No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Steam Packet Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Steam Packet Inn St Peters Quay, Totnes, TQ9 5EW
Welcome to The famous Steam Packet Inn, a family owned pub which has been lovingly refurbished to the highest standard.

Situated right on the banks of the river Dart & just five minutes walk from the centre of the historic town of Totnes, where you will find a warm and friendly welcome, beautifully appointed character bedrooms, a great selection of wines, beers and spirits and mouth watering and tempting menus focusing on local produce especially Devon’s abundant seafood celebrated on our fish specials board.
Picture of Steam Packet Inn, Totnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family party
The room and service were excellent. Lovely view and facilities. The food was average - fish in batter was soggy and scrambled eggs rubbery. Other members in our party were satisfied with their meal.

Reviewed by
J Rees

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
service,standard of the room,and comfort could not be faulted,the setting is just stunning.overall i would not hesitate to recommend this accomodation to friends and family

Reviewed by
sandra c

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very stylish and comfortable room and bathroom, although rather warm! The heating wasn't on but it was still very warm. All of the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. They made you feel as though nothing would be too much trouble. We enjoyed a tasty light lunch and then a very hearty evening meal which was absolutely delicious, couldn't manage a pudding though! Would love to stay again.

Reviewed by
Lin F

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Needed a room for the night in central Totnes. I've eaten at the pub previously and it always seemed a good option for a B&B stay. The room had a river view, contemporary furnishings, very comfortable bed (though smaller than we're used to), large bathroom with walk-in shower. Might all be a bit cramped for a longer stay and not a room to sit around in, but was fine for our purposes. Would stay again. Didn't eat in the pub or have breakfast (which started too late for us at 09:00)

Reviewed by
Roger C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value

Reviewed by
S AUSTIN

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay, staff very helpful and respectful, felt welcome from the minuet that i arived
Room was lovely , well kept and comfortable

Reviewed by
R O'Connor

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
I enjoyed my stay but felt the breakfast was ordinary. I would have liked a bowl of chopped fresh fruit for example. The evening meals though were of a very good standard.

Reviewed by
Sandra Orange

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant place to stay.Great room. Lovely location with views of the river and close to the town.

Reviewed by
P Dart

From Sturminster Newton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely stay there again
Room was lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was lovely. Position on the river in Totnes was great . We paid for B and B but on the second morning but decided to leave before breakfast to miss traffic and they just took the. Breakfast off the bill which I hadn't asked them to do , they just did it and didn't have to. Would definitely stay there again

Reviewed by
linda m

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
Wasn't too sure what the accommodation would be like, but found it to be a lovely surprise, a great setting and wonderful accommodation. Will be back for a longer stay next time in the part of the country.

Reviewed by
Janet W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next