No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clarence Hotel

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
9, Clarence Road , Windsor, SL4 5AE
Characterful and recently renovated Hotel guest house located in Windsor town centre , within a few minutes walk of restaurants, shops, Windsor Castle, River Thames, Windsor Theatre and Eton College.

The Hotel has a Licensed Bar, large screen cable TV and Steam-Sauna . Free guest internet facility & Wi-Fi. All rooms en-suite and with tv, beverage facilities, hairdryer & radio alarm. Conveniently situated for Heathrow Airport, Legoland, Thorpe Park & direct trains to London.
Picture of Clarence Hotel, Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 235 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great single room and location
Single room are usually cramped and second rate, this one was first class, and very clean. Staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
G Edwards

From Windermere, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clarence Hotel Windsor
Excellent location in Windsor. Very friendly and helpful receptionist on arrival. The room and the breakfast were average.

Reviewed by
Tomas S

From Bergen, Norway
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, good location
For the affordable rates, I thought the room was excellent. Clean, two TVs, spacious enough for our needs.
Location was quite good. It was a short walk from restaurants, and about 7, 8 mins to the train station and Windsor Castle.
We booked a larger room for three, because we have two young children (2 & 4), but did not inform the hotel. We've done that in many countries, and not being familiar with hotels in the UK, assume to we could do that. After we checked in, the lady in charge explained the local fire regulations to us and also how to book hotel rooms for our family in the future.

Reviewed by
Steffen Toh

From Singapore, Singapore
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clarence Hotel, Windsor. 1 night stay on 3rd October 2014
Pros - Staff very friendly, Public areas well maintained, Bar prices seemed reasonable, Quiet and comfortable Hotel, well appointed room. VFM considering central location in Windsor.
Cons - Limited parking (Parked at multistorey carpark down the road - £1.50 for an overnight stay), Room was 'tired' - could do with redecoration and new soft furnishings. Room was also very hot (no heating was switched on) with very little ventilation.
Highlight - Proper cooked breakfast. An absolute pleasure to have a full english cooked to order, rather than selecting items that have dried out after being kept warm on a hot plate for hours on end. Great coffee too.
Low point - Could have done without the false fire alarm at 2am.

Reviewed by
Julian S

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointing
Having booked a hotel within commutable distance for an early meeting in the west end of London the following day, I have to say I was generally underwhelmed by the experience.
It was not all bad, the welcome was nice as the lady was friendly and helpful but the room that I stayed in felt tired in its appearance. Parking was impossible with the option of "off street parking" offered down one of the streets. "Just drive around until you find a space". So I opted to put it in the nearby multi story, £20 for the pleasure. When I got to my room the TV didn't work correctly (didn't tune in!). As they insist on you settling your bill before you see your room, then it left little area for recourse by them as I mentioned that the TV didn't work. I did have work to do, so it wasn't the be all and end all, but still it was a facility that wasn't available.
I travel the length and breadth of the country and for the money, and considering its price and location this was the most disappointing hotel I have stayed in for some time.

Reviewed by
Richard E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom shower holder was broken so we couldn't keep the holder properly.

Reviewed by
Eun Jung Kim

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpricing
We stayed in the small double room (7). At the minimum it's worth £40 and maximum £60. We paid £59 Sunday night and £92 Monday. Even with its prime location and seasonal adjustment we thought that the value for money rating was far too optimistic. It's a shame because everything else was superb. The hostess Pauline and the rest of the staff were most charming. The owner who we met was very accommodating. We would not stay there again due to the current rates but would nevertheless recommend it to friends.

Reviewed by
R Raymond

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel in an ideal lcation.
A nice well run hotel in a ideal loaction. The staff were really helpfull,friendly and polite.I would recommend this hotel for a stay.

Reviewed by
Andrew Fox

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming hotel in the centre of Windsor
Such an amazing little hotel right in the centre of Windsor. My fiancée and I stayed here for a couple of nights and had a really pleasant stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the room was clean and cosy, and the English breakfast in the morning was superb. If you want somewhere small and homely which is literally 5 mins walk from the castle - I would definitely recommend the Clarence Hotel. Only slight issue we had was the limited parking - but the staff were very eager to help. All in all, a fantastic stay!

Reviewed by
Michael T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom left alot to be desired
Staff were excellent but the room was poor, it smelled of damp after we mentioned it the lady at reception just opened a window and sprayed air freshener around while we were out and said it should be OK now!..the Shower unit was extremely basic and the water in the wash basin took forever to go down. Wouldn't use the hotel again

Reviewed by
J Bentley

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next