No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sygun Fawr Country House

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Sygun Fawr Country House, Beddgelert, , Beddgelert, LL55 4NE
A warm welcome and spectacular scenery awaits you at this former Welsh manor house dating back from 1644. Sygun Fawr is located in the heart of North Wales' beautiful Snowdonia National Park, just a short walk away from the picturesque village of Beddgelert. Set within 22 acres of mountainside and gardens, peace and tranquillity are assured at this ultimate mountain retreat offering an idyllic setting for exploring the magnificent natural beauty and the dramatic scenery of North Wales' coasts and mountains. Located in an unrivalled position our style is relaxed, friendly and informal and is the ideal base for walking, mountain biking, relaxing or touring the nearby castles and historical sites. There is something to suit all tastes in this beautiful part of Wales. Nestled into the hillside and built of solid stone, Sygun Fawr has exposed walls, oak beams and inglenooks, which all add to the traditional character, ambience and atmosphere of this unique country house. We offer bed and breakfast with the option of dinner and have a residential licence. We aim to make your visit as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Sygun Fawr has a home from home atmosphere and we are sure that you will enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to meeting you.
Picture of Sygun Fawr Country House, Beddgelert at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best B&B in Wales
Beautiful location, nice hotel, friendly staff, very good
Food. What else could you want?
Will definitely come back.

Reviewed by
Tomasz M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sygun Fawr is in a great location, just on the outskirts of Beddgelert. The atmoshpere is very relaxed and welcoming. The staff were brilliant and very helpfully without being OTT. The breakfast was lovely with a great selection. I didnt have an evening meal here as I was meeting Friends but the menu and wine list looked great. Good selection of guests including eldery couples, Larger 30 somethings mixed group and outdoor types.
I got up early to miss the crowds on Snowdon and managed to catch 40 winks mid morning in the hotel as it was nice and quiet
Would definatly stay here again and would look to have an evening meal this time. only 2 minor quibbles - No TV in the room, as I was travelling alone quite like it on as background noise when I am getting ready but thats just a personal thing. Room I was in only had a bath, prefer a shower myself but again It was quite welcome after an energetic day in the mountains

Reviewed by
R Coates

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break to walk Snowdon
Hotel was a short walk to Beddgelert, very welcoming staff, Ruth was very helpful on the area, the other staff were very warm and friendly, food was of a high standard, surroundings was very peaceful & quiet Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Chris F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome in beautiful surroundings. Friendly,homely,good food.

Reviewed by
B MORGANS

From Lampeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at Sygun Fawr
This is our 2nd stay here and both times have been impressed with the location, courtesy & friendliness of staff, standard of cleanliness and excellent food & wine on offer. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Steve M

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class weekend away
The hotel is a little gem
Very comfortable and friendly, hospitality excellent
It was our first stay here but looking forward to our next
Highly recommend

Reviewed by
S THOMAS

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very comfortable two day stay at Sygun Fawr. The reception was welcoming and the room very clean and comfortable, though not very big. There was a TV room.
There was a wide choice at breakfast and the food was well cooked and presented.
We ate in one evening and the food was restaurant quality. Staff very attentive and friendly.
There is a steep, narrow approach between rocks ,so passing places would be useful ,though we didn't encounter traffic going the opposite way.
Missed the rhododendrons on the hillsides.

Reviewed by
J Cookson

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful accommodation in the heart of Snowdonia near lovely village of Beddgerlet. Great views, service and food. Would definitely come again and highly recommend.

Reviewed by
S Taylor

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet relaxing retreat and good food
Had a pleasant relaxing wedding anniversary weekend at Sygun Fawr Country House, the staff were exceptional, the food was great and the location is ideal for exploring the Snowdon area

Reviewed by
Nick Goldring

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Syung Fawr Country House Bedelegert Snowdonia
Excellent accommodation, friendly and warm service. Food was fantastic, very well presented also.
Landlady was very helpful in guiding us on good walks around the area and things to do. A really pleasant and scenic place to stay, definitely would recommend this. We will be going back next year, summer 2015 all being well. A gem of a place located in the mountains of Snowdonia. Mike Miller.

Reviewed by
Michael Miller

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next