No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Aartswood Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
27 Trafalgar Square, , , Scarborough, YO12 7PZ
If you are searching for somewhere that is relaxing, informal and peaceful yet close to the heart of everything, then look no further. The Aartswood Guest House provides ample free parking yet is conveniently situated close to Scarborough town centre. It is just a short walk to the beach and all the major attractions that the town has to offer. All 6 bedrooms have en-suite/ private facilities, complimentary beverages and biscuits, televisions, radio alarm clocks, toilet, shower, wash basins with shaver points and central heating throughout. Situated on the ground floor is a pleasant dining room where we provide freshly cooked meals. The reception area provides a selection of leaflets, maps and other sources of information that will enable you to get the maximum benefit from your visit to Scarborough. The guest house looks onto a classic landscaped Victorian square complete with gardens and park benches. The rear of the building has a marvellous view over the impressive North Marine Road cricket ground, a home to Yorkshire cricket club, which regularly hosts major matches
Picture of Aartswood Guest House, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good
easy to park close to centre

Reviewed by
danny w

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and good value for money - free added seagull
Friendly hosts, cosy room, clean and tidy. Easy to find... look for the yellow and blue house!
The décor is a bit dated, with basic but adequate furniture, but at least the room seemed cared about. There were tea, coffee and biscuits in the room, and a small television. We had a sunny and welcoming double room at the front of the house, with nice small shower, basin and toilet ensuite. The bed had a sprung mattress, which I'm not used to, but it did the job. There was plenty of bedding.
We didn't ask for breakfast, so can't comment about that.
A seagull was perched outside on the hotel sign each day, we think keeping an eye on the goldfish in the little pond out the front. All in all, very good value for money. Would go back.

Reviewed by
Robin E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday stay
Proper holiday B and B accommadation. Very welcoming hosts. The room was value for money and the breakfast was excellent and definitely set you up for the day.

Reviewed by
D Dobbing

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location

Reviewed by
J Salmon

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A weekend break
Ideally situated for facilities. The proprietors are very nice and welcoming. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable. The only problem I had was with the stairs because I have mobility problems but I managed. The breakfast was really good and the juice wasn't watered down compared with our experience at The Grand. We would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Madeline T

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly

Reviewed by
R BURBRIDGE

From Chatteris, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant
We had a great stay and were looked after by a very nice, welcoming couple.
We even got a phone call while we were on our way from the owner explaining that he had to nip out and making sure he would be there for our check in.
The accommodation is a few hundred metres from the sea front and breakfast was lovely.
Room/shower were on the small side but this was expected as this is excellent value for money.
Free parking organised by the owner and pub, shop and cafe just round the corner.

Reviewed by
Leo C

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not the cleanest or most enjoyable nights stay we've ever had .there was a strong smell of dog
We love scarborough and have stayed in BnBs and guest houses lots of times but this was by far the smelliest and dirtiest we've ever had to stay in. Were not that fussy a clean warm bed and clean shower is all we ask ! That we did not get ! Filthy window frames and carpet smelling of dog we would rather do without ...wont be staying again !

Reviewed by
D Irvine

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Aartswood Guet House
Great little B&B. Good location not far from town centre. Very friendly and helpful owners. We asked to leave our bags at the B&B on the last day as our train wasn't until late afternoon and they were very obliging. This is a budget B&B and although the room we had (we had paid for an economy room) was smallish it was perfectly adequate for our needs given we were out during the day and only back late afternoon/teatime. We will go back as we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Reviewed by
Steve H

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Lovely room very cosy. We stayed at the Grand Hotel a few months ago and this hotel was better than the Grand. Room great bed great and lovely location. We will be booking a room here during our next stay. We didnt have breakfast but it smelt great. Fantastic for couples. Great view from room.

Reviewed by
A Swift

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next