No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Friars Rest Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
81 Fulford Road, , YORK, York, YO10 4BD
Welcome to Friars Rest

Philip would like to welcome you to Friars Rest Guest House, which has been owned by the same family for many years. We take pride in the high standard of hospitality and comfort that we offer our guests and take particular care in cleanliness and attention to detail. You will be assured of a warm welcome and a lovely cooked breakfast in our elegant dining room.

Friars Rest has been awarded an English Tourism Council 3 Stars (Recommended). We are centrally located and offer guaranteed free off road or on road car parking. (Essential in York)

We also have FREE 24hr wireless high speed internet access available to those wishing to use their own Wi-fi laptop computer at the guest house whilst staying with us, subject to compatibility.

NB: Although we welcome children, we cannot accommodate any children under the age of 3.

Friars Rest Guest House is a Central York Bed & Breakfast within a 8-10 minute Riverside walk to York City Centre and most attractions.

“Beautiful stay wish we could stay longer”
Tanya May Toronto Canada

“Delightful accommodation thank you”
Helen & Bob Apple Valley Mn

“Been very happy here breakfast excellent”
Gwyn & Sue Chester

“Very nice rooms good breakfast, enjoyed stay we loved it!!”
Picture of Friars Rest Guest House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service on arriving, room was nice and the cooked breakfast was great too, recommended.

Reviewed by
Dean M

From Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely warm welcome.
We had a four hour drive down to York. We were met by a lovely warm welcome by Phil. The room was comfortable, quiet and spacious. Breakfast was hot and tasty. I would recommend The Friars Rest to anyone.

Reviewed by
Nicola Marshall

From Auchterarder, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

August 2014
Pleasant traditional style guest house 15 mins walk from the minster.
Warm and friendly welcome with good quality breakfast . would be happy to stay again.


Reviewed by
l dunnett

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy
This was a very good guest house and I will recommend it to family and friends and I will go again. It was within walking distance of the main shopping centre and a lovely walk along the river. We were made very welcome the food and service was very good. Thanks again.

Reviewed by
Lynda B

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly made you welcome would go back again
un suite to small in room 2

Reviewed by
derek riches

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friars rest guest house
nice accommodation and only a few minutes walk along the river to the more central parts of york. Only stayed the one night so cannot give a great deal of information. Room was nice enough and owner phillip was friendly

Reviewed by
S WILSON

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second time
the is my second time traveling in York. And I chose the same guest house because of Phil's (the Host) kindness and the wonderful experience during the first visit. Comfortable beds, clean washrooms with shower gel and of course the wonderful breakfast. I definitely recommend people who would like to travel and relax with wonderful environment choose Friars Rest Guest House! It;s great!

Reviewed by
YU Y

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very restful
A great place to stay. Would defiantly stay again. Lovely and friendly host..wonderful breakfast

Reviewed by
tammy lydiate

From Milnthorpe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely guest house
lovely guest house our 2nd stay and enjoyed it as we did the first time.

Reviewed by
S Read

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

York stay
The room was newly decorated and very clean and tidy. The accommodation was a very pleasant short walk along the river to the centre of York. The service was very friendly.

Reviewed by
richard w

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next