No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Magnolia House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
36 St Dunstan's Terrace, , , Canterbury, CT2 8AX
Welcome to Magnolia House. We are a 5* gold award, Georgian family guest house that offers first class bed and breakfast accommodation, set in a quiet residential street. We are just a ten minute stroll from Canterbury city centre with its magnificent cathedral and many places of historic interest. Ideally situated for exploring the city, coastline or the beautiful Kent countryside and is an ideal location for short breaks, long weekends or business trips. All guest bedrooms have been professionally designed to a high standard, offering either single, twin, double, queen or king-sized beds. All rooms have en-suite facilities, with either a bath and shower room, or ensuite shower room. All rooms are well equipped. With complimentary drinks on arrival, everything is done to make your stay as relaxing & comfortable as possible. Magnolia House has full wireless internet facilities, so as long as you have a wireless network card in your laptop, you can access the internet whenever you like. A full and varied breakfast caters for all diets and is a feature of your stay. Fresh local produce is used wherever possible and is served overlooking the attractive walled garden. We are not licensed, but you are welcome to bring your own drinks. You are given your own keys & free access throughout the day to your room and the guest sitting room which is well stocked with reading material, board games and sample menus from excellent local restaurants a short walk away.
Picture of Magnolia House, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay in a cosy B&B hotel
Nice and cosy place to stay. Quiet and close to city centre. But the the cisterna of the toilet was broken. We told the owner, but the plumber did not arrive. We were offered a new room.

Reviewed by
Svein R

From Norway
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
We stayed over a weekend .
Very pleasant rooms

Reviewed by
G Blowers

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely cosy bed and breakfast. and the breakfast cooked by the owner was fantastic. Would really recommend the Magnolia. xx

Reviewed by
suzanne s

From Much Wenlock, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Magnolia House - Fantastic little place
The hotel was brilliant, the food was great, and the service friendly & fantastic. Great location too, just a short walk into town. It was perfect for our short stay.

Reviewed by
C Fletcher

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High quality great value canterbury accommodation

Reviewed by
Sam B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy, comfortable, convenient
This was a lovely B&B. We had the Garden Room, large and comfortable with a four poster bed and a large en-suite bathroom. We were met by a charming young girl, who explained where everything was and gave us some good tips for restaurants and sites in the town. Our hostess prepared our breakfasts which were lovely with a great range of options and there is a lovely garden to sit in at the rear of the property. It takes a very gentle five to ten minutes to get to the centre of Canterbury, entering through the impressive west gate. All-in-all a great experience.

Reviewed by
J Tierney

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great b&b
This was a fantastic property just a short stroll into the town centre.
Everything you needed was there waiting in your room from the razor you may have forgotten to the sewing kit when your button falls off as you are about to go out.there was even complimentary drinks waiting in the fridge in your room. It's the personal touches that bring out a place like having a fresh brew brought to you in the lounge when you arrive after a long drive. Well recommended

Reviewed by
a carter

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomadation
excellent accomadation, near to to town, rail, bus routes and theartre. Go and enjoy all local food sourced breakfast

Reviewed by
J MILNES

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good B & B.

Reviewed by
bob p

From Rye, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful independant accomodation very clean rooms fantastic freshly cooked breakfast

Reviewed by
TRISH C

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next