No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Isles Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Somerled Square, , , Portree, IV51 9EH
The Isles Inn is situated in a quiet corner of Somerled Square yet only minutes away from the Shops, Harbour and Swimming Pool. Portree is located in the centre of the Isle of Skye and is an ideal location for touring the Misty Isle and beyond to the islands of Lewis and Harris. The Isles Inn in Portree has 9 rooms as follows: 2 Family, 3 double, 1 twin. 1 single. & 2 triples, 7 rooms are en-suite and 2 have private facilities. Two of the rooms have four poster beds. The rooms are on the first and second floors of the Inn. All rooms have Sky TV. We invite our Guests to enjoy freshly prepared dishes using Langoustines landed on the Pier perhaps ten minutes earlier or Sconser Scallops hand dived just down the road and bought straight to your table. There is Scottish Beef & Venision, or why not try the local Haggis, Neeps & Tatties. Vegetarians are most certainly not forgotten with choices ranging my creamy home-made lasagne to mushroom tagatelle and goats cheese & onion flan to name just a few. SCOTTISH FLAVOURS Finished you dinner - then why not partake of ‘the Golden Spirit of Skye’ Talisker Whisky. Sit in our thatched traditional Skye Black Crofthouse Bar in front of the roaring open fire and contemplate your day or perhaps listen to the live Ceildh Music which is played throughout the year.
Picture of The Isles Inn, Portree at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
The light bulb in room 2 burned you if you stood near it, also the toilet seat was cracked making it look unpleasant/dirty. Apart from that the room was spacious & clean, the breakfast was also nice even thought the waitress could not tell me with 100% certainty if the bacon was smoked or not ( im allergic to unsmoked bacon) so I gave my bacon to my partner rather than run the risk of an allergic reaction. The pub downstairs pub was nice with a real fire, great atmosphere, only downside was they had ran out of some types of beers

ManagementResponse

The bulb in the bathroom is a heat lamp which is why it gives off heat. Apologies for the toilet seat that has now been remedied. I have spoken to the waitress and she says she did tell you twice that the bacon was unsmoked (which is all we use) but was obviously not clear in her explanation to you, apologies again. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review.

Reviewed by
E Toms

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and clean accommodation.

Reviewed by
r gilmour

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here with my partner on Tuesday night. Arrived at 8.30pm and we were surprised to find that meals were being served until 9.30pm, the food was amazing and we couldn't fault the service we received. Our room was nice, clean and although it looked onto the square, it wasn't noisy at all. We had a lovely breakfast before setting off for home. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend The Isles Inn to family and friends.

Reviewed by
P CAMPBELL

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Food
My Wife & I stayed here for 1 night while travelling around the Isle of Skye, the staff were very friendly, the food was fantastic and the bar a warm and cosy place. I have seen other reviews for this hotel, but was not put off by any bad comments and glad I wasn't. For the price £70 for a large double room, I could not complain at all. When ever we return to Skye I will make sure we stop off again.

Reviewed by
Mark R

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overall value
Great Location right in the middle of Portree, surrounded by pubs shops etc. Very good room 3 but watch out for a noisy vent from the kitchen between 8 am and 9.30 pm when it is turned off. Excellent full breakfast and the evening meal was good too.

Reviewed by
David Harding

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great seafood
Very friendly and delicious food in restaurant. Small room but comfy enough.
Only negative was the noisy toilet on the top floor.

Reviewed by
M McMillan

From Welland Ont., Canada
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food and entertainment!
I was disappointed when I saw the attic room my husband and I were given. The sloping ceilings were very low and we bumped our heads on them constantly. The bed was clean but the room wasn't. There were cobwebs at the windows on the inside and the window frame was split and badly in need of painting. The wall lights over the bed looked like they hadn't been dusted in months. That said we were only staying for one night so didn't complain.
On the positive side we enjoyed a really good value for money dinner in the bar and the breakfast was also very good.
There was evening entertainment and a good atmosphere in the bar.
This Inn is not at all suitable for the elderly or anyone with mobility problems as the staircase to the rooms is narrow and winding with quite a number of stairs especially if you are on the top floor.

Reviewed by
Linda M

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mama mia in the Highlands!
Great place for our precious days in Skye.
Great food attentive staff.Lively bar scene.
All good...the place to be.

Reviewed by
christie f

From USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great price, great breakfast
Ideal stop over for traveling over Skye or all of Scotland as my wife & i did
Did not like _the cloud WiFi
Wound be great if they got there own WiFi in

Reviewed by
John G

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic customer service, friendly and warm folks

Reviewed by
Ruth M

From USA
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next