Regency Guest House

3

7 Regent Terrace, ,, Cambridge, CB2 1AA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (17)

65% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • DOROTHY B

  • June 2015

Terrible mistake

This place was awful.

We arrived without having been provided with the door code to get in. We eventually had to beg another guest to let us in - he was understandably reluctant. Having negotiated that we then had to find our room key and walk up 2 flights of very steep stairs to get to our room. It was not en suite which came a s a shock. The shared bathroom was next door and we were kept awake all night by other guests using it, and by them trying to work the locks on the doors of their rooms - everyone including us seemed to have problems with that. In the morning the breakfast was down 3 flights of steep stairs in the basement. Definitely not worth the ridiculous amount of money that we paid for it.

  • Victoria Rose Budby

  • February 2015

Regency Guest House

Excellent.

  • David S

  • December 2014

No parking, overpriced hostel.

No where to park.

Tried to call the hotel for a permit to park outside but couldn't get through to anyone. spoke to the lady serving breakfast about a permit but she said she wasn't sure. Ended up with a £70 parking ticket. The room was very basic with noise from the local pub until after 1am. Also wasn't an ensuite room which wasn't clearly explained. Shared bathroom with atleast 4 other rooms. Wallpaper hanging off the walls and filthy carpets. Continental breakfast was fairly good.

  • M Banyard

  • December 2014

The apartment was spotless and for the price was close to the city center

  • Sam Block

  • November 2014

Great value (for Cambridge)

A very nice, clean, if simple, room in central Cambridge.

Really good at the price.

  • Dom L

  • November 2014

Lovely little apartment in a good location for transport

I was attending a gig at The Junction, and so found this apartment.

It sits in a very quiet residential area on the far side of the train station, so despite it's close proximity on the map it's about a ten minute walk to reach it. The apartment itself is utterly lovely - the sun terrace looked amazing (although it was too cold to sit out there) and the ned was huge.

However, we did have some problems with the hot water - the signs advised us to let it heat up for 20 minutes, but even after half an hour there was still only a small amount of hot water before it became tepid (not great for a shower or bath). I had to pick up keys from the main guest room (which was in the city centre so a bit of a trek) but they had offered to leave them at the apartment for us. We didn't actually see anyone at the guest house, but the contact we did have with them was excellent and friendly. If it wasn't for the hot water, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Sophie M

  • October 2014

Okay but expensive for a room that is not that great.

Pros: Great location Easy to come and go Nicely decorated rooms Cons: Room lock was difficult to use - very stiff.

Expensive for what it is - £125 for a nothing very special room and hotel.

Toilet seat was broken. Lamp didn't work. Blind was broken and only opened one side. Balcony was littered with cigarette butts and empty plastic bottles. When you run water in the sink, it comes up the shower plughole.

  • Katherine P

  • September 2014

Got bumped up

There was some booking issue, so I got bumped up to a nice apartment, which I wish I could have had for longer.

The staff were very nice, and made sure I knew exactly where I was going by meeting me and taking me there. There was no tea or soap, but considering it was clearly meant to be a long-term place, it was understandable. I'd definitely recommend this.

  • amanda d

  • May 2014

One night stay

The accommodation was ok for a one night stay only, bathroom and toilets are shared, so throughout the night there were lots of people coming an going, making sleep extremely difficult with doors constantly opening and closing

  • Edward A

  • April 2014

Late Rooms

The room was clean, and the bed comfortable.

I could not get the TV to work, but I did not try very hard. The lack of an on-suite bathroom is a definite limitation, as you have to get up in the night dress and go to the bathroom, and someone left the windows open for the bathroom first thing in the morning so it was fresh but as cold as heck. I thought the breakfast was very good. For the price still a good deal.