No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Steam Packet Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Steam Packet Inn St Peters Quay, Totnes, TQ9 5EW
Welcome to The famous Steam Packet Inn, a family owned pub which has been lovingly refurbished to the highest standard.

Situated right on the banks of the river Dart & just five minutes walk from the centre of the historic town of Totnes, where you will find a warm and friendly welcome, beautifully appointed character bedrooms, a great selection of wines, beers and spirits and mouth watering and tempting menus focusing on local produce especially Devon’s abundant seafood celebrated on our fish specials board.
Picture of Steam Packet Inn, Totnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay !
From the time we arrived to departure we (my daughter Stephanie ) and myself had a really lovely stay at The Steam Packet Inn, Totnes. The accommodation was very clean and we loved the stylish bathroom. All the staff we spoke to were very helpful, friendly and professional and really gave the impression that visitors are their top priority.Stephanie has been having health problems and really needed this break so it was a real tonic.......just wish it could have been longer !

Reviewed by
Alison Adams

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
We had a fantastic time at the Steam Packet. Highlight was the terrace where you could sit with a coffee or a meal and watch the world go by. Good to have parking as well. Rooms were very clean, albeit on the small side.

Reviewed by
Toby S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made very welcome great staff good food

Reviewed by
Leonard T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Steam packet Inn
Beautifully refurbished rooms with everything you need for a very comfortable stay.
Easy walk into the town and lovely views of the river.
Allocated parking space was good and there is a small ferry across the river
Bit surprised by the cost of the breakfast - £10 each as the room was very reasonably priced.

Reviewed by
Roz T

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Steam Packet Inn
Very pleasant surroundings, very friendly staff. Would stay here again

Reviewed by
P Stevens

From St Ives, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab place
Really enjoyed our stay here over Valentine's weekend for a family wedding stayover. Great customer service throughout eg. staying open late at the bar to greet us with a pint on arrival, placing my huge bunch of roses as requested by my wonderful boyfriend ;-), making a big lovely breakfast on Sunday morning even though we'd missed cut off...
We had Room 2 and it was furnished really attractively with a big modern bathroom too. This room looks out the back of the hotel rather than over the river but for this we got more space and lots of morning sunshine too. Very relaxing and happy stay all round.

Reviewed by
Sandra M

From Lincoln, England
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great character - beautifully furnished

Reviewed by
Rob H

From Colchester, England
Who stayed in December 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay in Totnes
Steam Packet Inn is a excellent place to stay.

Reviewed by
Barry Buitekant

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Steam Packet Inn Totnes
I stayed here for just one night with a friend the bathroom was superb no views but as pub on riverbank not a problem staff so friendly always smiling and nothing too much trouble. We went for dinner an amazing three course meal food was superb cant wait Togo back

Reviewed by
Tracey Frost

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant staff, nice room ... but certainly not spotless!
Well-appointed twin room (room 2) with really comfy beds and nice bedding. Lots of tea & coffee (including ground coffee and cafetiere) plus hot chocolate and nice biscuits. Also a flask of fresh milk, which was really appreciated. Lovely refurbished bathroom with free-standing bath & separate shower. Everywhere appeared clean at first glance, but 'hidden' areas seemed to have been missed, which is a shame as it lowered our overall impression of the accommodation. For example, the floor space between the wall and the side of the bath was thick with dust and drips of shower gel and clearly hadn't been mopped for some time; also the top of the wardrobe was covered with a thick layer of fluff and dust. Didn't eat in the pub, although the menu was good and the food being served looked appetising.

Reviewed by
Sue H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next