No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kingsway Hotel

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
36 Kings road, , , Harrogate, HG1 5JW
The Kingsway Hotel is a converted Victorian townhouse in Central Harrogate. It is privately owned and has been in the same family for over twenty years. All our rooms have private facilities, remote-control colour television, hospitality tray, hair dryer, alarm clock, sumptuous towels and toiletries. Ironing facilities available on request. we are child friendly. We also offer 2 off-street parking. The hotel is located opposite the exhibition halls on Kings Road, and is midway between the Royal Hall and the International Centre, each about 50 yards away. The hotel is less than a quarter of a mile from both Rail and Bus Stations, an easy ten-minute stroll. Taxis are usually available on the rank at the station. Harrogate is well-known for its many fine restaurants and cafes, most of which are within an easy walking distance. However, you can enjoy an ample home-cooked Yorkshire breakfast each morning at the hotel. The spa town of Harrogate is well-situated for exploring the many attractions of Yorkshire and the North of England, and is just 90 minutes from both East and West Coasts. The historic City of York, and the businesses of Leeds are both 30 minutes on the train or by car.
Picture of The Kingsway Hotel, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable accommodation, friendly staff
Aim of trip was to relax. Hotel was perfect for this. Quiet, comfortable and clean. Photos on the website made it look old fashioned but my room had been updated and was very pleasant apart from the shower, which wasn't very powerful and breakfast finishing at 9am - so no chance of sleeping late. However, this didn't spoil the weekend. Would go again.

Reviewed by
Susan B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly, very compact, will stay again
Other than very steep stairs, the hotel was very well designed to fit all the essential en suite services into fairly small rooms. Owners/staff were very friendly without being intrusive. Very different to other small hotels I've tried in that area! Decor was modern and stylish and fresh. Only criticisms were minor cosmetic issues, like a loose door handle, but would happily stay there again.

Reviewed by
Jane F

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but.....!
The room was clean, the bed comfy and the breakfast fine. Access to the B&B was only available after 5 pm so had to wait and unfortunately, the stay was let down by the room having a very tiny bathroom. Apart from the size, the wash basin had a very loose tap which spun around on the water pipe and the door didn't stay shut.
In spite of this, would stay again as bits can be mended.

Reviewed by
Allan B

From Wales
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arriving in Harrogate it would have been useful to be told where to park and that we would have to collect a parking display ticket from the Hotel in order to park nearby. Our room was tasteful and clean. It was reasonable for a night's stay. The facilities were good even though the bathroom was very compact. I did feel uneasy about not being able to lock the bedroom door despite being shown how to do this. It didn't seem to work. My daughter and I were disappointed with the overcooked breakfast. Fatty bacon, over cooked egg - a pity. Friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Keri B

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable with clean and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
E Besso

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super
Easy to find, very clean and staff very helpful. The breakfast was really good. Was even able to leave my luggage and go back for it later as there is no left luggage facility at the train station. Made my stay totally stress free.

Reviewed by
jacqui dow

From lerwick, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is ideally situated for the town centre , shops , restaurants & pubs..the proprietors were very nice and helpful , we will gladly use this hotel again . Good value for money .

Reviewed by
g beadle

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and tidy, comfy bed, lovely shower and great breakfast
this is a well presented guest house which is bang opposite the conference centre, within easy walking distance from both the train and bus station and also the local nightlife it is within walking distance from shopping areas and restaurants.... PERFECT

Reviewed by
D Byrne

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stopover in ideal location
Stayed for night was very pleased with the location, so central no extra money wasted on taxis and so near to all our planned activities we didn't waste time traipsing about. Room was pleasant and clean. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family.

Reviewed by
Samantha H

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All good
All good.

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next