No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Union Inn

Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
17 Crimp Hill, , , Old Windsor, SL4 2QY
The Union Inn is situated on the borders of Berkshire and Surrey, with magnificent views over the open countryside, and close to the centre of Windsor.Guests can enjoy luxurious comfort in our exquisite rooms whilst dining in our modern British restaurant. Join us in out Oak beamed bar to relax and soak up the atmosphere of an authentic traditional English country inn, with friendly service and a selection of real ales including London Pride, TEA, Guardsman or King John from many of the independent brewers we use. We also have a wide slection of beers, soft drinks and a fine selection of wines. If you are joining us for a meal you won't be dissapointed when dinning in the Copperpot Restaurant.Named in honour of the antique copper cooking pots that adorn the ceiling of the newly refurbished dining room, our restaurant offers hearty home cooked breakfasts to our hotel guests, delicious lunch and dinner menus and a tempting range of bar snacks. With tranquil views overlooking the local farm, it's the perfect setting to enjoy our classic and modern dishes, including the freshest seafood and succulent steaks. All of our ingredients are carefully selected wherever possible from local suppliers, and in most cases our fresh foods offer full traceability. After a sumptuous meal or maybe a few glasses of wine it's time to head for bed. All of our rooms, including three singles and nine doubles, have been recently refurbished to the highest standards and look out onto quiet rural farmland for a relaxing night's sleep. Each room includes a luxury ensuite bathroom, featuring a shower or combined bath/shower. Modern chrome fittings and waterfall shower heads combine with neutral colour schemes for a stylish result. Fluffy white towels and heavenly Arran Aromatics toiletries are provided for some well-deserved pampering.
Picture of The Union Inn, Old Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well recommend
Room was lovely and the food was amaising would defiantly go back and strongly recommend the Union B&B. Very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Valerie F

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Union Inn
Excellent pub with rooms. Can't be faulted for the price

Reviewed by
Henry C

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disaster
Really nice staff which I'm afraid is the end of the good news. Various extractor fans ground through the night so no sleep the night before an important meeting The bath controls were a challenge and the plug open/close device was jammed. Extractor fan was filth - years of dirt.
Owner was helpful in the morning but too late by then

Reviewed by
G Dunn

From Matlock, England
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit disappointed with the appearance on arrival, not like the photos. Bedroom basic and needs attention. One bedside lamp broken, the other had no bulb in it. Little bit of damp and mould in the bathroom. However, lovely fluffy towels and toiletries provided. Chose to stay there for the real ales, but only one available on the day. Drink arrived in a dirty glass and when changed was the same, however, the owner dealt with this immediately by removing all the glasses off the shelf for washing so all good. The bar staff were lovely and very friendly. Dining room was fine and the evening meal was excellent. Beautifully cooked and presented. Full cooked breakfast the next morning was freshly cooked and again was excellent, served by the owners who were very attentive and friendly. Could not fault the staff or the food at all, just a few tweaks would make this a great place to stop.

Reviewed by
V Long

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay.
The union inn is a great place to stay, friendly homely and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast set us up for the day lovely, Thanks for a plesent stay.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth R

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short but sweet
Booked very last minute before our trip, and arrived very late to book in. Was met by a smiling, helpful gentleman who immediately gave us our key.
Not a huge room but nicely appointed and OMG what a fabulous bed to sleep in. The night before neither of us slept well because the beds were very very soft, but the bed here was just so comfortable.
Superb power shower in the bathroom (but I did have to ask a teenager how to turn it on!), and quite obviously recently updated. Minute irritation that the very new sink was too shallow to allow the kettle underneath to fill easily, and the plug had no mechanism to raise it (to empty the water) except pull it out with the fingers.
Breakfast was a huge plateful of well cooked bacon & eggs, with sausage, tomatoes, beans, hash brown and half a huge flat mushroom. Tea/coffee & toast. There was also croissants or cereal available if preferred.
Because we were so late we couldn't try the restaurant menu, but I suspect it would have been excellent.

Reviewed by
Julia Birchall-Mann

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room very clean and breakfast was freshly cooked and very hearty

Reviewed by
ellen b

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Extremely happy stay at the hotel , everything was clean tidy and well run, felt very welcome and will definitely stay again,

Reviewed by
N Hewitt

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic little gem of a place!
The Union Inn is truly a little gem, close enough to Windsor for day trip but located off the beaten track (by Elton johns house.....) so you get a good nights sleep. We were amazed by the friendliness of the staff and the service was fantastic. We missed breakfast by 20 minutes but they still accommodated us as best as they could with sausage sandwiches and mountains of toast! The room (no 2) was small and cosy but we were two girls so suited us....though stairs a little creaky! The food was super both in the evening and breakfast and we will go on recommending this place to others as we loved it.

Reviewed by
Amy C

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!
A lovely accommodation, with brilliant food! Staff are friendly and accommodating. Will definitely be going back to stay there again. Fantastic!

Reviewed by
C Golley

From Hounslow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next