No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Regency Guest House

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
7 Regent Terrace, , , Cambridge, CB2 1AA
Regency Guest House is a beautiful Victorian building located in Cambridge City centre. The house was built in 1850 and has the charming characteristics of a typical Victorian townhouse, with high ceilings, tall windows, and a basement. There are 10 rooms split over 4 levels. Most rooms have a view of the historical 25 acre Parker’s Piece. Regency Guest House is within a short walking distance of Cambridge’s famous University colleges as well as museums, galleries, shops and restaurants. The bus station is a 4 minute walk and the train station is just over 10 minutes away. Regency Guest House has been under new management since late 2013 and we have slowly been renovating and improving the feel of the house. The house has undergone a huge transformation with new carpets, furniture and fittings. Wi-Fi now runs as standard throughout the house and is free to use for all guests. Every room now has a flat screen TV, DAB radio, tea and coffee making facilities, comfortable mattresses with duck and down feather duvets and pillows. A Continental breakfast is served in the morning from 8-9am. Bread and croissants are freshly baked every day and are enjoyed with a fresh pot of coffee. We also have 2 beautiful luxury apartments: St Matthew’s Apartment and Bailey House Apartment. These are available for short or long stays. Our apartments are situated nearby to the Train Station, Shopping Centre, Restaurants and University Colleges. The apartmenta have between one and three bedrooms with comfortable twin or king sized beds, bathroom with shower, fully equipped kitchen with fridge/freezer, washer dryer, microwave, oven and hob, complete with all utensils and crockery, lounge and dining area with sofa, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi. Please contact us for check-in information and the apartment address once you have placed a booking. Click on the ‘Room’ section of this website for further information on our Guest House rooms and our Apartments.
Picture of Regency Guest House, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
The accommodation was ok for a one night stay only, bathroom and toilets are shared, so throughout the night there were lots of people coming an going, making sleep extremely difficult with doors constantly opening and closing

Reviewed by
amanda d

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late Rooms
The room was clean, and the bed comfortable. I could not get the TV to work, but I did not try very hard. The lack of an on-suite bathroom is a definite limitation, as you have to get up in the night dress and go to the bathroom, and someone left the windows open for the bathroom first thing in the morning so it was fresh but as cold as heck. I thought the breakfast was very good. For the price still a good deal.

Reviewed by
Edward A

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
C STIRLING

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Nice value for money bed and breakfast in the city center, Good breakfast and good customer service team, Recommended!

Reviewed by
r metta

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just about Ok
No one on reception. Blinds in bedroom broken which I had to wedge shut with some toilet paper. Apart from that room was ok and breakfast just about Ok but expensive for what you get.

Reviewed by
michael c

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

central Cambridge
Easy to find, warm, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast. I left my suitcase as arranged on departure day and returned early afternoon and shared bathroom still hadn't been cleaned, couldn't get bedside light to work, front door not very secure as guests have to make a point of checking it has closed properly each time.

Reviewed by
Angie G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very cosy and comfortable town house within 5 minutes of Cambridge city centre. Especially good for one night stay

Reviewed by
n rimmer

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impersonal, clean, perfunctory, small
I stayed here one night when I went down to Cambridge for a party. The room was clean but very small. I hadn't expected to share a shower. There is no reception so no one to greet you or tell you about the place. So it's extremely impersonal. all that for £110 which I thought was hugely over priced. It is in a very central location though so I guess that's why it's expensive.

Reviewed by
Tim C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedding type and bedsize both substandard for a double room
Bedding very low quality (nylon) and therefore unable to sleep as it accumulated moisture overnight, was damp and cold. Bed was not normal standard width for a double bed and very difficult to sleep in comfortably. For a comfortable double bed it needs to be at least two feet wider. Clearly the bed has been specially designed to fit the very restricted space, not the other way around as two single beds would not fit available space without room redesign.
The hotel was very conveniently located for my business but will never arrange to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Peter Simpson

From RICHMOND, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location and staff
Perfectly situated halfway between the train station and city centre, the Regent overlooks a lovely park. Staff are friendly and helpful and not intrusive. Room was clean and bright. An old building though that creaks from time to time but that was part of its charm. Perfectly warm in May, when I stayed, I think the rooms with big bay windows could be chilly in winter, so it is worth bearing this in mind when booking. Try to get a room which overlooks the park at the front. I had a room that faced back, and while certainly not unpleasant, it did face toward a pub garden a few doors down which is can be noisy on balmy evenings. All in all the place gets a solid 8 out of ten from me.

Reviewed by
Paul Clifford

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next