No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ridge Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
The Ridge, Whiteshoots Hill, , Bourton on the Water, GL54 2LE
Year round enjoy the fabulous views surrounding our home or just relax on the terrace. Situated in 2 acres of lawned gardens, less than one mile from the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water, The Ridge offers high quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation for visitors to the Cotswolds. You are certain to feel at home with comfortable accommodation blended with a wonderful relaxed atmosphere. We have 6 rooms available (4 doubles and 2 twin/family rooms all of which are en-suite) one of which is our Four Poster room. All rooms offer: mini fridges (containing mineral water and fresh milk) tea, coffee & chocolate making facilities hairdryer and hot water bottles additional room heater and fan alarm clock radio television Every room has a full hospitality basket Free WiFi. Bourton-on-the-Water has been described as the 'Little Venice' of the Cotswolds and is one of the most popular tourist spots in the region being serviced by the many shops, cafe's, and attractions.
Picture of The Ridge Guest House, Bourton on the Water at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Ridge Review
We were made to feel very welcome and we had tea/coffee facilities in the room with a tv. the bed was firm and comfortable, although the quilt was too warm for the autumn. It would have been ideal for the winter. The full English breakfast made a great way to start the day and was well cooked and hot.

Reviewed by
David Barclay

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Professionally run and private, very clean.
I don't normally like guest houses as it is too much like being in someone elses house with them watching you every time you move. This feels more like a small hotel and offers hotel like privacy.
Rooms are fresh, very clean with nice decor. They feel like a hotel room and are not too 'chintszy'
Owner is very pleasant and courteous with a very professional manner. Breakfast was very good
and could only have been improved with a better sausage.Altogether recommended.

Reviewed by
Christine Casey

From Sunbury on Thames, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, clean and comfortable room with a very good breakfast. There was no noise from the busy road close by but we were woken by the use of the shower in an adjoining room.
The owner was very friendly and helpful and we would stay there again.

Reviewed by
P Hunt

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
It was our 40 year anniversary and we so looked forward to this stay. The room was cold and the only heater available did not have sufficient flex to reach the plug! The bathroom was tiny and full of black mold inside the shower and on the shower head. The gardens were extensive but we were told that we could only sit in one specific spot. The breakfast was poor and so we decided to leave after only 1 night. The host did not like that we had booked via Late Rooms and said if we had booked with him he would of ensured that our "special occasion" would of been marked with the room with a four poster bed. (I had informed Late Rooms re Ruby anniversary on booking - so he obviously was aware of this and still gave us an inferior room).

Reviewed by
Margaret B

From Hereford, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
The only fault was we went out to eat in the evening
And could not get a taxi anywhere to bring us back, so had to do the very long walk, which was highly dangerous, as no lights on road, please get something organises.

Reviewed by
Barbara Horan

From Hornchurch , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting
I would recommend to anyone - the room was lovely and overlooked a magnificent garden -
it was also within walking distance of Burton-on-the-Water - (aprox 20 mins) - Lovely
breakfast in the morning servged piping hot !

Reviewed by
H Lawry

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although the B&B is outside of the main town, we were close enough to hike into town one day. The other days we traveled to neighboring towns, so it wasn't a problem. The place is exceptionally clean and well appointed. The best part for me was the breakfast. It's generous and sufficient for the entire day!!

Reviewed by
Helen C

From Austin, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room was very small with mirror badly placed in relation to the one available electrical point for my wife to use the hair drier. pleased to see tea making facilities available although no biscuits provided for our second nights stay. Surely you can afford another pack of biscuits. Breakfast finishes at 9-15, far too early. We are on holiday and would appreciate a later time for breakfast, e.g.10 o'c.

Reviewed by
Ronald Rayner

From Hockley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Ridge Guest House
Our room (No. 7) was clean and tidy with enough space. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, especially the sausages. Ithink with all the farm shops etc in the area it would be lovely to have a breakfast based on fresh local produce. The coffee, though fresh in a caffetier was weak and tasteless. Tinned fruit served, where fresh fuit would have been lovely. We also found 45 minute slot for breakfast quite restrictive as it was from 08:30 - 09:15. If you have been travelling and/or are a bit jet lagged then this could be an isue.
John welcomed us early in the evening. He explained the hours of breakfast, how to get in and out etc. He also helped with some local knowledge and directions which was great.
Just a couple of comments on the room (which faced the garden). One of the bedside lights wasn't working (I forgot to mention this to John). It might be worthwhile doing a daily check of the rooms using a checklist to ensure that the basics are working? The bathroom could benefit from an extra towel rail and also a couple of shelves or small unit to place wash bags etc on. I ended up putting my stuff on the floor.
There was also a large damp patch on the wall of the bathroom which needs looking at. This caused the bathroom to smell of damp.
However, the bathroom and room where clean. As other guests have said the sound insulation between rooms is non-existent and we could hear everything including the TV from the next room.
Mattress was a bit uncomfortable and probably could do with replacing as I think it was old.
It was nice to have tea/coffee/hot chocolate in the room with fresh milk.
The Guest House is a fair way from Bourton-on-the-Water village centre, so a drive is needed and parking can be a problem in the high season. The guest house is at the top of a large hill so though okay to walk down you might struggle coming back! Plenty of parking at the house and also storage for bikes which is helpful.
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple.

ManagementResponse

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our small country bed and breakfast. We use local produce for breakfasts and recently road tested local sausages and are now using the most popular, accepting that everyone's taste is different. We use Douwe Egberts coffee and if an extra strong brew was needed we are sorry that you did not mention this at the time and we would have been pleased to make you something stronger. When guests need different times for breakfasts we endeavour to meet their needs but with most people being on holiday this timescale is good for them. We accept that light bulbs can go the next time they are used and are replaced as soon as we find that they have gone. With regards to the small mark in the bathroom, this is the residual mark following a repair and is not actual damp. We are sorry that guests in the bedroom near yours did not consider others and made excessive noise. Our home is just that and not a custom built soundproofed unit. With regards to our beds, this bed was replaced last year as all our bedding is, on a rolling programme of replacement with all beds changed regularly but accept that everyone likes something different. We are just 1 mile from the centre of the village situated near the brow of a hill and we tell our guests where they can park in the village which is well served with car parking.

Reviewed by
Leila L

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good choice
Really enjoyed our stay great room lots of space to move around. Lovely gardens to sit in and read with a drink . Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Frederick P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next