No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Friars Rest Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
81 Fulford Road, , YORK, York, YO10 4BD
Welcome to Friars Rest

Philip would like to welcome you to Friars Rest Guest House, which has been owned by the same family for many years. We take pride in the high standard of hospitality and comfort that we offer our guests and take particular care in cleanliness and attention to detail. You will be assured of a warm welcome and a lovely cooked breakfast in our elegant dining room.

Friars Rest has been awarded an English Tourism Council 3 Stars (Recommended). We are centrally located and offer guaranteed free off road or on road car parking. (Essential in York)

We also have FREE 24hr wireless high speed internet access available to those wishing to use their own Wi-fi laptop computer at the guest house whilst staying with us, subject to compatibility.

NB: Although we welcome children, we cannot accommodate any children under the age of 3.

Friars Rest Guest House is a Central York Bed & Breakfast within a 8-10 minute Riverside walk to York City Centre and most attractions.

“Beautiful stay wish we could stay longer”
Tanya May Toronto Canada

“Delightful accommodation thank you”
Helen & Bob Apple Valley Mn

“Been very happy here breakfast excellent”
Gwyn & Sue Chester

“Very nice rooms good breakfast, enjoyed stay we loved it!!”
Picture of Friars Rest Guest House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friars Rest Guest House, York
Lovely B&B, would use again

Reviewed by
G Brown

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well pleased
The location was fantastic for our needs, within easy walking distance of the city centre. Although on a busy main road the room we had was front facing but surprisingly quiet and extremely comfortable, the service was impeccable and the breakfast was superior well worth the price and the visit will use again when next in York.

Reviewed by
Michael Cox

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friars Rest Guest House
Easy to get to. Short walk into York city centre. Very CLEAN, nice bedding, curtains & towels provided. Warm welcome. Very helpful & accommodating. Lovely breakfast. Great break away.

Reviewed by
A Crawford

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent good value accommodation for short stay whilst visiting York

Reviewed by
Karl W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little hotel near to the city centre. Very clean, breakfast was excellent and parking was a bonus.

Reviewed by
H Price

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B
Great service, all members of staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Jessica T

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality accommodation
Fabulous b & b clean tidy very nicely presented. Service was excellent and breakfast lovely would definately stay there again.

Reviewed by
yvonne w

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A b&b close to city centre
This B & B is just what a weekend traveller needs . Would use again .

Reviewed by
A Shaw

From Beeston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and excellent value
Really well-placed to explore York and car-parking is a real bonus too.

Reviewed by
Sandy B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfied customers
We were comfortable, well looked after, and well fed! The guest house is clean, comfortable, and ideally situated for a gentle stroll into York, or transport links if you don't feel up to the walk. The guaranteed parking space is an undoubted bonus, too. We would certainly return, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accommodation.

Reviewed by
C Allen

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next