Reviews - Charlotte Guest House


195 - 197 Sumatra Road, , West Hampstead, West Hampstead, NW6 1PF

Price From 175.72 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (20)

75% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • noreen t

  • November 2015

London stay

Accommodation very good

Staff lovely very friendly

  • Glenn R

  • June 2015

You get what you pay for

Very basic

Parking a mile's walk away

Lots of external noise

Dated decor and musty smell in the building (which is actually a house opposite the main B&B building)

Breakfast not served until 07:00 which was too late for me so I can't review the food

  • Angela B

  • March 2015

one night only

The staff very friendly and helpful.

The room was a single, small but sufficient,. It was clean which is important. and I felt safe. it is close to public transport and amenities. I was very happy with my stay.

  • James L

  • March 2015

No sleep

We requested a quiet room.

We were given room 8 in the house 195 Sumatra road. This guest house has several houses most are not attached to the reception location and are independant houses with their own front door, in the neighbourhood, an arrangement we have not previously encountered elsewhere. Room 8, we had, is adjacent to the train line. The trains run 24 hours. Sometimes they let off their whistle throughout the night as they pass through the station. They can still clearly be heard with the double glazed window closed, travelling at speed and when on waiting for boarders. You could also feel the metal springs through the mattress. We did not sleep. We asked to change rooms, but were told the only other room avalable would be noisier. When we complained we were told we should have asked for a blanket to put over the springs and perhaps we are not used to city living. We live in a city centre. We simply wanted a nights rest, but left exhausted and felt aggrieved we had paid for the privilege. Of course it ruined the following day as we were too tired to continue with our plans. We just felt it would be more fair for this guest house to point out that some of the rooms are adjacent to the train track and if customers want a quiet room and none are available, to be honest with the client from the outset, so that they may book elsewhere.

  • D Milne

  • March 2015

Not good value for money.

The room was very tired and old fashioned.

Breakfast : The cappuccino was made from a sachet or a vending machine. Charlotte guest house is split into 5 separate houses and you have to walk back to the main house for breakfast. Ie 5 minute walk. Not ideal. Also this was not stated in the advert.

  • Bob Hayes

  • February 2015

Friendly, comfortable and value accommodation

Friendly and efficient welcome and service.

Close to all public transport in West Hampstead. Will certainly stay again.

  • Thomas C

  • January 2015

Good budget stay

I arrived late which was no problem.

Nice welcome. Room was old fashioned but perfectly clean. Slept well. West Hampstead is extremely well connected for getting around London.

  • D Anderson

  • January 2015

No thrills

  • Jill Alder

  • November 2014

Great value for money, budget B & B

All staff were fantastic, could not do enough to be helpful / informative and friendly.

Room was extremely clean and tidy. Fabulous fresh starched sheets, comfy bed.

Old furniture and carpets, but perfectly serviceable, I did not expect haute decor at this price.

Only one milk supplied, but given lots more when I asked. Choice and standard of breakfast was fabulous. Lots of choice of local restaurants nearby. Nice area to stay in, close to tube station, so take ear plugs if a light sleeper. Kept my luggage for me 5 hours after my check out time, so I could sightsee until my train left.

  • Liz B

  • October 2014

Clean bedroom and friendly staff, very reasonable accommodation for the price.