No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ashwood House Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
7 Spring Grove, , , Harrogate, HG1 2HS
We have been here, at Ashwood House, since 1980, running it as a Guest House and loving it as our home. Through those many years we have been privileged to offer the best we thought possible, in quality of appointments, comfort, welcome and delicious food. Naturally, we have learned much along the way about what pleases our guests most and nothing pleases us more than the opportunity to supply it. We maintain the highest standards of comfort and cleanliness and each of our bedrooms is a delightful testament to the thoughtfulness and care that has created it. Everything you look for is there enjoy! Harrogate has so much to offer a world centre for Conferences and Exhibitions and we are less than five minutes' walk from the Conference Centre and Exhibition Halls. The town has wonderful restaurants and shops and is a floral delight. We're very proud of our stylishly presented four-star guest house accommodation (AA rating), which offers a high level of comfort in warm and restful surroundings. We offer spacious single, double, twin and family rooms and they all feature en-suite bathrooms with flat screen TVs, internet access, hospitality trays and complimentary toiletries. A comfortable cozy lounge is available to relax, read, watch TV or meet up with friends. Guests are free to come and go as they please as they explore the beautiful town of Harrogate and surrounding area. We have a small private car park, however we also offer our guests use of complimentary permits which allows on-street parking.
Picture of Ashwood House Hotel, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay!
Anita was such an accommodating host. She really looked after my partner and I and made us feel very welcome. The room was lovely, spacious and immaculate, the hotel itself was clean and well maintained, and the location was brilliant. A 10 minute walk from the main town with all it's restaurants and bars and just out of the way enough to be deadly silent at night. I didn't eat the breakfast so can't really comment but my partner was happy with his fry up the first morning. This quint little B and B is perfect if you want to come and go as you please and explore. It is fantastic value for money and we will definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
C Holt

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect relaxing break
Probably one of the most welcoming Guest Houses I've ever stayed in. The room was excellent, bed very comfortable and Breakfast was excellent . Close to the town centre for all facilities. Would stay here again if we ever return to Harrowgate. A most relaxing weekend

Reviewed by
C White

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
Delightful place to stay, really friendly & welcoming. Steps up to the front door but help offered with luggage both to and from car. Comfortable and welcoming room and a lovely breakfast.

Reviewed by
Gwen O

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Christmas Gift to our Mums
We arrived on 14th February and were greeted by Anita who was very friendly and helpful. We were taken to the top floor which was a bit of a trek for our mums, but that was the only downside. The rooms were spotless and very attractive. Breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks to Anita, we had a marvelous stay despite the terrible weather, she advised us on various restaurants and places of interest. A wonderful time was had by all and I would thoroughly recommend the Ashwood House Hotel.

Reviewed by
Ann B

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ashwood House Was Great!
Me and my girlfriend stayed for 1 night as my girlfriend had a work Christmas night out in Harrogate.
The Hotel was lovely. It was small but this added to its cosy feel. Despite the hotel only having a small number of rooms the rooms were very spacious. Our standard double room was on the top floor and decorated to a high standard. The bed and en-suite bathroom were lovely.
The lady who ran the hotel was lovely and made us feel at home from the very beginning. In the evening I needed to ask for an iron and the lady in charge was very helpful in providing an iron for me in the communal lounge downstairs which was a lovely room.
Our breakfast was included in the booking and it was very nice. We ordered a cooked breakfast and could help ourselves to cereals etc.
In terms of situation the hotel was perfect. It was a very short walk to the city centre. Me and my girlfriend could therefore easily park up at the hotel and walk into Harrogate to do some Xmas shopping. The Hotel was situated only around 100 metres away from the Majestic Hotel and offered fantastic value for money.
Overall our stay was brilliant and I would recommend the hotel to anyone. It was easy to drive to and provided parking permits for on street parking.
The only potential downside would be that there was no lift for people with mobility problems which would be problematic if staying on the top floor.
However for a couple like me and my girlfriend it was a perfect 10 out of 10!

Reviewed by
Gary M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ashwood
A very welcoming and clean guest house with a lovely landlady. The room was large, well decorated, tidy and well supplied. Breakfast was sizzling hot and delicious. The location was easy to navigate to and parking was available outside the house with parking permits.

Reviewed by
A Cole

From , UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasurable experience and one I'll certainly repeat
Proprietor was entirely accommodating and friendly. Fantastic value for money. A beautiful property just a 5 minute walk from the centre. Will definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
C Phillips

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient
We chose this hotel on previous reviews and wasn't disappointed. Easy to locate and very convenient for town centre, just 5 mins walk, (taking short cut through back of Majestic Hotel).
Was made very welcome and the breakfast was freshly cooked and plenty of it.

Reviewed by
P Kikuts

From HALIFAX, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very practical
I have felt welcomed from the moment I stepped in the building. Nice room with bath; confortable bedroom. Just 5 minutes walk from the conference centre and the city centre. The lady running the guest house is extremely lovely and helpful, she makes you feel at home. Will definately come back!!!

Reviewed by
aude g

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

recommended
clean, welcoming and good breakfast - would recommend.

Reviewed by
John D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next