No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mallin B&B

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
49 Meadow Way, , , South Cerney, GL7 6HY
Mallin B&B is located in the lovely Saxon village of South Cerney, 3 miles from Cirencester, the location provides good access to Cheltenham, Gloucester, Bath, Oxford and Swindon. Also convenient are Burford, Bourton on the Water and the village of Bibury with its renown 16th century cottages ‘Arlington Row’. The Cotswold Water Park is also close, with its many lakes, offering bird watching, sailing, water skiing, walks, cycle tracks, paintball and fishing (course and game). There are also a large selection of golf clubs, restaurants, cafes and pubs available locally. The town contains many interesting buildings spanning several centuries, and Cirencetser was the second largest town in Britain during Roman times. Today the former Corinium Dobunnorum is home to more than 18,000 people and a service centre for the thousands more who live in surrounding villages. In later years it was a very prosperous medieval wool town. Cirencester's market square is dominated by the St. John the Baptist church, one of the largest in England - the large south porch with it's impressive fan vaulting was built about 1490. Treat your senses to the truly fantastic array of sights and smells around the many Cotswold gardens, from grand designs attached to stately homes to the secret delights and private passions of many individuals' more modest homes. Many stately homes and gardens open their gates from the first show of snowdrops to the last leaf of autumn and are a delight to visit. Mallin Bed and Breakfast offers a double bedroom and a twin bedroom, with a shared bathroom, which has a bath and shower; with a separate room with tea and coffee making facilities, television and seating area. Additionally included is limited off street parking and WiFi internet access. Children are welcome. Local amenities include three pubs, a shop and a Post Office, all within easy walking distance.
Picture of Mallin B&B, South Cerney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly & helpful.

Reviewed by
A Helbling

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Solo stay for three nights
I stayed for three nights in the double room at the back of the house - a comfortable bed in a clean room with a good, hearty, breakfast to follow. For information, the B&B only has two rooms with shared bathroom facilities and a shared kitchen/breakfast room; all located on the first floor.
After making the booking on line, I contacted the B&B owner to discuss my arrival time options and settled upon 5.30-6pm. As it turned out, they were in residence when I arrived at 4.30pm and once checked in, you have a front door key and a room key to allow for 'quiet' entry at any time. [This is only a small B&B with no 24 hour reception facilities]. However, the owner does prefer cash payment on arrival, rather than debit/credit cards; not too bad for a one night stay but I don't carry over 100 in cash on me that was required to pay for my three night stay. Therefore, my credit card was accepted.
In conclusion, the B&B suited my requirements and I am looking forward to returning again when I am next in the Cirencester area!!

Reviewed by
Mike H

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service needs work!
The hostess was not happy when we arrived early even though I had emailed and phoned. She made you feel like a naughty child. Breakfast we were told would be cereal and toast because we were leaving early. One would assume that this means self service as the host does not awake that early but no it means you have to sit their awkwardly while she puts your frozen toast in the toaster and puts in your sachet of nescafe in the cup. The milk was not fresh and when I suggested she remove the year out of date cereals in the cupboard so that she would not get bad reviews on the internet she proceeded to tell me that I should not be snooping in 'her' cupboards! Her cupboard in the self contained guest house kitchen and that legally she could serve them to me if she told me first. I dread to think how old the cereal in the Tupperware containers were! I have never written a review on the internet before and I feel awful writing this but I hope she reads this and is aware that if someone offers you advise on how you can help your business take it with grace, sort out the issue and move on. If you had done this I would not be writing this review

Reviewed by
Rebecca K

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth the money
A lovely B&B, value for money. Staff kind and helpful

Reviewed by
Bruce P

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value room in picturesque Cotswold village
good value, friendly accomodatiion near Cotswold Water Park

Reviewed by
Jane P

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday stay
We were of the opinion that booking in time was FROM 4p.m and we arrived at 7.30 pm to be greeted with a very irate land lady telling us off because we were late as she thought we would be there at 4 and spoke to us like naughty children we in turn could not wait to book out and when we arrived home today there was three phone calls from her ! will never return there ever

ManagementResponse

I was not ‘irate’, however it is beyond my comprehension that guests feel it is ok to keep someone waiting three and a half hours without any communication. We are a small B&B not a hotel with 24hr reception cover. Perhaps you are better suited to larger hotels.

Reviewed by
J Carpenter

From Enfield, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean B&B
Good for a one-night stop over. Clean and tidy B&B.

Reviewed by
Victoria P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

feedback ok
B&b staff were watching to check what was happening. It was like being back at school and was complaining about getting up early and would put the price up. The bed creaked and the kitchen had out of date biscuits in the bottom.

Reviewed by
K Davies

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap & Cheerful
Linda & Malcolm were very friendly & helpful; the room was clean & spacious; there was a good choice for breakfast; the price was reasonable; I would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Will S

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mallin B&B South Cerney - Disappointing.
Not very welcoming. Not used to payment being demanded immediately upon arrival.
Some nice touches such as complimentary toiletries. However did not like the plastic mattress protectors. Wouldn't expect to find these in a B&B and made you very hot and sticky during the night. Breakfast was good but tea was just served in a mug, no pot of tea and coffee was cheap instant from a sachet. Not had this in UK for years. We've stayed in many B&Bs and have always been served fresh coffee.
Would not recommend overall and definitely wouldn't stay again.

Reviewed by
P Burke

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next