No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Friars Rest Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
81 Fulford Road, , YORK, York, YO10 4BD
Welcome to Friars Rest Philip would like to welcome you to Friars Rest Guest House, which has been owned by the same family for many years. We take pride in the high standard of hospitality and comfort that we offer our guests and take particular care in cleanliness and attention to detail. You will be assured of a warm welcome and a lovely cooked breakfast in our elegant dining room. Friars Rest has been awarded an English Tourism Council 3 Stars (Recommended). We are centrally located and offer guaranteed free off road or on road car parking. (Essential in York) We also have FREE 24hr wireless high speed internet access available to those wishing to use their own Wi-fi laptop computer at the guest house whilst staying with us, subject to compatibility. NB: Although we welcome children, we cannot accommodate any children under the age of 3. Friars Rest Guest House is a Central York Bed & Breakfast within a 8-10 minute Riverside walk to York City Centre and most attractions. “Beautiful stay wish we could stay longer” Tanya May Toronto Canada “Delightful accommodation thank you” Helen & Bob Apple Valley Mn “Been very happy here breakfast excellent” Gwyn & Sue Chester “Very nice rooms good breakfast, enjoyed stay we loved it!!”
Picture of Friars Rest Guest House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We thoroughly enjoyed our second visit to Friars Rest. The accommodation was very comfortable and the breakfast was superb. Excellent value for money! We will definitely go back.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for a really nice review of your stay with us. We are pleased you have returned for a second visit and we do try to provide good accommodation and good value for money. Take care, Phil.

Reviewed by
Catherine Lord

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely place to stay. Nothing too much trouble. Would certainly recommend to family and friends.

Reviewed by
p Coatz

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly
Late booking so weren't sure what to expect but it was perfect. Phil and staff were very friendly, room was fine, parking was great and its a 15 min walk by the river to the city.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yorks little treasure.
A warm and friendly welcome greets travellers at The Friars Rest in York. Ideally situated and within walking distance of the city centre. The rooms are comfortable, well equipped and very clean. The breakfast was excellent. Attention to detail is obvious everywhere from the well tended front garden to the well stocked visitor information desk. The owners are lovely. We chose to have a semi ensuite room as we were only staying one night. Excellent value for money. We will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Christopher Jones

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy, clean and quiet.
Friars Rest location ideal to explore York. Easy walk into the centre. The guesthouse itself was comfortable, very well organised, clean and provided everything we needed to make our stay a successful one. Plenty to eat at breakfast and the staff were helpful and friendly. Felt we had great value for money.
Would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Denise Hughes

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay in york.
Can't fault this B and B in anything.Top marks.

Reviewed by
R Morgan

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant!
Absolutely lovely stay! Food was great, bed was comfy, people were friendly! What more could you want?

Reviewed by
H Blumenau

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
I cannot stress enough that if you have issues with stairs, for any reason, being given room 5 or 6 is a going to be a big problem for you!! The shower in six was a bit like a coffin and the water wouldn't heat up. Room is nice and quiet though - didn't notice any street noise.

Reviewed by
Brooke S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Clean Guest House
A very pleasent weekend stay at the Friars for my wife and i. We are regular visitors to York and have stopped in numerous B&Bs in york and have to say the Friars did not let us down. We booked a double, Room 1. Recentley decorated also has a massive shower big enough for 6 i kid you not., the usual tea and coffee facilities and TV in room. Good vegi breki served from 8.15 - 9.00 private off road parking and a friendly welcome from host phil. It is a pleasent 10 minute walk by the river or by the main rd. If you arrive feeling a little hungry dont miss the Masons arms on the main rd into town, well worth stopping off in this charming traditional pub with excellent value food and drink.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent guest house with friendly & helpful staff. Room was extremely spacious & comfortable. Breakfast was lovely with excellent variety & choices.

Reviewed by
Colin Keenan

From Stonehaven, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next