good, staff friendly and polite. Property also has a small T.V room with a small bar within.
As previous reviews the only issue with this hotel is the parking which does only have enough space for 4 cars (2 of which are blocked in by the last 2 cars parked). We were lucky enough to get one of the 1st spaces that was blocked in by another vehicle but was not an issue as we did not need to use the car again until the day we left. There is a couple of multi storey car parks not too far from the hotel.
If we were to go to Windsor again we would have no problem with using this hotel again.

Reviewed by
S O'BRIEN

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming & good value
Made to feel very welcome, great location for sightseeing.
my room was clean & quiet, and great value for money.

Reviewed by
david p

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
The hotel was in a very convenient location., just a ten minute walk to the Theatre Royal which was
the purpose of our visit. The receptionist was very friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast was very good and served by a very nice lady. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. There was only parking places for about four cars but there were two car parks within reasonable walking distance of the hotel.

Reviewed by
B Onion

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clarence Hotel
A bit 70s but good value and on the doorstep of the town. Close to motorway. Stave very helpful with a smile.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Years eve
Hotel was a bit of a homage to the 80's!
But the layout of room was very suitable to our needs.
We found it to be quite chilly through the night radiators weren't that warm except in the bathroom?
Although it was stated limited parking in itinery 4 spaces for the whole hotel is a bit of an understatement!
We missed breakfast as there were no exceptions for it being New Years day!! Breakfast finished at 9.30am! Not really viable given the countries celebrations the night before!!!!
Even 10am would have given us a bit more of a chance!

Reviewed by
J Worboys

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly greeting, nice warm clean room, good food, parking nearby, very close to centre windsor
A very friendly greeting from the receptionist. I thought the room was very nicely decorated and lovely and warm. Bed was good. Nice pillows. We walked to the Harte and Garter for a New Years Eve party which was just at the top of Peascod Street and walked back at about two in the morning. The hotel gave us our own front door key. The hotel was very quiet. I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
L Stevens

From West Drayton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next