No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ashfield House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Summers Fold, Grassington, , Skipton, BD23 5AE
This 17th Century Grade II listed house simply oozes character. Your resident hosts, Joe and Elizabeth, extend a warm welcome to every guest; making you feel at home from the minute you arrive for your holiday. The atmosphere in this North Yorkshire guest house is simply magical. Although smaller than some of the other luxury hotels in the Yorkshire Dales, you will be captivated by its charm, understated elegance and sheer beauty. We offer you: Exceptional hospitality AA 5-star accommodation The charm of a Grade II listed building Delightful en-suite rooms Award-winning dining Full Residential and restaurant licence A large tranquil walled garden Drying room and iron facilities A 'No Smoking' establishmentPrivate parking facilities A visit to Ashfield House is like coming home. Nothing is too much trouble. We endeavour to provide you with all the home comforts which you might miss when you go away for your break Exceptional Quality Herbal and Environmentally friendly Complimentary Personal Care products which include: Shampoo, Shower gel and Eau de Toilette Luxury towelling and robes Courtesy tray with delicious Yorkshire Tea and other refreshments including Fresh Ground Coffee and Fresh Milk Pure Egyptian cotton bedding Our Garden Suite and the seven twin or double-bedded rooms also offer en-suite facilities, colour television, and hairdryers, as a minimum standard. If you are looking for a romantic interlude, celebrating a special anniversary or birthday then visit Ashfield House. Relax in our Home from Home environment and enjoy our friendly Hospitality, There are no strangers in our house, just friends we have yet to meet Joe and Elizabeth
Picture of Ashfield House, Skipton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ashfield House an A1 stay
A beautiful tucked away house in the picturesque village of Grassington. On arriving we had an increadably warm welcome by both staff and the owners. We stayed in room 2 which is at the front of the property and it was just perfect, and the home made cookies left in the room for us were delicious.
We and a very comfortable 4 night stay and truly felt like Ashfield House was home from home,and we will most definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
Sharon Davis

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country B&B
My partner and I stayed here for a weekend away. The B&B is in a lovely old house, right in the centre of Grassington village. The room was lovely - comfy bed, great quality shower en-suite and lovely touches with the toweling robes etc. The honesty bar in the lounge was great too. Breakfast was very high quality, with plenty of choice. Staff very pleasant. Car parking is restricted, both at the B&B and also in the centre of Grassington. Not a problem for us as we managed to get a space, but wouldn't have fancied our chances if we'd arrived much later.

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winter Weekend Break
We arrived at around 9pm and we received a very warm welcome, everything about the guest house was explained to us and we then shown to our room with our bags carried for us. We have never had so much for so little from robes and slippers to proper coffee and home made cookies left in the room. Breakfast was very nice from the home made yogurt to home made granola and fruit compote followed by freshly prepared locally sourced produce. I would just like to say nothing was to much trouble. Thankyou for a wonderful stay.

Reviewed by
Andrew Lindsay

From Pickering, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a peaceful week
I wanted a b&b for a specific date, which unfortunately coincided with a local festival, making rooms scarce. I booked a self catering flat through lateroooms. Joe the owner rang me to reduce the price and throw in breakfast, which proved excellent. I also ate dinner in the hotel most nights, which I was asked to order in the morning, and used the hotel lounge.

Reviewed by
John White

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home away from home
We came here for our first wedding anniversary and had a lovely time. Much more like a home than a hotel. Was lovely to be able to sit and chat with the other guests over drinks before dinner and then again over coffee before bedtime. Great accomodation and great company.

Reviewed by
R Dennigan

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'd always wanted to say there as Ashfield House is very attractive from the outside.
Was slightly disappointed in our stay as our room was in need updating. The en suite was much better with modern clean fittings though the cork floor didn't suit the new look.
Was also disappointed that our room and none of the communal rooms didn't overlook the beautiful garden. It is a lovely spot but I'd hoped inside would have lovelier than it was. Sorry if that doesn't sound fair. Just a little room for improvement :-)

Reviewed by
J Cunningham

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hospitality - in a lovely venue
Joe & Elizabeth certainly know how to welcome and look after people! Beautiful venue in a gorgeous location in the Dales. Room had everything you'd expect from a good hotel. The warmth of the hospitality was a pleasant surprise that's often missing at other hotels. Can't comment on food, as the timings of my stay didn't allow for me to eat at Ashfield House.

Reviewed by
Mike D

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was an excellent choice.
We stayed in one of the suites at Ashfield House over Easter holiday weekend. It was an excellent choice. The staff where helpful and friendly, the location was perfect and the food provided especially the leg of lamb was the best I have ever tasted. Without doubt when we visit the Yorkshire Dales in the future we will stay as Ashfield House.

Reviewed by
James K

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

welcoming, friendly atmosphere. room was lovely and staff could not do enough to make our stay more comfortable, would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
w cuthill

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
k binns

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next