No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smugglers Rock Country House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Staintondale Road, Ravenscar, YO13 0ER
Georgian country house built ca.1840 as a temperance inn. It was later used as a coaching inn and the house has links to smugglers which was once a flourishing business on this part of the Yorkshire coast.

The house stands in 30 acres of land on which we have highland cattle, ducks, chickens and Shetland ponies.
Picture of Smugglers Rock Country House, Ravenscar at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smuggles Rest - 17 Aug 2014.
Fantastic overnight stay here. The place is idyllic and very peaceful. The room (6) was lovely. Very clean with great attention to detail. The proprietor was on hand but not intrusive in any way. We had a comfortable night and the following morning enjoyed a fantastic breakfast. A great place to stay and highly recommended.

Reviewed by
M Stephens

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was nicely presented with a very comfortable bed. Excellent cooked breakfast and a good selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts and homemade jams. Service was friendly and efficient. Location good for access to coast (short walk to Ravenscar), Cleveland Way national trail and both Whitby and Scarborough.

Reviewed by
A Curson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short break
A lovely place excellent acomadation and a short walk down to ravenscar village
My wife and me really enjoyed our stay here. The room was excellent with a four poster bed
The dressing gowns was a nice touch which we really appreciated having done some long walks to have a good shower and relax
The breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice and set you up for the day
There is no problem with parking as there is plenty of room
1st class accommodation and would definatly recommended

Reviewed by
M Charlesworth

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful location, lovely B & B
Smugglers Rock is lovely. We booked our room on a last minute whim and were very impressed by the service and quality. I will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Cairine D

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing!
Room was fantastic with a great view. The breakfast in the morning was great and would definitely go again.

Reviewed by
m baker

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful hotel
We loved this hotel. It was comfortable, homely and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was lovely with several varieties of home made jam to choose from along with lots of other delicious choices on the menu. The location is ideal for walking holidays. Everything was perfect.

Reviewed by
Pamela W

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smugglers Rock serenity
From my arrival to my departure the whole smugglers Rock experience was one of leisure and luxury
from the warm friendly atmosphere of the location and hosts
to the quaint Rooms and 5 star breakfasts
ideally situated close to Whitby or Scarborough but without the aggravation of fast town life
a golf course local for those wishing to partake of a few rounds of Golf to country walks down to the coast

Reviewed by
shane parker

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.