No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George & Dragon Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The George & Dragon inn, Aysgarth, , Leyburn, DL8 3AD
If you want to enjoy fine dining without the drive home, a weekend away or a short break, we offer 7 en-suite rooms including 2 king size four poster rooms and a family room. Relax, Indulge & Explore Each bedroom has been individually inspired mixing period charm with contemporary luxury. Double beds have pocket sprung mattresses with Egyptian cotton sheets and duvet covers. Bathrooms range from walk-in showers to claw feet baths with under floor heating and heated towel rails. Flat screen televisions, telephone and free wireless internet will allow you to connect to the outside world (should you wish to!) Complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided. Indulge in the freshly cooked cuisine by our chefs, like home farm venison, baby Onions, carrot Puree, pressed potato or traditional homemade pie or Black Sheep Beer battered Fish, Chips, mushy peas & homemade tartare sauce Try our famous creme brulee, sticky toffe pudding or chocolate brownie in the victorian resturant or bar resturant. Have a drink in the cosy bar with a choice of 5 Real Ales from local breweries & extensive wine list from around the globe. Have a natter with the locals for the best finds around. John, Collette & staff will endeavour to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. Look forward to meeting old & new customers to our delighful Inn. Small weddings & parties catered for. Give someone special that treat for birthdays, anniversary etc. with gift vouchers, or just book the surprise! This is a Listed 17c Inn near famous Aysgarth Falls in the heart of Wensleydale in the North Yorkshire National Park, where you can explore the countryside & get away feeling either walking/driving/cycling. There are numerous sites to visit like famous Aysgarth Church or Bolton Castle, Semerwater Lake, wensleydale creamery or take a ride on the local railway or Settle-Carlise route. The Forbidden Corner good for all ages or something more energetic is horseriding or ariel extreme
Picture of The George & Dragon Inn, Leyburn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb, Friendly and a Memorable Stay
Traditional old style pub with excellent quality food.
Very friendly and had a great night talking with the landlord and the villagers. Great location to the falls which are only half a mile away.
Everything tied itself in to make this stay the most memorable ever...and for that I say "Thankyou" to everybody.
Certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
lee wheeldon

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in the dales
A small group (2 couples) stayed at the George and Dragon in late June and we had a great time. The exterior of the place doesn't really do it justice as it looks a little tired; however the service, food and friendliness of the staff more than made up for it.

Reviewed by
Shirley G

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay.
A very comfortable room that was very simply furnished. The room was chilly on arrival but warmed up to a very acceptable standard. All requests were positively met ie internet access and extra biscuits. Diner was delightful, good food well served. A very comfortable bed provided a good nights sleep. Those wishing to retire early May be disturbed by noise from the bar below. This was not a problem during our stay. Breakfast again well cooked and presented. We would happily use the George and Dragon again and hopefully stay longer.

Reviewed by
Anthony S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
Hotel comfy, quiet, very good food, friendly and helpful staff, easy to find and good parking.

Reviewed by
John D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great break just do it
Thank you fully enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old pub, never tried food as we tried to order food at 2pm and were told stopped doing food, nothing else in the village where could get food, not shops or other pubs, it really is in the middle of nowhere, nearest place to get food was 8 miles away in Leyburn. Nice place for walkers, dogs but not for someone who likes something to do.

Reviewed by
K Ervng

From Meadowfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George and Dragon -August 2013
A lovely quaint pub offering comfortable accommodation. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The only negative was the noisy food fans which were below our bedroom. The pub gets very busy for food orders but we were able to book a table for the evening even though we didn't arrive until 6.30. There is limited seating in the bar but there is a small seating area reserved for hotel guests. The welcome and service was excellent and the food 1st class. Add that to the great location and you have a fantastic place to stay and enjoy the Dales and surrounding area.

Reviewed by
CARL B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, comfortable room, great breakfast in beautiful dining room
Our delayed arrival at 1am was not a problem.

Reviewed by
R MULHOLLAND

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George and Dragon - early Summer 2013
A lovely quaint pub offering comfortable accommodation. It was very clean although some furnishings were a bit worn but it went nicely with the feel of the pub. My main concerns were the noisy food fans as these vibrated through the bedroom floor although they stopped around 9 pm and we didn't hear them again. Also the pub is very busy for food orders between 7 - 9 pm which means there is little room for sitting and enjoying a sociable drink. The seating is mainly geared up for food service too which meant no comfy sofas for relaxing upon after a meal. The service was impeccable and the food excellent - we would definitely eat there again.

Reviewed by
Lisa K

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excelent Hotel withh very good restaurant and staff

Reviewed by
Colin Stitt

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next