No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bugle Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Square, Tichfield, , Fareham, PO14 4AF
Set in the quaint village of Titchfield, Hampshire, the Bugle Hotel is a popular destination for all walks of life, from Twitchers to Ramblers and Families alike. Close to the beautiful River Meon, Titchfield Haven and the Meon shoreline, Titchfield offers picturesque walks taking in our beautiful countryside. We would recommend a visit to Titchfield Abbey, founded in 1231 and steeped in history. For opening times of the Abbey please ask one of our staff who will be happy to help. Situated within easy reach of the M27, there is plenty to see and do in and around Titchfield including shopping and golf in Fareham. Nearby is the historic Dockyard of Portsmouth with many visitor attractions and slightly further afield but still within easy reach, are the historic cities of Southampton, Winchester and Salisbury. The Bugle Hotel offers 8 bedrooms, restaurant, bar and function facilities. You will find a variety of fine dining choices, including a daily fresh fish choice, and our all day Full English breakfast is second to none. Daily specials in both the bar and the restaurant are also a feature of our dining, all topped off with an extensive wine list which has something to match every palate.
Picture of The Bugle Hotel, Fareham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thye Breakfast was easily the best feature
The bed sloped at an angle making it very difficult to sleep. The shower was a bit grubby. There was a disco downstairs and although this finished at 11.00pm, everybody congregated outside and yelled at each other for the next hour or so. The staff left later, taxis outside. At about 5.00am the papers were delivered to he Co-op next door. This was quickly followed by further early deliveries. It was much noisier than my flat in London. The best feature was the breakfast which was substantial, well cooked and served by a really nice friendly man.

Reviewed by
Mike B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A mixed story
Lovely location. Helpful service.
Building full of character but really rather overdue some attention.
They have live bands once a month which we happened to coincide with. However we were told that it would stop at 11:00pm and it did.
Good breakfast

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff very pleasant but seemed put of their depth at running a hoel efficiently
Very nice old hotel in a lovely location
seemed under staffed ,room a little odd with a huge bath in the middle of the bedroom and no shower
staffed seem confused over the paying arrangements and we got charged twice for our bar tab
supposed to have been a carvery on saturday which was cancelled along with most of the desert menu ,all this as a result of breaking in a new chef
Breakfast was very good but took in excess of 20 minutes to arrive . staff were all very apologetic
probably would not use again

Reviewed by
t condon

From bridgewater, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor description of accommodation
I chose the premises as was advertised as a hotel only to pull up to a PUB. The reception was far below standard but would expect such for bar (pub) attendees. The reception desk was unattended, had to proceed to the bar counter for service. The bar lady was only interested with my payment. No details of our stay was communicated. We settled for the night in the pub rooms as we couldn't find an alternative as was late and all suitable premises were fully booked. Morning comes and as we come down for breakfast even with no word of welcome from the breakfast lady we were greeted with 'breakfast is not included with the room booking'. Need pay breakfast separately, although my booking confirmation showed The Bugle Hotel B&B . We settled for breakfast. Dirty cutlery and unset tables was awaiting us. We opted for continental breakfast as we could not be sure of the cleanliness of the kitchen. We were offered toast (2 pieces for two people). After breakfast we headed back to the 'room' but decided to vacate immediately. As we came from our room we met the morning service lady and seeing us with our luggage though we had booked for 2 nights, instead of inquiring why we are leaving before the booked time all she could tell us was 'I cannot refund the money for the second night booking.' We told her we were not expecting a refund and we left at that.

Reviewed by
MOSES M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant basic accommadation
Just what I needed. Great place to grab a few hours rest after a busy day. Its not the poshiest hotel but does the basics well.

Reviewed by
M Burgess

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked a double for two nights, moved out on second night without notice until arrival
Having had a decent number of previous stays at The Bugle, I was very put off by how I was treated during a recent stay there. Needing a room in which I could work properly and with a decent bed, I booked one of The Bugle's double rooms well in advance, which from past experience are quite OK. On arrival, by which time all other hotels in the area were full, I was told that my second night would be in a different, single room which turned out be really terrible. Rock hard, very very cheap bed, no desk and in excess of 100 degrees. Was no doubt the room they book out last.
I would not be quick post such a forthright and critical review, however the last straw was that I was invited before I left to fill in a form which I was told would be passed to the management team. This I took 10 minutes doing, left my number asking for a call but nothing back two weeks later. I won't be going back for one. Cheap it is but service like this should come at an even bigger discount.

Reviewed by
Steve H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Having known the Bugle Hotel for over 50 years, it was great to see that it has a fantastic manageress who really cares about it. Well done to all concerned.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Draper

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant hotel with giid facilities
The food was great and hotel is ideal for a short stay. The staff were polite and helpful but also relaxed enough for customers to enjoy their stay.

Reviewed by
M Rowlands

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Place to Put Your Head.
Location was excellent and had a nice walk in the evening.
Just remember this is a pub and so expectations should not be too high.
All in all it sufficed as a stopover nothing more.

Reviewed by
L Walsh

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not a place i would go again
very poor quality

Reviewed by
PETER W

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next