No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Isles Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Somerled Square, , , Portree, IV51 9EH
The Isles Inn is situated in a quiet corner of Somerled Square yet only minutes away from the Shops, Harbour and Swimming Pool. Portree is located in the centre of the Isle of Skye and is an ideal location for touring the Misty Isle and beyond to the islands of Lewis and Harris. The Isles Inn in Portree has 9 rooms as follows: 2 Family, 3 double, 1 twin. 1 single. & 2 triples, 7 rooms are en-suite and 2 have private facilities. Two of the rooms have four poster beds. The rooms are on the first and second floors of the Inn. All rooms have Sky TV. We invite our Guests to enjoy freshly prepared dishes using Langoustines landed on the Pier perhaps ten minutes earlier or Sconser Scallops hand dived just down the road and bought straight to your table. There is Scottish Beef & Venision, or why not try the local Haggis, Neeps & Tatties. Vegetarians are most certainly not forgotten with choices ranging my creamy home-made lasagne to mushroom tagatelle and goats cheese & onion flan to name just a few. SCOTTISH FLAVOURS Finished you dinner - then why not partake of ‘the Golden Spirit of Skye’ Talisker Whisky. Sit in our thatched traditional Skye Black Crofthouse Bar in front of the roaring open fire and contemplate your day or perhaps listen to the live Ceildh Music which is played throughout the year.
Picture of The Isles Inn, Portree at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food and entertainment!
I was disappointed when I saw the attic room my husband and I were given. The sloping ceilings were very low and we bumped our heads on them constantly. The bed was clean but the room wasn't. There were cobwebs at the windows on the inside and the window frame was split and badly in need of painting. The wall lights over the bed looked like they hadn't been dusted in months. That said we were only staying for one night so didn't complain.
On the positive side we enjoyed a really good value for money dinner in the bar and the breakfast was also very good.
There was evening entertainment and a good atmosphere in the bar.
This Inn is not at all suitable for the elderly or anyone with mobility problems as the staircase to the rooms is narrow and winding with quite a number of stairs especially if you are on the top floor.

Reviewed by
Linda M

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great price, great breakfast
Ideal stop over for traveling over Skye or all of Scotland as my wife & i did
Did not like _the cloud WiFi
Wound be great if they got there own WiFi in

Reviewed by
John G

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic customer service, friendly and warm folks

Reviewed by
Ruth M

From USA
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room in Portree
I booked last minute through LateRooms and am so glad that I did. The Inn was conveniently located and the room was clean, comfortable and a great value for the price. I would definitely recommend The Isles in if you are visiting Portree!

Reviewed by
J Laughlin

From Chicago, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

too expensive...
The price is for the location only. The rest is average, and the breakfast poor for 90£

Reviewed by
s rosa

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value B&B
Good Inn just over a pub right in the center of Portree. The hosts are very affable, and the breakfast you get in the morning is excellent. Room was clean and comfortable; though a bit small and not totally modern (which is to be expected in an old Inn). Good location to explore Skye.

Reviewed by
Austin P

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quibble
loud drunks outside hotel in town square up to 1.30 in morning on second night. Police should be dealing with this in such a tourist area.

Reviewed by
a henderson

From Dumbarton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired Room
The room was tired & in need of a spring clean & lick of paint, there was a band in the pub below which if you are a light sleeper would be annoying but we had been travelling all day so slept through the noise. Had a very good meal in the pub in the evening but couldn't have breakfast as had to leave for the early ferry. I would eat a meal here again but wouldn't stay again.

Reviewed by
k faulkner

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great location but needs some tlc
This is a pub so entrance is through the public bar which can be tricky. The room we had was different to the expected one and we were at the front but it was a nice sized room just a bit tired and needing a lick of paint. We had a comfortable nights sleep - it wasn't too noisy. The breakfast was very nice and my wife says her porridge was the best she has ever tasted ! We were there on a Tuesday night so had the treat of the wonderful Isle of Skye Pipe Band playing in the square. Fantasitc ! Portree is a lovely place and we would gladly return here for another stay.

Reviewed by
Mark H

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average Accommodation
OK for overnight accommodation. Price good for area compared to other places. Staff very helpful

Reviewed by
A Chandler

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next