No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Black Lion Hotel Richmond

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
12 Finkle Street, , , Richmond, DL10 4QB
A once Georgian Coach House the Black Lion Hotel has been transformed into a friendly and warm family run hotel. The Black Lion takes pride in serving award winning cask ales in the comfort of the bar and snug warmed with open log fires. Customers have the choice of dining in the hotel bar or upstairs in the Shiraz Restaurant. The hotel provides spacious ensuite single, twin and double rooms and a WiFi facility to all customers. We are also pleased to offer a pet friendly policy for those avid walkers and their dogs. We also have storage for bikes. The Black Lion Hotel is situated in the heart of the historic cobbled market town of Richmond in North Yorkshire. Situated on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park Richmond hosts an array of Georgian architecture, monuments and abbeys and serves as the Park's main tourist centre. Please do not hesitate to call if you're planning a trip in the local area, we will do our very best to accomodate all your needs, whilst providing a perfect getaway at the Gateway to the Yorkshire Dales.
Picture of Black Lion Hotel Richmond, Richmond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exemplifies North Yorkshire hospitality
A very comfortable room with good en-suite facilities. Breakfast served in a smashing dining area, cooked to perfection.

Reviewed by
Philip Elliott

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a nice place to stay although rooms would benefit from a bit of an overhaul were still OK
Check in a bit fraught as we were exausted after a long day travelling and barman was trying to multitask (serving customers taking phone calls etc) and we were ignored a bit. Speaking to him later he was very helpful and my initial impression of him changed. A lovely town and we enjoyed our stay very much. Breakfast was excellent and staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
C F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and friendly service we enjoyed our stay and I would recommend the hotel to family and friends. I would certainly book again.

Reviewed by
j smith

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location in the cenre of town with parking good value for money and food and quantities excellent.

Reviewed by
Ian J

From Maryport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, good overnight stay, really good food
Friendly pub in excellent location in Richmond town centre. Room slightly small with awkward access, but very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast both very good.

Reviewed by
A Shaw

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room and good breakfast.
We stayed for one night only. Our room was at the top of the building.Our double room was clean but rather cramped and dark. The en-suite was a bit poky and the water was very slow to drain away from the sink. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. Breakfast was good.I can recommend the sausages ! I would recommend the Black Lion to friends who were passing through,but maybe not for a longer stay.

Reviewed by
L Evans

From Llandysul, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this Hotel
Perfect old world hotel right in the centre of Richmond.

Reviewed by
Robin Low

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very comfortable and clean. The only thing of note was the decor/ finish etc as it does need an upgrade to bring it up to scratch especially for the cost.

Reviewed by
Keith S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation
Having been given a room on the top floor it proved very difficult to negotiate , especially if you are not so young as you used to be. Make certain you know where the room is situated at the time of booking.

Reviewed by
Graham B

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed with the size of the room, very small frosted window which opened onto a fire escape, smoking area must have been underneath, cigarette smoke came into our room, asked to be moved but we were told the Hotel was full. Was given a fan, struggled with size of room and lack of sockets, not even a socket next to my wife's side of the bed. The toilet and the shower leaked so the bathroom floor constantly wet. Mattress extremely uncomfortable, very well used. Not worth £180. Very over priced for quality of room. The only good thing about the hotel was that breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
I Page

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next