No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Addenro House B&B

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
40 - 42 Howard Road, , , Southampton, SO15 5BL
Addenro House B&B is situated near the City Centre with excellent links to M27 and M3, as well as the University of Southampton. A number of buses are available within a short walking distance on nearby Shirley Road; to the City Centre, MayflowerTheatre and other nearby attractions. The Southampton Centre Train Station is also a 10 minute walk up Hill Lane. There are various levels of Rooms availble at Addenro House B&B. Basic Single and Twin rooms have a 2 shared bathrooms available of the 1st Floor, whilst the deluxe rooms have been recently modernised with ensuite facilities, all rooms new flat screen 19" digital TV, with integrated DVDplayer and all rooms with facilities for making tea and coffee. There is free Wi-Fi for web browsing in the lobby, and private parking is possible on site (first come, first serve basis) There are also plenty of spaces with no restrictions for parking on street. The spacious Breakfast Room/Dining Room has FreeView TV, Microwaves and Fridges available for use from 8am up until 9pm. The property is non-smoking with a designated smoking shelter outside. Southampton is a vibrant, modern city which offers a warm welcome to visitors from all over the world. The city is packed with places to go and things to do from art, parks and sports to annual events or regular community activities. The Southampton Boat Show at the docks nearby and the Flower show, Balloon festival and Bank Holiday FunFairs all take place on the Southampton Common, situated within a 10 minute walk. The city is home to some of the region's best concert halls and venues, boasting three outstanding art galleries and two magnificent theatres. In April 2012 the City unveiled the Titanic Museum, which is only a short walk away from the guest house itself.
Picture of Addenro House B&B, Southampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but good value for money. Had all you need for your stay
Would def stay here again.

Reviewed by
A Blair

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

didn't expect the best quality for the price and didn't get it.
Could only get in here as everywhere else was booked.
Everything very old and outdated.
Bathroom very cold with no heating in there, didn't use shower as looked very uninviting.
Bedding was all clean as well as towels.
Breakfast was ok, but there was a leak from ceiling that was running into a bowl on the table next to ours.
Was glad to check out and will book premier inn next time

Reviewed by
Mal D

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Addenro House B&B
The breakfast was not cooked.

Reviewed by
A May

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, standard B&B, ideal for our needs

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Desborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was basic but clean and fresh with tea and coffee making facilities. the shower was good

Reviewed by
S Pedersen

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for the money
I found the accommodation good value and very friendly also the breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
stan w

From Hoddesdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good basic budget accommodation
Mr & Mrs Singh very pleasant. Allowed us to check in early. Good selection at breakfast. Room basic but very clean. Good location, not far from city centre and Shirley high street. Good value, would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Donna S

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never Again!!!!
I will start with the only positive thing about our 2 nights there was the shower, although the shower head was held onto the riser rail by tape the hot water was hot and consistent.
So where do I start....... when I booked it was payment on arrival but received a voice mail on Friday morning to say they had tried to take payment on my debit card and it had been declined, well it would have been as I had withdrawn the cash to pay on arrival!!!!!
We were held up by an hour due to an accident on the A34 and I tried to ring many times to inform them we would be arriving after the 10pm deadline but couldn't get an answer. On arrival we were met by a young man, who said he was helping them out and didn't have a key to the office to answer the phone, who showed us to our room on the ground floor. Well, what can I say about our en-suite room it was shabby and dated and the en-suite was just the corner of the room partitioned off that was so small, I've seen bigger toilets!!! If you used the sink you had to open the door as you couldn't bend as there was not enough room. No toiletries apart from soap, thin old towels and not even a glass for water to rinse your mouth out. In the room was a double and a single bed which left hardly any room to move. The sheets on the bed had stains all over them, looked like ink, and they were so thin you could see the pattern on the mattress, and the mattress itself was so old you could feel every spring. Breakfast was between 7.30-8.30am and no exceptions even though it was a weekend and they were banging on the door at 8.10am asking us if we were coming. The breakfast was a DIY affair even down to making the tea, a cooked breakfast was offered but it wasn't worth waiting for, the bacon was dry and tasted like it had been reheated, the sausage wasn't much better and the beans were yuck............ all in all it was horrible but I did give it a go on the second morning to see if it improved but it didn't.
I paid in cash and wasn't offered a receipt.
It does have free Wi-Fi but it was very temperamental and was easier to use 3G.
I will never go back as I have stayed in better places for less money and whoever gave this place a 3 star rating must have been blind as I wouldn't give it any stars, and I think the hotel inspector needs to visit!!!!!

Reviewed by
Sharon L

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing accommodation
Asked for ground floor and was allocated the highest floor up 2very steep lots of stairs. Lack of lighting especially outside room at top of the stairs, we had to feel to get the key in lock.carpet had not been hoovered as there were long hairs and bits all over. No hot water in shower, the owner said it had been used up by other guests. Towels and sheets clean but the general condition of furnishings was disgraceful. Divan edges torn, only 1of the 5side lights working, lump of plaster off wall, wardrobe with no handle, the tables were stained and not good enough for the tip.breakfast finished by 8am which was obvious why when we realised the place was full of contractors. I feel this place should be inspected for h&s reasons. The pictures certainly do not reflect the true likeness to the room we were given.

Reviewed by
M D

From Cumbria, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for the price
I stayed here the night before an interview at the university. The owners were more than accommodating! The room I was given was more than I would expect for the price (£35, for a single bedroom with breakfast). Everything was very clean and comfortable.
There was a good selection of food for breakfast, which I was impressed by. The atmosphere was friendly and I really felt the owners were trying to make my stay as comfortable as possible! For example- I had to return to the B+B after my interview at 3 to collect my bag which they had looked after for free, whilst I waited for my phone to charge they gave me a cup of tea and allowed me to have free access to their internet.
I'm aware that this B+B has not always received good reviews- this does surprise me- I think it's important to take into account the amount of money you are paying for a room, at the price I paid for this room was perfect and the owners were more than accommodating. If I was to return to Southampton I will be staying here!

Reviewed by
C JACKSON

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next