You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Ball Alley



Price From 72.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (42)

95% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Randal F

  • October 2016

Friendly, clean but beware the weekend band

Room and staff were lovely, but as soon as we went to sleep a band struck up in the room below and ft he next three hours was torture.

We came to take our daughter to uni and thought this would be a good value B and B. My fault I guess that such places might have loud live music. Otherwise it was a very nice place!

Response from hotel

As we are a public house as well as a B and B we do provide entertainment weekly on a Saturday night . This is two forty five minute sets starting at 9pm and ending no later than 11.15 pm to show consideration to our overnight guests .This entertainment is usually a solo artist , never a band . It is unfortunate and disappointing to us that the music disturbed these guests but it is a case of finding a happy medium for everyone as lots of guests staying with us require entertainment .

  • I Gillies

  • September 2016

adequate accommodation

no comments

  • Malcolm Walton

  • September 2016

Lovely people

Our stay was very good and the staff/owner could not do enough or be any more pleasant Well worth the money paid

  • Heather Rigby

  • September 2016

Lovely experience staying at The Ball Alley, co. Durham

My partner and I had a really enjoyable 2 night stay at The Ball Alley.

We wanted to be near to Beamish Museum, which we visited over 2 days which turned our to be a truly wonderful experience. The Ball Alley was very near to Beamish making it an ideal venue in which to stay. The service, food & accommodation were excellent. We stayed in a double en-suite room, which was tastefully decorated & very clean. We were even offered the use of a kitchen, with fridge, cooker, washing machine, iron etc. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice & the service was very friendly. Would thoroughly recommend The Ball Alley to anyone, especially if they are interested in visiting Beamish Museum.

  • Martin Shaw

  • August 2016


Bit nervous about the room being above a pub but wow what a surprise friendly welcome.

The room was spotlessly clean brilliant nights sleep and breakfast was superb.

  • K Mcgrory

  • August 2016


Handy for tourist attractions,very nice hosts,nothing too much trouble.


  • August 2016


Very enjoyable stay, nothing was too much trouble.My room was excellent as was the breakfast.Highly recommended thank you.

  • K Knight

  • August 2016

Wonderful friendly place to stay

All the staff and owners were welcoming and friendly.

Making us feel very comfortable and looked after us well. We would definitely stay again!

  • Gary T

  • July 2016

The Ball Alley

I always stay with my wife we like it all the staff are fantastic the place is clean it could be spotless as I don't go round looking for dust like the Program four in a bed.

If I did it would win. Thank you for a great stay we will be back.

  • Janet Palmer

  • July 2016

lovely place to stay

Staff could not of been more helpful.

Very friendly and polite. Room was a really good size and very comfortable. We slept really well. Breakfast was awesome and the sausgae was the best Id had in ages. I wouldnt look for anywhere else to stay when Im back in the area.