No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sygun Fawr Country House

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Sygun Fawr Country House, Beddgelert, , Beddgelert, LL55 4NE
A warm welcome and spectacular scenery awaits you at this former Welsh manor house dating back from 1644. Sygun Fawr is located in the heart of North Wales' beautiful Snowdonia National Park, just a short walk away from the picturesque village of Beddgelert. Set within 22 acres of mountainside and gardens, peace and tranquillity are assured at this ultimate mountain retreat offering an idyllic setting for exploring the magnificent natural beauty and the dramatic scenery of North Wales' coasts and mountains. Located in an unrivalled position our style is relaxed, friendly and informal and is the ideal base for walking, mountain biking, relaxing or touring the nearby castles and historical sites. There is something to suit all tastes in this beautiful part of Wales. Nestled into the hillside and built of solid stone, Sygun Fawr has exposed walls, oak beams and inglenooks, which all add to the traditional character, ambience and atmosphere of this unique country house. We offer bed and breakfast with the option of dinner and have a residential licence. We aim to make your visit as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Sygun Fawr has a home from home atmosphere and we are sure that you will enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to meeting you.
Picture of Sygun Fawr Country House, Beddgelert at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really pleasant surprise - not at all the usual B&B I had expected.
The de luxe king size bedroom and en suite was well worth the extra cost.
Very good to have an evening dining room at what we assumed was the usual B&B - it was an excellent meal, and we really appreciated not having to drive out after a hard day's walking!
The setting of the hotel was extremely attractive, and having breakfast on a terrace looking at Snowdonia's mountains made it for us.
Definitely highly recommended.

Reviewed by
A Forman

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent place to escape to and relax in, with Snowdonia scenery
The house is a lovely old farmhouse which has been tastefully upgraded as a hotel. The welcome was very warm and the staff attentive at all times. With two dining areas, two lounges and a separate television room, there were choices to eat and to sit and relax. Great views from the garden and the conservatory dining area, even when it's raining! Comfortable bedroom with ensuite.

Reviewed by
JANE S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rest and relaxation
A wonderfully secluded and quiet location, with a view of Mount Snowdon. The service was excellent - incredibly obliging and friendly and the food delicious and abundant.

Reviewed by
Catherine D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderfully peaceful break
This is a lovely place to stay if you want peace and quiet, great views and wonderful hospitality. We stayed 4 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Ruth gave us a warm welcome on arrival and provided lots of useful information and all the staff (particularly Petra) were very helpful and friendly. The food was lovely (and plentiful) and the views just magical. The pretty village, with restuarants, shops and pubs is just a 10/15 walk away and you can also catch the bus or the Welsh Highland Railway from the station in the village. There are also lots of walks to be had in the local area, and it was nice not to have to drive to get around. Definately the place to go if you want to get away from it all! Don't be put off by others' comments about access to the hotel being tricky...its not too difficult and well worth the effort!

Reviewed by
Karen B

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best B&B in Wales
Beautiful location, nice hotel, friendly staff, very good
Food. What else could you want?
Will definitely come back.

Reviewed by
Tomasz M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break to walk Snowdon
Hotel was a short walk to Beddgelert, very welcoming staff, Ruth was very helpful on the area, the other staff were very warm and friendly, food was of a high standard, surroundings was very peaceful & quiet Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Chris F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sygun Fawr is in a great location, just on the outskirts of Beddgelert. The atmoshpere is very relaxed and welcoming. The staff were brilliant and very helpfully without being OTT. The breakfast was lovely with a great selection. I didnt have an evening meal here as I was meeting Friends but the menu and wine list looked great. Good selection of guests including eldery couples, Larger 30 somethings mixed group and outdoor types.
I got up early to miss the crowds on Snowdon and managed to catch 40 winks mid morning in the hotel as it was nice and quiet
Would definatly stay here again and would look to have an evening meal this time. only 2 minor quibbles - No TV in the room, as I was travelling alone quite like it on as background noise when I am getting ready but thats just a personal thing. Room I was in only had a bath, prefer a shower myself but again It was quite welcome after an energetic day in the mountains

Reviewed by
R Coates

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome in beautiful surroundings. Friendly,homely,good food.

Reviewed by
B MORGANS

From Lampeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at Sygun Fawr
This is our 2nd stay here and both times have been impressed with the location, courtesy & friendliness of staff, standard of cleanliness and excellent food & wine on offer. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Steve M

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class weekend away
The hotel is a little gem
Very comfortable and friendly, hospitality excellent
It was our first stay here but looking forward to our next
Highly recommend

Reviewed by
S THOMAS

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next