Reviews - The Ball Alley



Price From 95.12 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (57)

96% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Denis King

  • October 2015

Very friendly and accomodating place and helpful staff.

Have already booked another 5 days in Nov

  • Agnesa A

  • October 2015


The lady in reception was super.

She gave us a lots tips where better to go and what better to do. The room looked awesome. Thank you for support of South African rugby and for the good time Lindsay.

We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Sylvia Halliday

  • September 2015

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Ball Alley, service and cleanliness was excellent.

Local customers very friendly and informative.

  • Phillip H

  • September 2015

Great Stay

The Ball Alley is a traditional pub at the bottom of a bank leading to the town of Stanley, it was easy to find and we had a warm greeting from the barman, even though the pub was quite busy he showed us straight to our room which was en suite.

In the room was a wall mounted tv. and a well stocked hospitality tray. The bathroom was large and well decorated and lots of soft towels available for the walk in shower unit. We had a few drinks in the evening and we were made most welcome by the owner and locals alike, and enjoyed a very hearty and tasty breakfast in the morning. A very enjoyable overnight stay.

  • Neil H

  • September 2015

Check what entertainment is downstairs before you book.

It's only a small gripe but the night that we stayed (Saturday) they had live music in the bar which just happened to be below our room.

This went on until about 11pm when there was an earthly hush came over our room and all we could hear was the patrons leaving through the front door. All was quiet by about 11.30pm and we could go to sleep. However, during the previous 2-3 hours the music had steadily increased in volume until we could feel it through the floor, couldn't hear the TV, read a book or surf the net as we found it hard to hear each other and to even think. However, apart from this, I was quite impressed by the accommodation which was bright, clean and very fresh. The in-room facilities were excellent and plenty of other things (tea, coffee, milk, sugar, etc) were available on the main landing, which also included a great supply of magazines. Also available was a fully fitted kitchen which included washing facilities (something we could have done with two days earlier) and an additional bathroom - these were all located in the communal area off the main landing. The breakfast couldn't be faulted. All in all we experienced a typical North East welcome and really good facilities which were all very much above standard. However, don't forget to ask if they have live music on the night of your stay as it makes getting an early night out of the question.

  • Trudy-Ann B

  • September 2015

Friendly pub...

Cosy pub...

Off putting stinking pub toilets u have to pass to get upstairs to rooms... Also these toilets are on same level as breakfast room... Good selection at breakfast although dusty grubby un hoovered carpets very off putting whilst eating... Fried breakfast was coated in oil that overpowered taste of food... Rooms fairly newly decorated n shared bathroom also newly decorated pity downstairs lower landing n breakfast room same standard... Plenty spare pillows n clean towels available but feather duvet not to everyone's taste n the double mattress was way too soft (like a water bed) not a very good nites sleep as can't get comfortable... We stayed Saturday night n wanted to get up 9am on the Sunday mornin but as weather was hot had window open for air n we were woken by ppl talking directly under around 7am preparing a hog roast wen they have plenty land to rear of the pub they could have used also the smoke filled our room... Nothing really much to do in that area cpl local pubs but ok place for cheap 1 night stop over...

  • michael kelliher

  • August 2015

Home from Home

The warmth of welcome on arrival, very clean room and ample supply of tea, coffee etc.

Landlord came and joined our company recommended some where to eat. Linsay ensured that our breakfast experince was 1class ,fully english breakfast etc in very comfortable surroundings. Will return.

  • Jean Rankin

  • July 2015

Staff were lovely would highly recommend and it was lovely and clean top notch breakfast.

Would definitely stay again

  • David W Dewhirst

  • June 2015

Bowled Over

Very friendly landlord, staff and locals.

Room excellent. Full English breakfast fulfiling. Does not do food at other times, but landlord pointed us to a nearby pub which does an excellent day all day carvery.

  • a thorpe

  • June 2015

The Ball Alley

We booked in for 2 nights B&B.

The accommedation was excellent would stay again. No problem.