No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Isles Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Somerled Square, , , Portree, IV51 9EH
The Isles Inn is situated in a quiet corner of Somerled Square yet only minutes away from the Shops, Harbour and Swimming Pool. Portree is located in the centre of the Isle of Skye and is an ideal location for touring the Misty Isle and beyond to the islands of Lewis and Harris. The Isles Inn in Portree has 9 rooms as follows: 2 Family, 3 double, 1 twin. 1 single. & 2 triples, 7 rooms are en-suite and 2 have private facilities. Two of the rooms have four poster beds. The rooms are on the first and second floors of the Inn. All rooms have Sky TV. We invite our Guests to enjoy freshly prepared dishes using Langoustines landed on the Pier perhaps ten minutes earlier or Sconser Scallops hand dived just down the road and bought straight to your table. There is Scottish Beef & Venision, or why not try the local Haggis, Neeps & Tatties. Vegetarians are most certainly not forgotten with choices ranging my creamy home-made lasagne to mushroom tagatelle and goats cheese & onion flan to name just a few. SCOTTISH FLAVOURS Finished you dinner - then why not partake of ‘the Golden Spirit of Skye’ Talisker Whisky. Sit in our thatched traditional Skye Black Crofthouse Bar in front of the roaring open fire and contemplate your day or perhaps listen to the live Ceildh Music which is played throughout the year.
Picture of The Isles Inn, Portree at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value B&B
Good Inn just over a pub right in the center of Portree. The hosts are very affable, and the breakfast you get in the morning is excellent. Room was clean and comfortable; though a bit small and not totally modern (which is to be expected in an old Inn). Good location to explore Skye.

Reviewed by
Austin P

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quibble
loud drunks outside hotel in town square up to 1.30 in morning on second night. Police should be dealing with this in such a tourist area.

Reviewed by
a henderson

From Dumbarton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired Room
The room was tired & in need of a spring clean & lick of paint, there was a band in the pub below which if you are a light sleeper would be annoying but we had been travelling all day so slept through the noise. Had a very good meal in the pub in the evening but couldn't have breakfast as had to leave for the early ferry. I would eat a meal here again but wouldn't stay again.

Reviewed by
k faulkner

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great location but needs some tlc
This is a pub so entrance is through the public bar which can be tricky. The room we had was different to the expected one and we were at the front but it was a nice sized room just a bit tired and needing a lick of paint. We had a comfortable nights sleep - it wasn't too noisy. The breakfast was very nice and my wife says her porridge was the best she has ever tasted ! We were there on a Tuesday night so had the treat of the wonderful Isle of Skye Pipe Band playing in the square. Fantasitc ! Portree is a lovely place and we would gladly return here for another stay.

Reviewed by
Mark H

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average Accommodation
OK for overnight accommodation. Price good for area compared to other places. Staff very helpful

Reviewed by
A Chandler

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good
Did what was advertised. Good sized clean room. But you can tell its a punch pub due to the staff being lovely but having hands tied with updating rooms, having no draught lager etc.

Reviewed by
D Ferguson

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly nice!
When we first arrived at the Inn, we didn't realize it was above a pub and started having 2nd thoughts. However, much to our pleasant surprise, we were quite impressed. The room was rather small, but extremely clean and pleasant. It was quiet (3rd floor), and very much served our purposes. The included breakfast was great, and the staff even better.
The only drawback was the 3rd floor climb. One of us has a bad knee so it was a little difficult, but manageable.

Reviewed by
Daryl C

From Goshen, USA
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday
During our stay on a positive note, we found the breakfast and service was fine. However, we were generally disappointed with the accommodation which was grubby and quite shabby. Some of the Hotel dining chairs were torn and there was a beer odour up the lower stairways. Although the shower was fine, our bathroom light was so dim it was difficult to shave, etc. The whole Hotel seemed to be in need of some TLC. Otherwise, Portree and surrounding area was lovely!

Reviewed by
Les B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fair price, fair room, nice location
We booked this room as it was cheap but with decent reviews. The Inn didn't let us down. The room (Gunn room 4 poster on the front) was a fair size and had a nice view over the square. As it was cheap we didn't expect too much and it is fair to say that the bedding and towels were low quality but in keeping with the price. The room was clean except for the two mirrors that needed a dust. When we arrived the bartender pretty much ignored us and I had to ask if there was a separate entrance, but he said no and checked us in. Apart from him all the staff were very pleasant. We ate in the restaurant and the food was nice. The cooked breakfast was very good. Don't stay here if you expect luxury but do if you are happy not to pay over the odds for a room for the night. Remember this is a pub with rooms above, not a hotel.

Reviewed by
Alexandra H

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very pleasant and very helpful. The meal in the evening was excellent and good value. The restaurant was so busy.

Reviewed by
P Findlay

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next