No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Vale of York

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Carlton road, Carlton Miniott, , Thirsk, YO7 4LX
At the Vale of York we strive to offer a warm and friendly service to both drinkers and diners alike. We pride ourselves on offering traditional cask ales, a wide range of wines and spirits, and delicious pub food. We also welcome guests for overnight stays; we have 12 cosy en suite rooms that provide a fabulous base for the perfect break. Children, families and large groups are most welcome; we aim to make everyone feel like a valued local when they step through the door, no matter how far they have travelled to join us! The Vale of York is ideally situated close to Thirsk train station, racecourse and fishing lakes.
Picture of Vale of York, Thirsk at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
53% recommended this accommodation to a friend 53% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay. Only one thing against: rather noisy outside from about 0600 onwards but otherwise a very nice pub with very obliging staff.

Reviewed by
B Holmes

From Stranraer, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff a good fishing sleepover

Reviewed by
Stephen Dawson

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
Excellent place to stay for a quiet, peaceful break. Perfectly located for visits to York and surrounding areas and a lovely short walk to the centre of Thirsk. Very friendly staff and homely feel to the pub. We were made very welcome. The breakfasts were fantastic and the overall value for money was Excellent.

Reviewed by
vanessa p

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend canoeing break
The rooms are a little old fashioned, but clean and warm! The pub landlord was very helpful and friendly. we set out too early for breakfast, so we were given a massive and tasty 'pack-up' to take with us. We use inns regularly on our canoeing trips - this rates as one of the best!

Reviewed by
N FLETCHER

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bedroom was clean and the food was good but the bathroom/toilet had no room to put the towel except on the radiator in the bedroom and there was no wash basin shelf to put your toiletries nor a glass provided.

Reviewed by
frederick speck

From Rhyl, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We would of liked a bedside light ,turning the light of and walking across to the bed in in the dark sometimes a bit dangers , a shaver socket would be nice,and a chair to put your cloth on

Reviewed by
D Marshall

From South Harrow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, tidy but busy when we were there.

Reviewed by
H Thomson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
The purpose built accommodation was basic but adequate. A few extra touches would improve the 'chalets' enormously but they were very clean and the food was very good. The staff were extremely helpful.

Reviewed by
J Lintott

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vale of York
The rooms are very basic but clean and in need of a lick of bright colour paint. Being dark painted they make it look and feel a bit drab. The lighting my room (9) needs to be improved as i couldn't read a book. The heating was acceptable as it was cold and frosty outside. The shower needed attending to as the water flow was just a stream not a spray and the temperature was unstable going from very hot to cold and back again.
The food was good in the evening and the early bird menu meals were worth ordering with a good portion size, breakfast was OK but the cereal selection needed to include something more than cornflakes and wheatabix.
The staff were pleasant and tried to please. overall I would say not bad if you're not too choosey and don't want luxury but somewhere to get your head down and a meal at the end of the day.

Reviewed by
A Atkin

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I originally phoned this accommodation - the person who answered the phone declared she could not help me and that somebody would call me back - they never did. Room was in an annex. Tiny, shower room/toilet floor felt like it would collapse under me. When I saw the notice on the face of the shower room telling me not to bring Fishing Bait into my room I wondered what I had let myself into. The bar staff in the evening were dismissive - no friendly welcome here! Over £3 for average beer. I was told on arrival that breakfast was from 7:30 and had to say when I wanted this meal, to which I said 07:30. In the morning a lady arrived at 7.30 (cleaner I deduced). At 08:00 I had to knock to get entry. Not very good as I chose this place as I had to be in the near vicinity relatively early in the morning. The lady was very good and cooked my breakfast as quckly as she could. the breakfast was good. Experience was poor in all respects. I would not stay here again.

Reviewed by
Alistair Fyffe

From Skelmersdale, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next