No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Aartswood Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
27 Trafalgar Square, , , Scarborough, YO12 7PZ
If you are searching for somewhere that is relaxing, informal and peaceful yet close to the heart of everything, then look no further. The Aartswood Guest House provides ample free parking yet is conveniently situated close to Scarborough town centre. It is just a short walk to the beach and all the major attractions that the town has to offer. All 6 bedrooms have en-suite/ private facilities, complimentary beverages and biscuits, televisions, radio alarm clocks, toilet, shower, wash basins with shaver points and central heating throughout. Situated on the ground floor is a pleasant dining room where we provide freshly cooked meals. The reception area provides a selection of leaflets, maps and other sources of information that will enable you to get the maximum benefit from your visit to Scarborough. The guest house looks onto a classic landscaped Victorian square complete with gardens and park benches. The rear of the building has a marvellous view over the impressive North Marine Road cricket ground, a home to Yorkshire cricket club, which regularly hosts major matches
Picture of Aartswood Guest House, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food and Stay
Breakfast was excellent, everything you needed for an english breakfast even a vegetarian choice. The owners made us really welcome and it was great having the tea and coffee everyday in our room.
Hotel in a good area for shops and sea front. Will be looking to stay again.

Reviewed by
K Nicholson

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms cramped and dirty
The room was very cramped the shower head was mouldy the shower walls were bodged and uneven. the bedding was dirty as we found light blonde curly hairs when we are both dark straight haired people. the manager was friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
B Young

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold and not clean
Heating not on during day, in February, not comfortable. Toilet absolutely disgusting

Reviewed by
David H

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Go and see for yourself
Whilst the exterior of the Guest House is a bit tired and brightly painted in yellow, and the entrance hall is a tad pokey and dark... the accommodation was spotless! The food was excellent and plentiful and the hosts were first class! It is difficult for a Guest House to attract people whilst there are so many to choose from, but it really is worth staying at! It is a very clean place to lay your head and excellent value for money!
Book direct with the place... it's cheaper!

Reviewed by
Darren M

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing
Upon arrival proprietors very welcoming and friendly.However room given to us was disgusting. A meouldy coked up shower head and dirty skirting boards and general uncleanliness of fixtures and fittings.Upon highlighting this to be fair we were moved to a cleaner (though slightly) room. At the outset this looked better but still displayed stained bedsheets and general uncleanliness. Breakfast purports to be grilled not on the evidence of strong greasy odours emanating from the kitchen. The owners claimed thay have recently renovated the property, Really

Reviewed by
a oliver

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Most Excellent Breakfast!
We stayed in a lovely bright room at the top of the house with windows the full length of the room. It was very sunny during our visit so we kept curtains drawn to keep room cooler. Friendly hosts and free car parking. The highlight was definitely the breakfast - 2 sausages, 2 rashers of bacon, egg, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, fried bread, black pudding as well as fruit juice, cereals, tea/coffee and toast. A great start to the day. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Sharon R

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was suitable for my purpose. The reception was friendly and the food was good.

Reviewed by
W Adams

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

guest house review
good accomadation owners very plesant and helpful

Reviewed by
s ivison

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very delightful stay food plentlyful. Room a bit on the small side but for a short stay it was fine.

Reviewed by
W Smith

From Bradford , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic...........
The Aartswood provides basic accommodation, with no frills attached, which I thought was overpriced for what I call a budget b and b. The owner and his wife were welcoming enough (offered to help with the cases) and although fully booked seemed to cope quite well in serving breakfast in quite a cramped dining room. Our bedroom was quite nice with a good supply of hot water in the shower unit. Aartswood seems more suitable for couples with young children, and not for elderly couples like my wife and I. We have been to far better b and b's than Aartswood!!!!

Reviewed by
S Taylor

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next