Reviews - Regency Guest House


7 Regent Terrace, ,, Cambridge, CB2 1AA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (16)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Jenifer G

  • August 2015

Great Short Stay

The Guest House is very conveniently situated, very close to bus routes and overlooks the green.

Initially, I had trouble getting in, as my computer was down, so I had missed the email giving instruction on how to get in, but after contacting the manager who was very helpful, I found my key and my room easily. Clean and comfortable room - basic but has all the essentials; wonderful bed, windows that open, a basin and a kettle. The shared bathroom was tolerable for a short stay, but if you are planning a stay of a week or more it could become difficult. Can't comment on the breakfast, as I didn't sample it. Guests with mobility problems might want to ask for a ground floor room, as the house is three stories high. Would I stay there again. Most definitely - thank you!

  • John H

  • August 2015

A slightly strange experience

A Victorian terrace house, in which the principal rooms have been converted into guest bedrooms with some style.

But the oddity is that there are no staff present to welcome guests when they arrive: instead guests are - apparently - meant to receive an email giving them a PIN code to open the front door, and then pick up their own room key from a rack in the hallway. I did not receive the email, and eventually got in by calling the number given - either on the website or the LateRooms confirmation. Later that evening, two other guests found themselves in a similar situation. Since I had the room nearest the front door, I deputized for the non existent receptionist and let them in. One other point: breakfast starts at 8.00 a.m. - which it is rather late, especially for those travelling on business. 7.00 a.m. would be more reasonable.


  • June 2015

Terrible mistake

This place was awful.

We arrived without having been provided with the door code to get in. We eventually had to beg another guest to let us in - he was understandably reluctant. Having negotiated that we then had to find our room key and walk up 2 flights of very steep stairs to get to our room. It was not en suite which came a s a shock. The shared bathroom was next door and we were kept awake all night by other guests using it, and by them trying to work the locks on the doors of their rooms - everyone including us seemed to have problems with that. In the morning the breakfast was down 3 flights of steep stairs in the basement. Definitely not worth the ridiculous amount of money that we paid for it.

  • Victoria Rose Budby

  • February 2015

Regency Guest House


  • David S

  • December 2014

No parking, overpriced hostel.

No where to park.

Tried to call the hotel for a permit to park outside but couldn't get through to anyone. spoke to the lady serving breakfast about a permit but she said she wasn't sure. Ended up with a £70 parking ticket. The room was very basic with noise from the local pub until after 1am. Also wasn't an ensuite room which wasn't clearly explained. Shared bathroom with atleast 4 other rooms. Wallpaper hanging off the walls and filthy carpets. Continental breakfast was fairly good.

  • M Banyard

  • December 2014

The apartment was spotless and for the price was close to the city center

  • Sam Block

  • November 2014

Great value (for Cambridge)

A very nice, clean, if simple, room in central Cambridge.

Really good at the price.

  • Dom L

  • November 2014

Lovely little apartment in a good location for transport

I was attending a gig at The Junction, and so found this apartment.

It sits in a very quiet residential area on the far side of the train station, so despite it's close proximity on the map it's about a ten minute walk to reach it. The apartment itself is utterly lovely - the sun terrace looked amazing (although it was too cold to sit out there) and the ned was huge.

However, we did have some problems with the hot water - the signs advised us to let it heat up for 20 minutes, but even after half an hour there was still only a small amount of hot water before it became tepid (not great for a shower or bath). I had to pick up keys from the main guest room (which was in the city centre so a bit of a trek) but they had offered to leave them at the apartment for us. We didn't actually see anyone at the guest house, but the contact we did have with them was excellent and friendly. If it wasn't for the hot water, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Sophie M

  • October 2014

Okay but expensive for a room that is not that great.

Pros: Great location Easy to come and go Nicely decorated rooms Cons: Room lock was difficult to use - very stiff.

Expensive for what it is - £125 for a nothing very special room and hotel.

Toilet seat was broken. Lamp didn't work. Blind was broken and only opened one side. Balcony was littered with cigarette butts and empty plastic bottles. When you run water in the sink, it comes up the shower plughole.

  • Katherine P

  • September 2014

Got bumped up

There was some booking issue, so I got bumped up to a nice apartment, which I wish I could have had for longer.

The staff were very nice, and made sure I knew exactly where I was going by meeting me and taking me there. There was no tea or soap, but considering it was clearly meant to be a long-term place, it was understandable. I'd definitely recommend this.