No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bakehouse B&B

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1 Acreman Street, , , Sherborne, DT9 3NU
An 18th century former bakehouse , comfortable and clean ,flagstone floors , the owner is a retired antiques dealer so the house is furnished to reflect its age , Located in the centre of historic town of Sherborne in the county of Dorset, in two minutes walk from the famous Sherborne Abbey and town centre. •Prices are from £49 to £89 king size •Dorset cooked breakfast is included , 2 rooms are larger and overlook the Abbey •Pets are welcome as long as they are well behaved! •free wifi in all areas .we are in central location , 2 min walk walk to boys school as we are in same road , 5 mins town centre There is a resident labrador , CHARLIE , yes theres a DOG here ,so if you dont like dogs , well probably not a good choice , he is very friendly and relaxed and we welcome other dogs ,The Bakehouse has a reputation for being very informal and friendly, so if you are very formal or if you were born with a miserable gene , with the upmost respect and not wanting to offend anybody , please choose somewhere else ! lifes too short , also please remember we are a b and b not an hotel so if you need the resources that a hotel offers try the sherborne hotel or the eastbury hotel . here people talk to you , help you with your choices to enhance your stay in the town, i live here so its my home ,i will endeavour to make your stay a happy one. we are a 5 min walk from main line railway station on the exeter to waterloo line please remember we are not a posh boutique hotel but friendly b and b !
Picture of Bakehouse B&B, Sherborne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bake House
Being dog friendly was our priority, we stayed there so we could attend the Sherborne County Fair. Malcolm the owner was very accommodating and looked after out dog when we went out for a meal one evening and again when we went shopping for a few hours, when we returned our dog was happy. Malcolm is easy going and friendly, made me cups of tea as and when I wanted and provided a good breakfast. The Bake House is a short walk away from the centre of town and easy to get to. We had a pleasant, relaxed two night stay and drove around lot's of pretty surrounding towns and villages.

Reviewed by
Adele L

From Northolt, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay in The Bakehouse as a stop over gap for travelling to Cornwall via Stonehenge
Absolutely perfect, friendly, very accommodating with fresh clean comfy beds. This was in a 4 bed dormitory with 2 sets of bunk beds. We had a lovely cooked breakfast which was very good for us as we were on a budget! and a nice surprise :) I would recommend this to family and friends and would stay here again! We did read some of the reviews before stopping here, and were a little unsure, but we had a lovely time an nothing was too much trouble. Such a warm welcoming family and friendly little place. No fuss with no hassle with payments.

Reviewed by
helen p

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Friendliest Place Ever!
I found The Bakehouse a very welcoming and friendly place. It's not "posh" but the attentiveness of the owner makes up for any shortfalls. I was offered a cup of tea on arrival (no extra charge even though I had booked for the cheapest accommodation) and was treated like a friend, just what a lone traveller needs after a long journey. I can highly recommend it for those travellers who rate a friendly atmosphere above clinical cleanliness.

Reviewed by
Susan H

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, very helpful husband and wife team, off street parking for the motorbikes, location is right in the center of Sherborne. We will stay again.

Reviewed by
Trevor C

From Milford, England
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BakeHouse B&B
Lovely family Cottage, the proprietor was very helpful and friendly. Although using this location for business use I could see that it would be ideal for anyone wanting to go walking in the Dorset area. Ideal too, for business use, or a weekend break in the country for a couple.

Reviewed by
Vincent G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bake house B&B stay
Finding the place was quite simple with nearby free parking. The welcome was warm, room was clean, comfortable and warm. There was a family dog but it was placid and friendly. Both room and front door were keypad entranced so there were no keys to worry about but you had to remember the codes.
The only bad point I have from my stay was that one of the other residents in another room was a snorer, which gave me a restless night on day 1 but after mentioning it to the manager, it was rectified by day 2.
All in all, I was very impressed by my stay and I would recommend the Bakehouse B&B to my friends and colleagues.

Reviewed by
Marc D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Affordable with little complaints.
If you are a fellow solo traveller and have already scoured the net for cheap hotels/guesthouses to stay in Sherborne then by now, i imagine, you have probably come to the conclusion this is the cheapest you'll find. So no doubt, you'll now be wanting the inside scoop so to speak and here goes...
Quite simply, this is worth it. Admitantly, not quite the Ritz but it does have a warm, homely feel to it along with an owner who is both very friendly and very helpful. You can pay more for the extras - Breakfast and other private rooms i believe (Note - I was staying in a 4 bed dorm) although this place does offer free Wi-fi and i believe the use of the kitchen is also available (Don't quote me on it though)
Furthermore, it is also fairly close to the train station, although Sherborne itself is fairly easier to navigate given its size.
However I've heard many people complain that Sherborne is expensive and i have to agree to some extent but if you do wanna keep hold of a few notes then you'll be hard pushed to find a better place for all round value then here.
Thoroughly recommended

Reviewed by
M Hunter

From LIVERPOOL, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.