You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Ruskin Hotel

3

386 HIGH STREET NORTH, LONDON, E12 6PH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Bates

  • January 2016

Cheap but not cheerful

The hotel is situated in a typical east London busy high street and due to the tiny car park having very limited spaces, we had great difficulty finding somewhere to park around neighbouring streets as they were all permit parking only.

Guy on reception was friendly and helpful enough.

The room was modern and clean but very basic, it was cold and uninviting. The view of London as described by the hotel is literal in that London was viewable outside but it was a brick wall and car park. The sink was blocked, fixtures broken and there was nowhere for 2 people to sit. The hotel is part of a busy pub and so it was quite noisy. We had to go into the pub to order our evening meal and then go and collect it from reception. This was typical pub food and we didn't really enjoy it.

The breakfast choice was reasonable in choice but quality wasn't the best. It was open to the public as an "all you can eat" buffet so we queued with people coming in off the high street.

It wasn't a great experience but it was the cheapest deal we found. I would not have been happy paying full price here.

  • g watson

  • January 2016

well happy !!

went with my daughter to the Ruskin Arms because its near to West Ham football ground (upton park) to watch the match, didnt expect anything more than just a half decent b& b but was very impressed , service, cleanleness, food, all brilliant for a fair price.

i will be going again & would recomend to anybody else .

  • Alyson B

  • October 2015

Very Pleasant Stay

We stayed at the Ruskin Hotel just for one evening on this occasion but were extremely satisfied.

When we arrived the staff were very quick to allow us access to their secure car park which is always a plus for us. The reception staff were very friendly and informative. The room was easily accessible on the first floor. When entering the room it was clean and tidy and fully functioning. The bed comfortable and all linen and towels clean and presentable. The hotel is located close to East Ham tube station. The breakfast was buffet style, which was nice. All in all a lovely stay and we will be back.

  • D Eske

  • August 2015

Lovely room but a bit noisy

Stayed here one night for my husband's birthday with close access to London.

Lovely big bed and excellent shower. Great breakfast too with a good selection. Lovely to have potato bread. The only down side was the room smelling of smoke and a karaoke going on downstairs as it was Friday. Good soundproofing but you can still hear some singing!

  • K Williams

  • April 2015

A clean, bright, comfortable oasis in a drab area of London.

Was not aware I'd need to produce identity, which caused problem till I dug out a confidential document, giving permission for them to photocopy it, which they did with hesitation and gratitude, I should stress.

Should warn of this requirement clearly on booking form, surely. But a cheerful, friendly, quiet (for busy area), efficient hotel, separated and soundproofed from bar. Room basic but presentable, modern and clean. Breakfast brilliant - hot and cold buffet with wide variety and as much as you want - all fresh and pleasantly presented. Staff all pleasant too.

  • L Nash

  • March 2015

Overnight midweek stay

Booked this hotel because of it's location.

Was going into central London for the evening but then working Romford the next day. Excellent value for money. Room was basic but very clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. Buffet breakfast was good with both hot and cold options.

  • B Woods

  • February 2015

ruskin

This is a friendly, well run hotel.

The rooms are clean, the food and beer is great, at sensible prices. Breakfast buffet is plentiful. I will be back.

  • David B

  • January 2015

A gem

Good value for money on good transport links.

  • Ian Howlett

  • January 2015

Excellent for work in and around Ilford

Spot on

  • A Gittins

  • November 2014

Ruskin Hotel - very convenient and budget friendly when attending ExCel conferences

This hotel was absolutely fine for our 3 night business stay.

The receptionists were friendly and efficient and the hotel was only a short walk away from the tube station. There is an array of South Indian cuisine on offer in restaurants nearby, which was very good value and tasty. The bedroom was basic but functional. Although there is double glazing you can still hear the noise outside. I used ear plugs though so it was fine. Our external window was jammed open which was annoying but as we didn't mention it to reception I cannot really complain about it. My only points to raise really were the lumpy pillows and a strange breakfast on offer. Luckily, I was able to have oats and banana, wholemeal toast and scrambled egg. However, there was a strange selection of biscuits, scones and unhealthy cakes alongside the breakfast options. Perhaps offer more fruit and veggie alternatives instead.