No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Edward Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
88-92 London Road, , Gloucester, GL1 3PG
The Edward Hotel is a Grade II listed Victorian terraced hotel centrally located in beautiful historic Gloucester. Part of the hotel was built in 1796 and the rest in 1832, when Gloucester was a thriving inland port.

Strengths of Edward Hotel are location, parking, location, private ownership, location and the balance struck between quality and value for money. Emphasis is upon accommodation rather than fine dining, and upon peace and quiet rather than late bars and parties.

All bedrooms at The Edward Hotel are non smoking and ensuite. All have wi fi access, tea and coffee making and digital channels on flat screen TVs. At reception there is a computer workstation with printer, webcam and skype free for guest use. In the lounge there is a 42" TV with DVD player, an open fireplace with log burning fire, complimented by a leather suite. The bar has an informal sociable atmosphere and is generally open till approx' 11.30pm. Guests can sit, even breakfast, in the pretty, well established garden.

Parking in Gloucester is difficult so our large car park is a real bonus. Guests may use it on morning of arrival and all day on day of departure. There is a locking area and garage for bicycles.

A short stroll passing some classic architecture leads to Gloucester city centre. From here the Cathedral, Guildhall, GL1, Gloucester Rugby Club, the Docks, Quays and museums are readily walkable. The Edward Hotel backs onto Gloucester Royal Hospital. To the north approx' 300m is Hillfield gardens another 300m walk leads to Gloucester University Oxstalls campus.

Officially check in at The Edward Hotel is from 14:30 but morning arrival is possible, just inform us, if the room is ready it is a bonus if not we will give you a check-in time. Check Out is 10:30 weekdays 11.00 weekends. We are a non smoking hotel. Regrettably we cannot accept pets with exception to guide dogs. We can always cater for vegetarian, gluten and dairy free breakfasts, please let us know if you have any other requirements.

Our reputation is in your hands.
Picture of The Edward Hotel, Gloucester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Edward Hotel
My stay at this hotel was very nice. The single room was spacious and well equipped. It was warm and clean although a little dark thanks to low energy bulbs. The breakfast was plentiful with choice of continental or full English. The free WiFi was available throughout the hotel and was fast. All in all, good value for money.

Reviewed by
T Horgan

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in a good location
A nice hotel in a very good location. Not a massive room or bathroom, but what do you expect for a 2 star hotel. Comfortable bed and great location to go to the centre or watch a match at Kingsholm.
Nice staff who are both friendly and very helpful.

Reviewed by
J Trigg

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Edward Hotel
A pleasant independent hotel in the heart of the City. Some rather high steps up to the front entrance but on the flat to the rear(car park). Clean and comfortable with a vast collection of photographs, many are of old Gloucester. Friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Derek H

From Berkhamsted, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean Well priced and very Helpful Staff
The hotel was clean, very warm and the staff were very helpful with advice. Directions on the website were accurate. An easy stroll into Gloucester taking about 10 minutes, meant we could bring back shopping at lunch time and go back for more. Lots of choice of restaurants for all taste and would recommend the Nepalese restaurant less than a 5 minute stroll away. Breakfast was good with an interesting picture quiz on the walls to ponder whilst the breakfast was freshly cooked. Comfy lounge area with a bar and would like to go back when the log fire was lit. Good safe off street parking.

Reviewed by
S Gleeson

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money but with reservations
Room at the top of a narrow staircase - very worrying in case of fire. Small attic room with sloping ceiling had three single beds and an unecessary large sofa. Very small area where my friend & I could actually stand upright. Nowhere to hang clothes and no shelf for toiletries in very small shower room. Owners very pleasant and helpful. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
M Ellis

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were very well looked after by considerate staff. We would definitely recommend the hotel. It was also very convenient having parking for Gloucester, being just able to walk in.

Reviewed by
Heather S

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly welcome
Reappy enjoyed our nights stay at gloucester and the Edward hotel, the welcome was warm and friendly, our room (4)was very comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast was very good. Will definitely stay again A+++

Reviewed by
sharon t

From Shipston on Stour, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

impressive for a 2 star hotel
Nice homely place, with relaxed atmosphere. Good location, within an easy walk to the city centre. My only gripe would be there was only enough toiletries for 1 day & we stayed for 2. Luckily we always take extra.

Reviewed by
Gloria Jones

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was pleasant enough and ideally located to the city centre. The staff were very friendly and provided a lot of information for the area.

Reviewed by
L Binnie

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edward in Gloucester
Loved it. Very accommodating to my early arrival and late departure. Very helpful with local advice and tips. Very cute.

Reviewed by
Gareth H

From chesham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next