No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Fox Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Bow Street, , , Guisborough, TS14 6BP
The Fox Inn & restaurant is located in the heart of the historic market town of Guisborough, on the edge of the beautiful North York Moors National Park. Just a short drive from both Yorkshire Heritage East Coast including Whitby and Scarborough and the Middlesbrough / Teesside area. Guisborough market days are Tuesdays and Saturdays and run throughout the year.

The Fox is conveniently situated in the centre of Guisborough and offers delightful, warm and comfortable ensuite accommodation with rooms completely refurbished to an excellent standard. The fox has a public bar and restaurant together with off street car parking and secure parking for motorcycles and bicycles.

We have 8 bedrooms including; 2 family rooms, 1 twin, 4 doubles and 1 single. Six of the rooms offer ensuite bathrooms with a bath and shower, the remaining 2 rooms have shower facilities. All rooms include a flat screen colour TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Our accommodation is warm and comfortable.

Live music at the weekends.
Picture of The Fox Inn, Guisborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for
Room very basic which was all we needed.
Had a leak dripping through the ceiling light that dripped down the wall, therefore unable to use main light in room. We could only report this to the chef as there was no other appropriate staff to deal the issue!!
Full cooked breakfast was fantastic.

Reviewed by
N Green

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay.
Room was comfortable and had everything we needed, although a full length mirror would have been useful. We stayed on a Friday night and it was quite loud until about midnight as there was a disco downstairs. The breakfast wasn't the best I've ever had but ok. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Adele G

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cracking little Hotel
Nice well run hotel,very clean.Nice room with satellite tv,hair-drier,iron etc. wonderful cooked breakfast. licensed bar with reasonable prices.smoking area outside.The only gripe was that i was kept awake (not by their Disco which finished at 12 out of consideration) by by a bar next door where people were allowed to drink out side even though it was late and i could hear the bass pounding until it finished at 2.30 am.Obviously illegal and the landlady is going to the council to try to resolve this.That issue aside i would recommend.

Reviewed by
m reynolds

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK but...
The accommodation and food were fine for the money, and the staff were very friendly, but I stayed on a Friday night and there is a nightclub just yards from the room I was in. Loud music went on 'til 2am so I didn't sleep well.
Check if the club is open before you book!

Reviewed by
Iain L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
I cant fault any aspect of my stay. The room was clean and comfortable and nice to have a TV
with good reception. The bar meals were excellent quality at reasonable prices and served by a
cheery barman. Breakfast was also top notch with good service. Overall this is a great place to
stay for a visit to the Whitby area and the North Yorks Moors Railway without paying silly prices for accommodation.

Reviewed by
S DRYSDALE

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mr & Mrs Goodisons stay at Fox Inn
Stayed at Fox Inn to attend a wedding in Guisborough. Staff very friendly and helpful, allowing us to stay an extra two hours over leaving time to change and get ready for the wedding,at no extra charge. Food was excellent ( top marks for breakfast ). The only downside is that on the Sat night a live DJ performing in the bar. We were told about this earlier and to be honest it did not bother us when in bed. On the whole a pleasant stay clean tidy room,good staff and very good food. Would recommend as a good base to explore the surrounding area.

Reviewed by
A Goodison

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 nights in Guisborough
The Fox Inn provides good value for money - comfortable, clean room, decent food, well kept draught beer and helpful /friendly staff. My only gripe would be that I could hear the music in the bar from my room - although, of course, it finished at 11pm.

Reviewed by
Robert B

From Tetbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit of a mixture
Lukewarm reception - extraction of money, filling in forms - staff got warmer later in stay. Odd room - excellent bed, shower etc but no chair or toilet. Major drawback not mentioned in advertising - head-banging music from the bar directly below. Access easy and parking OK, handy for Guisborough. Very sociable and attentive breakfast chef.

Reviewed by
Derek A

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
Stayed one night for a wedding and we were only using for somewhere to sleep. Hotel rooms are above a pub. On arrival staff told us the only room available was above the pub disco which could go on until 2:00 AM. staff were awkward when allocating another room to us. A family room was free but they wanted to keep it free for another booking which was unlikely at the time. Room was fine wih ensuite bathroom. TV did not work but we were only in room for 1 hour getting ready. Breakfast ingredients were cheap and nasty. Poor quality sausage and bacon is disappointing especially with good market butchers in town. In summary, budget room but could improve breakfast.

Reviewed by
Michael L

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best I've stayed in but certainly not the worst Room and bed very clean and a first class breakfast

Reviewed by
A Slade

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next