No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bonnington Farm

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Station Road, , , Takeley, CM22 6SQ
Bonnington Farm Guest House is a popular alternative to the Stansted airport hotels. The personal attention to your needs is provided by owner Malcolm Singer - who provides a bed & breakfast accommodation that customers choose to use again and again. If you are looking for Stansted hotels with parking near Stansted Airport then a stay, park and fly from this Stansted guest house may well be a refreshing and very affordable change. Bonnington Farm Guest House, Takeley, is a 17th century farmhouse set in two and a half acres of beautiful gardens and scenery close to the ancient woodlands of Hatfield Forest Whilst this bed & breakfast accommodation is situated less than 2 miles from, and within minutes of, Stansted Airport, it is not under the flightpath and is situated in a very quiet area. Pleasant relaxing alternative to bustling Stansted airport hotels park and fly charming location minutes from the main stansted airport terminal free stansted airport transfer for guests to Stansted Airport. 5 minutes walk from The Four Ashes Public House serving lunch time and evening meals New to Bonnington Farm internet access in every room
Picture of Bonnington Farm, Takeley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor heating not working TV reception bad microwave unhealthy and it smells of old socks waste not emptyed

Reviewed by
paul r

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just amazing!!!!
Malcolm is a great man! The room was the best, the food, the timing
Very recommend !!!

Reviewed by
Roi Asraf

From Other
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room with plenty of space and quiet location. Friendly owner
Wi Fi did not work in the room. The only place it would work was in the car park. Ok on fine days.
Breakfast a bit minimal, no cheese , ham or eggs on offer
Was a bit put out that I had to pay extra for their advertised delivery to Stansted. This was not made clear on booking

Reviewed by
Carol A

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very welcoming owner, conveniently located, lovely spacious wooden floored room
I didn't have time to read reviews and compare places when I was booking this B&B before a Stansted flight and, with some delay, saw that there were some quite negative reviews. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. My supposedly single room could sleep 6. The spaciousness, the wooden floors and the windows towards the garden won me over completely. Malcolm, the owner, was so very helpful and accommodating. On my way there, while looking for the taxi stand at Stansted, I came across the bus to Takeley and took it instead - the place is very easy to reach on public transport, too.
True, it is not a sparkling clean place and there are things that need repair - but I only registered it without this spoiling my experience at all. I felt as if I was in the house of my grandparents, and old houses are so difficult to maintain. I cannot comment on the food as I left too early to have breakfast, but had my place set up.
I greatly enjoyed my stay - will happily use it as a 'base' before a Stansted trip again.

Reviewed by
Mila Petrova

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was full of cobwebs and spiders in the toilet rolls, beds were damp and cold

Reviewed by
M Hindle

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy location but not somewhere I'd take my family again
I wouldn't stay here again - I stayed in a family room which was handy as it sleeps 5 comfortably but none of us were able to shower in the morning as it barely works, was very dirty, and the only provision was a previously used bar of soap!
Just not very nice at all.

Reviewed by
c middleton

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value and helpful staff!
Great location for the airport and pub just down the road. Ticked the boxes for us. Malcolm the owner was very helpful and understanding.

Reviewed by
Max T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Deeply Unhappy
Property in poor condition and very cold with no heating . At 7pm the breakfast table we were shown to use in the morning still had crumbs and had not been wiped down since previous use. No security as we were told house would not be locked so people could come and go as and when. Whole area in front of house full of 50/60 double parked cars leaving nowhere to park.
In my view this property should not be advertised on your site.

Reviewed by
David B

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The landlord of the property was excellent, made sure we had everything and also called us a taxi for the airport the next day. It is also an excellent location very close to Stansted airport.

Reviewed by
Maria Sonia Micallef

From Zebbiegh Mgarr Malta MST 2053, Malta
Who stayed in April 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.