No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Union Inn

Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
17 Crimp Hill, , , Old Windsor, SL4 2QY
The Union Inn is situated on the borders of Berkshire and Surrey, with magnificent views over the open countryside, and close to the centre of Windsor.Guests can enjoy luxurious comfort in our exquisite rooms whilst dining in our modern British restaurant. Join us in out Oak beamed bar to relax and soak up the atmosphere of an authentic traditional English country inn, with friendly service and a selection of real ales including London Pride, TEA, Guardsman or King John from many of the independent brewers we use. We also have a wide slection of beers, soft drinks and a fine selection of wines. If you are joining us for a meal you won't be dissapointed when dinning in the Copperpot Restaurant.Named in honour of the antique copper cooking pots that adorn the ceiling of the newly refurbished dining room, our restaurant offers hearty home cooked breakfasts to our hotel guests, delicious lunch and dinner menus and a tempting range of bar snacks. With tranquil views overlooking the local farm, it's the perfect setting to enjoy our classic and modern dishes, including the freshest seafood and succulent steaks. All of our ingredients are carefully selected wherever possible from local suppliers, and in most cases our fresh foods offer full traceability. After a sumptuous meal or maybe a few glasses of wine it's time to head for bed. All of our rooms, including three singles and nine doubles, have been recently refurbished to the highest standards and look out onto quiet rural farmland for a relaxing night's sleep. Each room includes a luxury ensuite bathroom, featuring a shower or combined bath/shower. Modern chrome fittings and waterfall shower heads combine with neutral colour schemes for a stylish result. Fluffy white towels and heavenly Arran Aromatics toiletries are provided for some well-deserved pampering.
Picture of The Union Inn, Old Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Nice country pub and inn, friendly and helpful staff. Upgraded my room from a single to double free of charge for know reason at all, simply out of kindness. Booked in for one night but ended up staying for two as I really enjoyed the hospitality and atmosphere. Worth a visit!

Reviewed by
Katie M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money accommodation in Old Windsor
The accommodation is above an inn that has music on Friday nights, so OK if you're out too (I was). Good parking. Huge English breakfast, well cooked. Single room small but adequate with plugs in right places, desk space and wardrobe. Refurbished shower room. Downsides are stained shabby carpet on stairs and corridors that gives poor first impression, wooden blinds that stuck and (quite new) shower door fell off rails on last day.Had to request a hairdryer but it was not delivered in time for early start (ask a woman!). Staff friendly.

Reviewed by
Sylvia H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little B&B
A slight mix-up when I arrived meant that I was in the single room rather than the double, but the room was clean & the bed was comfy so I wasn't that bothered really. Bathroom was small but again, clean. Service from all members of staff was excellent. Very attentive. The manager/landlord is very friendly, down to earth & has a good sense of humour.
The food here is excellent. The breakfast was delicious (especially the sausages) & the evening meals were to a very high standard - certainly exceeded my expectations of a B&B.
I've stayed at other larger hotels/chains in & around Windsor, but The Union Inn has definitely changed my mind about what I look for in an overnight stay. Will definitely book again.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't judge a book by its cover ?
We wanted a place to stay nearby to where we were attending a wedding, it worked as a value for money place when searching. My wife and I were a little hesitant when we arrived , however the bedrooms were clean and fresh and up to date , the corridor needs a little touching up as well as the carpets! But the room was more than ideal for us ..
The breakfast in the morning was perfect after a late night ... Only thing it lacked was some milk for the tea/ coffee in the rooms .. The staff try hard and are more than helpful , the owner / landlord could try to cheer up a little.. A "morning" or ' hello' wouldn't hurt..
Otherwise , couldn't really fault ..

Reviewed by
James W

From Northwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Low light
Poor welcome on arrival. Only 1 light working in a dark bathroom. 1 bedside light-bulb missing completely and with 2 nights stay this was not addressed. Asked twice regarding this issue.

Reviewed by
Mark H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chill out at The Union
very pleasant stay at the Union Inn- good food, good company, well looked after- great spot & good weather!

Reviewed by
Valerie Bond

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find will be back!
After looking round for a local hotel whilst attending a wedding,we came across The union inn on late rooms at a very reasonable rate,we were more than pleased with the stay lovely rooms wifi nice view overlooking farmland and a tasty well cooked full English breakfast,they also had a good selection of cereals ect,
Only downside was we never got to eat in the restaurant as lunch finished at 2 just after we arrived which is a shame because they have a lovely menu which by all accounts is very good.
So in a nutshell a great find and we will be back sometime soon for dinner!

Reviewed by
Michael P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite what it said on the tin.....
I read some very favourable reviews before booking but there were 3 things wrong for me . Small thing first...no Arran aromatics in Room 8...next....there was half a toilet seat in room 8 (I have a photo for posterity) and last, most annoying by far...when I went to use it in the morning ....the shower didn't work. I'm never over critical about places I stay and people did write some good things about the Union....so please be consistent with all your rooms....it's important to get the basics right.

Reviewed by
Stephen D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Windsor Castle
We booked this hotel to allow us to visit Windsor Castle and great park without the hustle and bustle of staying in central Windsor.It is a very friendly place with excellent food a good selection of beers.
There is ample car parking.
My only drawback was that the person next door Snored very loudly!
You do get a bit of noise from aeroplanes due to the proximity of Heathrow,but if you keep windows closed should be alright. Enjoy.

Reviewed by
t ellison

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay!!
The Union Inn is a lovely bed and breakfast to stay in. The staff were very cheerful and helpful, especially Jamie. The breakfasts were outstanding and we had 1 evening meal which was delicious. The room was very comfortable and we had good night's sleep. One thing that was missing in the room was a good mirror to see yourself when drying your hair but this didn't detract from our stay. We will definitely be staying here again.

Reviewed by
M Armstrong

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next