No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Caledon Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
59 Mill Hill Road, Cowes, PO31 7EG
The Caledon is a family run bed and breakfast in Cowes on the beautiful Isle of Wight. We offer modern, comfortable accommodation, tasty, filling breakfasts and friendly service.

Our lovely old guest house has a modern feel, with original floorboards, high ceilings and lots of Victorian features. All our bedrooms are recently refurbished in our modern, relaxed style; we want you to feel at home here.

The B&B is in a great location, five minute walk up the hill from the bustling centre of Cowes with its pretty high street with individual shops, great restaurants, lively pubs, ferry links to Southampton and of course the yacht haven, sailing clubs and marinas for which Cowes is so well known.

We pride ourselves on our warm welcome and fab Caledon breakfasts; all freshly cooked to order using our wonderful Isle of Wight produce wherever possible.

There is free 17Mb broadband Wi-Fi throughout the B&B, and we have a laptop for public use in our guest lounge.
Picture of The Caledon Guest House, Cowes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice place to stay.
Thé family room was ideal for three adults. Nice furniture.
Breakfast with local products.
Wifi working at the first time and free!
A guesthouse to recommend.

Reviewed by
Daniel P

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home Sweet Home.
The stay felt like you were at home. the room gave you a feeling of relaxation after travelling.

Reviewed by
Sandra P

From Bournemouth., UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short stay at the Caledon
This is an excellent guest house, with comfortable rooms and a very good breakfast. The owners are friendly and helpful; I would strongly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Richard Pike

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and comfortable
I was staying for one night prior to a business meeting that required an early start. The owners were extremely welcoming and made sure that I got an early breakfast so that I could make my deadline. The room was very comfortable, beautifully appointed and spotless. I will probaly be going back with my husband for a longer break in the near future.

Reviewed by
Liz K

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Time
The Caledon welcomed us with open arms and there was never a time when we felt anything other then thoroughly welcome! The breakfasts were spectacularly good & oozed quality, our room was large and comfortable with excellent en-suite facilities and a good view across the town & Solent through the big bay window. We will definitely go back!

Reviewed by
Chris Potter

From Battle, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect base for Cowes and the rest of the island
Welcoming beautifully appointed home with a most wonderful breakfast to start your day!

Reviewed by
Stephen Williams

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Perfect West Cowes B&B

Reviewed by
Stephen Williams

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a gem
The Caledon is a real gem, perched high enough up the road so that you have great views of the Solent. Friendly owners and very helpful with ideas about what to do and see whilst on the island.
Great breakfasts, comfortable and clean rooms. Quiet location.

Reviewed by
John P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly, family run guest house
I stayed for two nights in a single room at The Caledon. The room was well equipped with coffee/tea making facilities, flat screen tv with built-in dvd player, bath robe, good sized washing basin and firm mattress on the bed. The thermostatically controlled radiator warmed the room very quickly and had to be turned down after a short while. The breakfast was amazing with a good choice of cooked food including a full English breakfast and poached eggs with smoked salmon. The building had plenty of character with small bathrooms on each floor for those rooms without en-suite. I have booked to return next week and can recommend The Caledon to anyone staying on the Isle of Wight.

Reviewed by
Phil L

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely bed and breakfast
The room was cosy and had everything you could want. The hosts were friendly and the location excellent for transport links, only minutes from the main street of Cowes.

Reviewed by
A Letts

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next